Trade in Yours
For a 0.25 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Barlowe's Guide to Extraterrestrials [Hardcover]

Wayne Douglas Barlowe
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback --  
Trade In this Item for up to 0.25
Trade in Barlowe's Guide to Extraterrestrials for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 0.25, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

Nov 1979
In this illustrated field guide to extraterrestrials-a 1980 nominee for the ABA and Hugo Awards and named one of the Best Books of Spring 1980 by School Library Journal-Wayne Douglas Barlowe paints 50 denizens of popular science fiction literature. 150 full-color paintings show each character not only in full figure but also in detail highlighting distinctive characteristics. Humanoids, insectoids, reptilians, and more are included. Field notes explain movement, diet, respiration, and reproduction habits. The book also features a pull-out chart showing comparative sizes, and a section devoted to Barlowe's own sketchbook of works in progress. Selection of the Science Fiction Book Club. 267,000 copies in print.
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed


Product details

  • Hardcover
  • Publisher: Workman Pub Co (Nov 1979)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0894801139
  • ISBN-13: 978-0894801136
  • Product Dimensions: 25.7 x 17.5 x 1.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 590,599 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
The Abyormenite is a genderless entity about 1.2 meters tall, with a bulbous body supported on six muscular tentacles. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic 13 Oct 1998
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
I first read this book when I was 10, and it freaked me out. It was one of the major reasons I began reading science fiction. This book can be reread endlessly without losing an ounce of wonder, for Barlowe's representations of alien anatomy are truly inspired. I constantly recommend this to my friends, and they are never disappointed, even the ones who can't stand sci-fi. Unfortunately, his paintings are much more interesting than some of the books they're taken from.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This work was well ahead of its time. 26 Mar 1998
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
I bought this book back in 1981, the first printing. Fortunately, I still have the copy, since this book has become a classic of the genre. This book was and is a motivator of the imagination. For readers of SF, it was wonderful to know that there were people out there who dared to visualize what we could only picture in our minds back in the days before sophisticated computer graphics made science fiction images so simple to create, and exotic aliens so commonplace. Two of my favorites were the Guild Steersman and the Puppeteer, being a Herbert and a Niven fan. Barlowe and Summers deserve places as two of the great pioneers of SF.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is way cool! 6 Sep 1997
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
This was one of my favorite books when I was a kid just starting out to read Science Fiction. It's sort of like one of those "real" nature books with drawings, habitats, and biological information, but it's all about aliens from major Science Fiction authors. You figure the authors of this book have got to have a lot of information to put something like this together. For those of a puerile nature (or those who read a lot of Niven's rishartha), they even have some alien species' mating habits. In the middle there is a scale diagram of all of the aliens' sizes which was my first exposure to the wonderful world of the metric system. Buy it, read it, in will enrich your Science Fiction library.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'll knock your socks off! 26 May 1999
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
What a great book! Barlowe is a wonderful painter of aliens. I have been looking for this book for years, ever since I saw it in a science magazine. Some of the best illustrations in the book are those of the "Cryer", the "Old One", the "Pnume", the "Medusan", the "Sirian", and the "Overlords". The only problem with this book is that the pictures make you want to read the books they are from, and 99% of these books are out-of-print! Urghhhhhh!!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback