Trade in your item
Get a £0.58
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Barlowe's Guide to Extraterrestrials Paperback – 1 Nov 1979


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, 1 Nov 1979
£72.92 £1.74
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


Trade In this Item for up to £0.58
Trade in Barlowe's Guide to Extraterrestrials for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.58, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback
  • Publisher: A Workman Publishing (1 Nov 1979)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0894801120
  • ISBN-13: 978-0894801129
  • Product Dimensions: 25.1 x 17.8 x 1.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,334,920 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
The Abyormenite is a genderless entity about 1.2 meters tall, with a bulbous body supported on six muscular tentacles. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 7 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 13 Oct 1998
Format: Paperback
I first read this book when I was 10, and it freaked me out. It was one of the major reasons I began reading science fiction. This book can be reread endlessly without losing an ounce of wonder, for Barlowe's representations of alien anatomy are truly inspired. I constantly recommend this to my friends, and they are never disappointed, even the ones who can't stand sci-fi. Unfortunately, his paintings are much more interesting than some of the books they're taken from.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 26 Mar 1998
Format: Paperback
I bought this book back in 1981, the first printing. Fortunately, I still have the copy, since this book has become a classic of the genre. This book was and is a motivator of the imagination. For readers of SF, it was wonderful to know that there were people out there who dared to visualize what we could only picture in our minds back in the days before sophisticated computer graphics made science fiction images so simple to create, and exotic aliens so commonplace. Two of my favorites were the Guild Steersman and the Puppeteer, being a Herbert and a Niven fan. Barlowe and Summers deserve places as two of the great pioneers of SF.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By A Customer on 6 Sep 1997
Format: Paperback
This was one of my favorite books when I was a kid just starting out to read Science Fiction. It's sort of like one of those "real" nature books with drawings, habitats, and biological information, but it's all about aliens from major Science Fiction authors. You figure the authors of this book have got to have a lot of information to put something like this together. For those of a puerile nature (or those who read a lot of Niven's rishartha), they even have some alien species' mating habits. In the middle there is a scale diagram of all of the aliens' sizes which was my first exposure to the wonderful world of the metric system. Buy it, read it, in will enrich your Science Fiction library.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 26 May 1999
Format: Paperback
What a great book! Barlowe is a wonderful painter of aliens. I have been looking for this book for years, ever since I saw it in a science magazine. Some of the best illustrations in the book are those of the "Cryer", the "Old One", the "Pnume", the "Medusan", the "Sirian", and the "Overlords". The only problem with this book is that the pictures make you want to read the books they are from, and 99% of these books are out-of-print! Urghhhhhh!!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback