or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Bad Attitudes [Hardcover]

Agnes Owens
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
RRP: 17.67
Price: 12.23 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 5.44 (31%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, 28 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover 12.23  
Paperback 11.67  

Book Description

7 July 2003
Bad Attitudes is a wickedly dark tale of Scottish council-housing and murder. This first of two novellas also boasts a missing person, a lethally nosy neighbour, an extra-marital affair, a rumoured fortune in a condemned council terrace, a lusty councillor and a new housing law for tinkers. Who but Agnes Owens could concoct such a delicious brew of dour hilarity and then follow it with an unforgettable party? '"I think a birthday party would be just the thing to cheer us up,'" screeches Jen's visiting Aunt Belle in the second novella, Jen's Party. The soon-to-be fifteen-year-old almost immediately regrets agreeing to this plan as her somewhat louche, possibly crazy, relentlessly bouncy and optimistic aunt revs into party mode, assuring her drab sister Maude, Jen's mother, that she'll take care of everything, which seems to involve flirting with the town's entire male population. Agnes Owens is a one-off. With a perfectly tuned ear for the droll and the deadly, she can spin a tale of domestic mayhem that is at once disarmingly tense and movingly human.

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed


Product details

  • Hardcover: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC; 1st edition (7 July 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0747565910
  • ISBN-13: 978-0747565918
  • Product Dimensions: 19.8 x 13.6 x 2.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,834,530 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

‘reminiscent of Muriel Spark and Shena Mackay -- The Sunday Herald, 6th July 2003

From the Publisher

For fans of James Kelman and Alasdair Gray --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something close to nihilism 5 May 2004
Format:Hardcover
A tremendous book with two great stories. Bad attitudes is the first of the two and is written in a honed prose style. The characters are wonderfully realised and the story itself has a gut wrenching sense of people losing out in life. Likewise with Jen's party, grim but engaging and blackly funny. Read them!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback