Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Bach: 6 Partitas BWV 825-830 CD

Price: £9.05 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
19 new from £4.51 4 used from £4.49

Amazon's Gustav Leonhardt Store

Visit Amazon's Gustav Leonhardt Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Product details

  • Audio CD (16 Feb. 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: CD
  • Label: EMI
  • ASIN: B00018ZRY0
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 280,031 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. I. Praeludium
2. II. Allemande
3. III. Courante
4. IV. Sarabande
5. V. Menuet I - Menuet II - Menuet I
6. VI. Gigue
7. I. Sinfonia (Grave adagio - Andante)
8. II. Allemande
9. III. Courante
10. IV. Sarabande
See all 19 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. I. Ouverture
2. II. Allemande
3. III. Courante
4. IV. Sarabande
5. V. Aria
6. VI. Menuet
7. VII. Gigue
8. I. Praeambulum
9. II. Allemande
10. III. Courante
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Product Description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By r.b. on 30 Aug. 2009
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Bach's 6 keyboard partitas date from 1726-1731 and are among his most performed pieces.The great Dutch harpsichordist Gustav Leonhardt recorded these towering compositions twice and this was his second attempt.By the time of this 1986 recording,Leonhardt had dispensed with the austere approach he had in the 60's and 70's.This time around his playing displays greater flexibility,with more drive in the faster movements,yet there's still a wonderful dignity in the slower movements.

The harpsichord used for this recording is a copy of a 1704/1710 Mietke by William Dowd and sounds superb.The bass is strong,with the tenor/alto range magnificent and a clear but not harsh treble.It all sounds great in the Dutch masters hands and although repeats are omitted,the interpretation,engineering and bargain price tag more than make up for this.In fact,some people may find it easier to digest 95 mins of harpsichord music rather than 160 mins of it when all repeats are observed.

There is plenty for Bach enthusiasts to enjoy in these cd's - only in the minuet and gigue of partita no 1 as well as the fantasia of no 3 does Leonhardt play too slowly i feel but everything else is extremely well done.

If you are looking for a recording of this work with all repeats played then go for Benjamin Alard.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3 reviews
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
Glorious harpsichord playing, but no repeats 15 Sept. 2004
By Leslie Richford - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This set of Bach's 'Opus 1', i. e. his six 'partitas' each consisting of an introduction and then five or six dance movements, was recorded by EMI in 1986 and was, in fact, Leonhardt's second recording of this particular masterpiece. There are two sides to my evaluation. First, the positive side: this is an immaculate piece of playing and engineering. I have seldom heard such a crisp, clear-cut recording of a harpsichord, and there are few instruments that please the ear so much as this one, made by William Dowd of Paris as a copy of an 18th century German original from Berlin. The sound is absolutely delightful, and I find myself looking forward to hearing the discs over and over again. Leonhardt had, by this time, abandoned the austerity of style which some critics attributed to him, and his playing is masterfully controlled, his ornamentation highly suggestive but never overdone.

The other side of the coin is the fact that Leonhardt, for some reason known only to himself, decided here to do without all the repeats. Not one single repeat is included! Thus a total playing time of around 95 minutes - too short for a budget re-release on 2 Cds and up to 50 minutes (!) shorter than some of his competitors with the same repertoire. This decision to omit the repeats is not mentioned in the notes, as it should have been. And if EMI/Virgin were going to re-release this disc, they could easily have added another work as an 'encore' (some 2-CD boxes have around 150 minutes of music on them!).

In sum: Some beautiful playing with glorious harpsichord sound, but not good value for money and with a somewhat laissez-faire attitude towards Bach's intentions.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Bach partitas Leonhardt 20 Feb. 2010
By r.b. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This is Gustav Leonhardt's 1986 recording of JS Bach's 6 keyboard partitas and it displays the great Dutch master at the very top of his game.As the other reviewer states,Leonhardt had, by the time of this recording,dispensed with the austerity of his earlier playing and turned to a more flexible manner with plenty of vigour in the faster movements.Yet,he also retained a dignity in the slower movements with the sarabands in particular taking on a wonderful gravity.

The harpsichord used for this recording is a copy of a 1704/1710 Mietke by William Dowd and has a superb sound.The bass is strong with the tenor/alto range delightful and a treble that is clear but not harsh.

The only snag to this excellent recording is the lack of repeats but the interpretation,engineering and bargain price tag more than make up for this.In fact,some people may find it easier to digest 95 mins of harpsichord music rather than 160 mins of it when most or all repeats are observed.

Anybody who loves these towering compositions will find plenty to enjoy here and marvel at a Gustav Leonhardt who's playing by 1986,had reached it's zenith.

(If you are looking for a harpsichord recording of these compositions with most or all repeats played then any of the following can be recommended -Pieter Jan Belder/Brilliant Classics,Ketil Haugsand/Simax,Robert Woolley/Chandos,Masaaki Suzuki/Bis or Pascal Dubreuil/Ramee.)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Clarity of sound and heart-felt interpretation 14 Mar. 2014
By fredmango - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
At the price offered, the 2-CD set is an excellent value. I love hearing the works on harpsichord and even though I believe this recording is relatively old, the recording quality is excellent, and interpretation also.

Regarding the Partitas: it's said to be some of the best work Bach ever composed for solo keyboard.

Particular highlights included for me:

- Allemande from Partita #4
- First two movements of Partita #5
- First two movements of Partita #6
- The entire Partita #1 (my favorite)
- First movement of Partita #2
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?