Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Bach: Sonatas And Partitas For Solo Violin Vol. 1

Price: £4.44 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
26 new from £3.09 5 used from £1.82

Product details

  • Audio CD (14 Oct 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: CLASSICAL
  • ASIN: B00006L9RK
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 298,176 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Adagio (Sonata for solo violin No. 1)
2. Sonata No. 1 BWV 1001 - II Fuga: Allegro
3. Sonata No. 1 BWV 1001 - III Siciliana
4. Sonata No. 1 BWV 1001 - IV Presto
5. Partita No. 1 BWV 1002 - I Allemanda
6. Partita No. 1 BWV 1002 - Double (I)
7. Partita No. 1 BWV 1002 - II Corrente
8. Partita No. 1 BWV 1002 - Double (II) (Presto)
9. Partita No. 1 BWV 1002 - III Sarabande
10. Partita No. 1 BWV 1002 - Double (III)
11. Partita No. 1 BWV 1002 - IV Tempo di Borea
12. Partita No. 1 BWV 1002 - Double (IV)
13. Sonata No. 2 BWV 1003 - I Grave
14. Sonata No. 2 BWV 1003 - II Fuga
15. Sonata No. 2 BWV 1003 - III Andante
16. Sonata No. 2 BWV 1003 - IV Allegro

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Mr. Mark A. Meldon TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 17 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase
I guess that this CD would have been released by Finlandia (Ms Lev is a Russian living in Finland) until Warner scrapped that imprint around the time this disc was recorded and released - here it is on the super-budget Apex label instead. I thought very highly of Lara Lev's violin playing on a disc devoted to Busoni's sonatas Busoni Complete Violin Sonatas but, even after playing this recording several times, I'm not so sure about this CD and it's companion volume Bach: Sonatas And Partitas For Solo Violin Vol. 2.

That's because Ms Lev seems a touch harsh with her bow every now and again, although she does produce some lovely sounds, too. Perhaps oddly, I quite like the slightly "choppy" approach in these oft-recorded pieces; maybe it adds a bit of rustic charm, or something like that. Sometimes, this approach is quite refreshing after the super-smooth recordings from the likes of Perlman Bach: Sonatas & Partitas (Great Recordings of the Century).

I do think that this CD is worth having as a budget purchase, but, if you get to love these works, other recordings will be needed, too. The Onyx set from Victoria Mullova is lovely Bach: 6 Sonatas & Partitas, and Sigiswald Kuijken's DHM recording is highly-regarded Sonates & Partitas.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category