Start reading Barnaby Grimes: Return of the Emerald Skull on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Barnaby Grimes: Return of the Emerald Skull [Kindle Edition]

Chris Riddell , Paul Stewart
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £4.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £2.00 (29%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.99  
Library Binding £12.33  
Paperback £6.99  
Audio Download, Unabridged £0.00 Free with Audible trial
Audio, CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged £13.27  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

Barnaby Grimes is a tick-tock lad, running errands in his city, day and night, and high-stacking around the rooftops in search of new mysteries to solve. A fantastic romp through a Dickensian-style city, with a wonderful new hero in the guise of Barnaby.



After collecting a strange parcel from a deserted ship in the fog of the docks, and delivering it to the local schoolmaster, Barnaby thinks he's earned a moment to sit on the rooftops and eat his favourite pasty. But soon he realises that all is not well at the school - but is the problem quite as he expects it? A gruesome tale of a school overrun by a terrible curse - who will survive?


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description

Review

"Once again Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell have created a tale that will make spines tingle and that will utterly captivate listeners. The story is beautifully paced, and from the very beginning, because of the contents of chapter one, readers know that Barnaby is going to get himself into a very unpleasant situation at some point in the story. The suspense is delicious and the characters are memorable" (Through the Looking Glass)

Book Description

The second in this thrilling, breathtaking audio series full of intrigue and horror. Perfect for fans of The Edge Chronicles. Unabridged

Product details


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tick Tock Rocks! 3 Jun. 2008
Format:Hardcover
Barnaby Grimes is not afraid of anything, he rushes in where angels might fear to tread, and saves the day once more. My 9 yr old son found the first Barnaby Grimes book a bit unnerving, but I have thoroughly enjoyed both to date! The author's description of Barnaby hopping and skipping over rooftops "high-stacking" almost makes you want to become a tick-tock lad. The stovers pasties sound delicious too. Once again as in Curse of the Night Wolf, Barnaby's intuition rapidly uncovers the plot, and he bravely and selflessly comes to the rescue. This book contains horror, mystery, intruigue, friendship and excitement. A jolly good read for child and adult alike if you have enjoyed other Chris Riddell books such as Fergus Crane, Corby Flood, Hugo Pepper, Ottoline and Curse of the Night Wolf.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GOOD STORY. 17 May 2013
By VICTOR
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
My Grandchildren love these stories and have given it a 5 star rating.

They are now waiting for the other's from these authors.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Judstar 46 23 Sept. 2013
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the book very much not as good as The Edge books buts till a very enjoyable book to read
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars good read 28 Jun. 2013
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
it's a good read, I have all ways enjoyed reading old story's and this was a good one to try.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars  3 reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Stewart's Prose and Riddell's Pictures Are Perfectly Paired 3 Jun. 2009
By KidsReads - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Barnaby Grimes's city is home to many private schools for children. Some are pleasant and reputable, but others take parents' money and lock their kids in, housing them in horrible conditions until they are shut down or the children violently rebel. When Barnaby, a tick-tock lad (or clerk errant), delivers a message to the headmaster at Grassington Hall School, he finds the students happy and healthy and the staff well-meaning. But a later visit to that very same school ends in bloodshed and disaster.

RETURN OF THE EMERALD SKULL is the second installment in Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell's Barnaby Grimes series. Like the first, CURSE OF THE NIGHT WOLF, this novel is dark and gothic, a scary tale richly illustrated. Barnaby not only has a high adventure, but alludes to many he has had in the past. He doesn't seek out danger, but it finds him nonetheless.

Headmaster Archimedes Barnett sends Barnaby to the docks to pick up his latest acquisition, a stuffed bird called the catincatapetl, or emerald messenger of darkness. As he approaches the docks in search of the ship that brought the bird from its native jungle habitat, a deep and ominous fog rolls in. Barnaby finds the ship, but it seems ghostly and deserted, and he later discovers the crew has disappeared. Still, he delivers the package to Barnett and spends the rest of his summer studying an ancient and esoteric art called yinchido with a beautiful young Chinese woman. Mei Ling teaches him much and captivates him, but before he can finish his lessons, he learns that all is not well at Grassington Hall and that it has turned into a dreaded "lock-up academy." The students have gone wild, hunting animals and eating them raw, and abusing the faculty and staff. Can Barnaby stop them from committing a heinous human sacrifice?

Barnaby, a young man of indeterminable age, is brave, dashing, handsome and clever, and is the perfect guide through the chaotic unnamed city. Through a maze of streets to the wharf and highstacking over the roofs back to the richer parts of town, he knows the shortcuts and the people, the truths and the legends about the place in which he lives. He deals swiftly and easily with threats but always tries to avoid serious violence. He is cool and kind, a romantic realist, and his escapades are sure to thrill readers. Stewart's prose and Riddell's pictures are perfectly paired (the duo are also the creators of The Edge Chronicles).

Since Barnaby faces real terror and threats, this short book is not for very young or sensitive readers. There is less character development here than in the first book, making this one a bit flatter, but Barnaby Grimes is still a compelling and mysterious figure, and hopefully more will be revealed about him as the series progresses. What the book lacks in character development or plausible action, it more than makes up for in thrills and originality.

--- Reviewed by Sarah Rachel Egelman
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read 18 Sept. 2013
By Bettie Glover - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
My grandkids love this series of books. I have read them all that have come out and they still want more.
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it 12 April 2014
By rebecca boyker - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
His books keep getting better and better. I liked it. His style of writing is very fun to read. :)
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category