Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
260
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£59.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2011
Recommended viewing order, print it out and put it in the box:

1. Watch the B5 movie "The Gathering"
(The Babylon 5 pilot movie The Gathering was originally broadcast in 1993 a full year ahead of the regular show. )
2. Season 1
3. Season 2
4. Season 3
5. Watch Season 4 up to episode "The illusion of truth"
6. Watch the B5 movie "Thirdspace"
7. Season 4: continue with episodes 9-22
8. Watch Season 5 up to episode "Objects at Rest"
9. Watch the B5 movie "River of Souls"
10. Watch the B5 movie "In the Beginning" This is a prelude set 10 years before Babylon 5. Against the logic of the title, I would strongly recommend seeing it at this stage. Should one see it before Season 1, much of the suspense in the main series would be ruined.
11. Watch the B5 movie "A Call to Arms" This movie lays the groundwork for the spin-off TV series "Crusade".
12. Season 5: watch final episode "Sleeping in light"
13. Watch Crusade Series
14. Watch 'Legend of the Rangers'
15. Watch 'The Lost Tales'
44 comments| 147 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2007
As the Babylon 5 subject matter itself has been discussed at length in the other reviews, I shall concentrate this review only on the differences between this new box-set and the previous set, 'Babylon 5: The Complete Universe'.

'Babylon 5: The Complete Collection + Lost Tales' is largely the same as The Complete Universe, although now it includes 'The Lost Tales' for good measure. Only this new set (which is exclusive to Amazon UK) is now in *much* smaller form. Inside the new compact box are slimmer versions of the seasons 1-5 box-sets - utilizing the new super-slim DVD cases that are a fraction of the width of normal DVD cases. If there were ever any little booklets containing episode summaries in the big set's season boxes, as I've been led to believe, they're now gone. The summaries are now written on the boxes themselves. Anyway, you get the exact same discs/extras etc that you got with the bigger/older set, and that's the most important thing. The same is true for the box of the 'Crusade' spin-off series, and the 'Movie Collection' box (containing 'Thirdspace', 'River of Souls' and 'A Call to Arms') - both of these boxes contain the super-slim cases that make you wonder why DVD cases were ever so big in the first place. This all saved LOTS of space, so they have included the original sized individual DVD cases for the remaining movies - 'In the Beginning', 'The Gathering', 'Legend Of The Rangers' and the recently released 'The Lost Tales'. Also, as regards the 'Lost Tales' DVD, it IS the version containing the exclusive 'Art Cards', just in case you were wondering. The main box itself is just as sturdy and strong as its big brother - it's just SO much smaller.

This reduction in packaging has brought the price down somewhat - and for those of us with little more shelf space left for our huge and ever-growing DVD collections, the storage space saved is extremely welcome. Some people may prefer the older/bigger box, but for those who don't, well, I just hope that they notice the Amazon exclusive set, with the Lost Tales and the cheaper price, before they go adding the larger and less complete set to their cart (only less complete due to the recent addition of The Lost Tales DVD to the B5 canon). Whatever set you end up owning though, they're both to be considered a bargain.

UPDATE May 2009: It has recently come to my attention that The Lost Tales DVD in this set no longer comes with the 'art cards'. This was just a pack of postcards with promotional images for the movie on them.....you're not missing much there. Also, note that the main box has altered slightly, too. It no longer has a fold down front with a lift off top. Now it apparently has just the lift off top. Again, no big deal.
1515 comments| 491 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
A superb buy!! One of the best buys you can find on the net if you are a sci-fi/B5 fan! You will find it hard to get it for less brand new and fully covered by Amazon delivery policy!! For all those who thoroughly enjoyed but have forgotten the Babylon 5 series of old, or newcomers to this fantastic saga, this set gives you countless hours of quality sci-fi escapism!

I will just outline the skin & bones of the box set as the description of the series/characters/plots is well outlined in other reviews.

PROS: Very compact space-saving case with all episodes and movies of B5, cheapest price.
CONS: Contains no descriptive booklets/order of watching films in-between the episodes, but extra info on episodes and movies can be easily got from a bit of research on the internet.

No of Episodes: 110 of B5 (22 in each season) & 13 of Crusade Season One
No of Movies: 7
No of Discs: 42
Region: 2
Rating: 15

SEASON 1:
'midnight on the firing line', 'soul hunter', 'born to the purple', 'infection', 'the parliament of dreams', 'mind war', 'the war prayer', 'and the sky full of stars', 'deathwalker', 'believers', 'survivors', 'by any means necessary', 'signs and portents', 'grail', 'eyes', 'a voice in the wilderness part 1', 'a voice in the wilderness
part 2', 'babylon squared', 'the quality of mercy', 'tko', 'legacies' and 'chrysalis'.

SEASON 2:
'points of departure', 'revelations', 'the geometry of shadows', 'a distant star', 'the long dark', 'a spider in the web', 'a race through dark places', 'soul mates', 'the coming of shadows', 'gropos', 'all alone in the night', 'acts of sacrifice', 'hunter, prey', 'there all the honor lies', 'and now for a word', 'knives', 'in the shadow of z'ha'dum', 'confessions and lamentations', 'divided loyalties', 'the long, twilight struggle', 'comes the inquisitor' and 'the fall of night'.

SEASON 3:
'matters of honor', 'convictions', 'a day in the strife', 'passing through gethsemane', 'voices of authority', 'dust to dust', 'exogenesis', 'messages from earth', 'point of no return', 'severed dreams', 'ceremonies of light and dark', 'a late delivery from avalon', 'sic transit vir', 'ship of tears', 'interludes and examinations', 'walkabout', 'war without end, part one', 'war without end, part two', 'grey 17 is missing', 'and the rock cried out', 'no hiding place', 'shadow dancing' and 'z'ha'dum'.

SEASON 4:
'the hour of the wolf', 'whatever happened to mr. garibaldi?', 'the summoning', 'falling toward apotheosis', 'the long night', 'into the fire', 'epiphanies', 'the illusion of truth', 'thirdspace', 'atonement', 'racing mars', 'lines of communication', 'conflicts of interest', 'rumors, bargains and lies', 'moments of transition', 'no surrender, no retreat', 'the exercise of vital powers', 'the face of the enemy', 'intersections in real time', 'between the darkness and the light', 'endgame', 'rising star' and 'the deconstruction of falling stars'.

SEASON 5:
'no compromises', 'the very long night of londo mollari', 'the paragon of animals', 'a view from the gallery', 'learning curve', 'strange relations', 'secrets of the soul', 'in the kingdom of the blind', 'a tragedy of telepaths', 'phoenix rising', 'the ragged edge', 'day of the dead', 'the corps is mother, the corps is father', 'meditations on the abyss', 'darkness ascending', 'and all my dreams, torn asunder', 'movements of fire and shadow', 'the fall of centauri prime', 'wheel of fire', 'objects in motion', 'objects at rest', 'river of souls', 'the legend of the rangers' and 'sleeping in light'.

CRUSADE SEASON 1 EPISODES:
'war zone', 'the long road', 'the well of forever', 'the path of sorrows', 'patterns of the soul', 'ruling from the tomb', 'rules of the game', 'appearances and other deceits', 'racing the night', 'the memory of war', 'the needs of earth', 'visitors from down the street' and 'each night i dream'.

BABYLON 5 MOVIES:
'the gathering' (1993), 'in the beginning' (1997), 'thirdspace' (1998), 'the river of souls' (1998),'a call to arms' (1998), 'legend of the rangers' (2001), and `the lost tales' (2007).

Another reviewer had recommended the following order of watching...I am on the way to try it:

1. Watch the B5 movie "The Gathering"
The Babylon 5 pilot movie The Gathering was originally broadcast in 1993 a full year ahead of the regular show.
2. Season 1
3. Season 2
4. Season 3
5. Watch Season 4 up to episode "The illusion of truth"
6. Watch the B5 movie "Thirdspace"
7. Season 4: continue with episodes 9-22
8. Watch Season 5 up to episode "Objects at Rest"
9. Watch the B5 movie "River of Souls"
10. Watch the B5 movie "In the Beginning"
This is a prelude set 10 years before Babylon 5. Against the logic of the title, I would strongly recommend seeing it at this stage. Should one see it before Season 1, much of the suspense in the main series would be ruined.
11. Watch the B5 movie "A Call to Arms"
This movie lays the groundwork for the spin-off TV series "Crusade".
12. Season 5: watch final episode "Sleeping in light"
13. Watch Crusade Series
And then watch 'Legend of the Rangers' and finally 'The Lost Tales' (?) - would this be the right order? Anyone knows better, pls fill us in!

According to Wikipedia, the Series Chronology is as below:

----Babylon 5 TV seasons and films----
----1993-2007----

In order of series chronology:
2245-48 * In the Beginning (1st film)+
2256 * Babylon 5 station commissioned
2257 * The Gathering (Pilot)
2258 * Signs and Portents (Season 1)
2259 * The Coming of Shadows (Season 2)
2260 * Point of No Return (Season 3)
2261 * No Surrender, No Retreat (Season 4)++
2261 * Thirdspace (2nd film)+++
2262 * The Wheel of Fire (Season 5)
2263 * The River of Souls (3rd film)
2265 * The Legend of the Rangers (5th film)
2266 * A Call to Arms (4th film)
2267 * Crusade (spin-off series)
2271 * The Lost Tales: Voices in the Dark
2278 * In the Beginning (1st film)+
2281 * Babylon 5 station decommissioned

+ The framing story is set in 2278.
++ The final episode of the season includes scenes of future events up to 3262 and beyond.
+++ The story is set between the two wars in season 4.
The final episode of series is set in 2281.

NOTE that there were apparently some problems with other, perhaps older versions of this DVD set - to do with wrong episodes/missing episodes or films, but I have had no problems in the set I ordered. Perhaps those problems have now been rectified. Still worth checking out the set thoroughly once received....

PRICE: Purchased Nov 2009 for £67/- inc. postage to Europe
33 comments| 135 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2008
I love this series, this is an amazing offer, but the suppliers made a few mistakes, Inside the Thirdspace movie box was a completely different dvd, and the same in A call to Arms. So i'm two movies down, luckily i'd already got them on dvd, so i'm not bothered about returning, but i do recommend you check yours out when you recieve the order, so that if there's any issues, you can return asap :)
0Comment| 113 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Babylon 5 is among the top three TV sci-fi series of all time, and this collection is the most comprehensive boxset to date. If you missed B5 when it was fresh and are interested in science fiction then you should definitely watch it. B5 is as good as Star Trek Next Gen and DS9 at their very best, and is massively superior to many other space/fantasy series (including the likes of Stargate, later Farscape, Voyager and so on. Although you may have your own favourites there!).

The action centres on a deep space station populated by warring races of humans and aliens who forge and break alliances as galactic war breaks out. It's a massive space opera with great big spaceships and weird aliens and all that -- but every episode contains very personal, human stories as the relationships between the main characters develop.

B5 was also one of the first serial TV programmes which didn't have to finish each episode back where it started. In fact, funding hiccups not withstanding, creator JoeMS had a good idea of where the show was heading when he started it, and some of the plot lines which appear in the opening episodes make little sense until two or three seasons later. Then you have a 'eureka!' moment when you realise that he planned it all along. But the fact that the scenario moves along means that the characters are in real jeopardy; some of the show's drama comes from the fact that Captain Kirk won't always be back at the helm after 44 minutes...

B5 also started the trend towards more realistic TV sci-fi, where there's at least some basis in believable science (rather than technobabble quick fixes to a cliff-hanger). Harlan Ellison was consulted about much of the science so it hangs together in a plausible manner, and humankind are by no means the dominant force in the universe. Nor are all the aliens the same, and they're not cardboard cut-outs either. There's a young, aggressive race with a chip on its shoulder; an aging Empire long past it greatness; a spiritual race of warriors, and the very mysterious Vorlons. But their individual ambassadors become detailed characters as the series develops -- no one on Babylon 5 is exactly who they seem...

B5 isn't perfect. The opening episodes are clunky and a couple of them really drag (SoulHunter is my least fave) but they are worth putting up with because from the second half of the first season it becomes gripping viewing. There's a hiccup at the end of the third season (when the series might have ended but it found last-minute funding to carry on), which results in a dramatic semi-finale... but then two more seasons progress the plot beyond that point.

Bab5 was among the first shows to use CGI and (fifteen years ago!) it looked very strange after years of seeing models wobbling around on screen. The digital remastering on this DVD set is very effective, though, and it feels much more 'natural' given how much CGI is used today.

Some of the 'science fiction' looks a little dated these days (the hand communicators are a bit twee for the 23rd century, for instance), but the imaginative canvas and scope of B5 is still breathtaking. Within the confines of 45-minutes of popular TV, JoeMS tackles the nature of good and evil, the forces of imperialism and racism, and the possiblity of true loyalty across natural boundaries. And there are big space battles too!

We already own the entire original series on VHS but a recent viewing showed up how clunky that format is. We've waited to buy a dvd set because we knew this one was on the way and are keen to see The Lost Tales -- a recent revisit to the B5 universe to see what has happened to some of the key characters in the original series.

Plus you get the movies and the spin-off series Crusade too (and Crusade could have been a winner if it had been allowed to develop), which means this is the B5 boxset to buy, then watch again and again in years to come.
It's not cheap to buy, of course, but we'll get plenty of value from it.
If you're not sure that B5 is for you then try renting some of the first series, but don't be put off by the pilot epiosde cos it does take a while to settle down. A couple of character changes -- most notably the introduction of Ivanova as Exec Officer -- really improve the actual series over the feature-length pilot.

A word of warning: the documentaries are good viewing and can be watched as you go along. BUT unless you already know what happens, then don't watch the episodes with Joe's commentaries until you've seen the whole series. His voice-overs are great; revealing bits about the particular episode and info about what wen wrong, why this looks that way, and so on. They also give away tonnes of info about the extended plot, so must be considered to be Spoiler Central.

Overall this is truly excellent TV sci-fi. Enough viewing to keep you going through long winter nights and well worth re-watching a couple of years later.
0Comment| 113 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
I am enjoying the series quite alot but when I received it I had no idea which order to view the episodes and films without spoiling the plot time line. It might not be a major thing but it seemed important to me so I did some research. There is quite alot written on the web about what the best order to watch things in is but I found it all fairly similar, with only a few minor differences. After some debate I'm going to watch in the following order which was described by sperk80070. I am posting this here incase anyone else wonders what order to view in and can't be bothered to do the reseach.

Start off with the pilot ("The Gathering") but dont be put off by it, its not the best but everything has to start somewhere!

Then watch all of season 1 and season 2, some people will say "watch In the beginning before season 1" and although the events in that film (the earth/mibari war) are before season 1, it is told from 2278 and has a lot of other stuff in it you just will not appreciate until later, not to mention some of the info on sinclair practically ruins season 1 viewing for you.

After season 2, move straight into season 3 and then from season 3 go into season 4...

midway through season 4 between the episodes of "Into the Fire" and "Moments of Transition" is the time to watch "Thirdspace" which is set between these 2 episodes and has no spoilers or anything as it is pretty self contained.

Then continue with season 4. After season 4 is the time to watch "In The Beginning" in my view as it will show stuff from season 3, before season 1 and also some season 4 things, it will also hint at the near future in season 5 and you will really enjoy this film, i believe personally it is the best of the films.

Then watch season 5 upto "Objects at rest" which is the one from last episode, do not watch "sleeping in light" just yet.

After objects at rest watch River Of Souls which is set 6 months after Objects at rest (in 2263) not bad film.

Then watch Legend of the rangers (if you want to watch it) but i wouldnt bother as its awful and not consistent with rest of B5. This is where it fits in timeline wise as it is set 3 years after objects at rest.

After LoTR its time for A Call To Arms, 2nd to in the beginning a good theatrical film introducing the new charaters of the spin off "Crusade". this is set 5 years after season 5. This was kind of pilot for crusade as well as a final movie for b5. If you have the 13 eps of crusade on DVD watch these directly after ACTA, they are good and crusade would have become a great show like B5 if the network would have allowed it to run.

After a call to arms and crusade, you are ready to watch Sleeping in Light and cry with the rest of us that there is no more B5 left to watch! sit back and marvel and think yourself enlighten for seeing such a wonderful show as it was meant to be seen.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2008
I ordered this set after reading other customer reviews and I wasn't disapointed. I own all the Babylon 5 series' on VHS having collected them as they were issued originally, and now have a whole cupboard full of videos I no longer even have a player for. I am very impressed with the quality of this set. The box is nice and study and looks good (and takes up not alot of space!) I am also very impressed with the value, I didn't buy the original Complete Collection due to the price. Overall this is a bargain for an excellent product and a must buy for anyone who loves Babylon 5.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
I just recently purchased this box set and looked forward to having the complete Babylon 5 collection. I started watching season one until I got to disc 5 and wondered why I was watching the last two episodes of the season. I checked disc 6 and sure enough, the same last two episodes are on that disc as well! I am missing the episodes that should be on disc 5. This is very poor considering that when the original season box sets were released on DVD there was a pre-title sequence missing from one of the episodes. I thought these kinds of mistakes would have been cleared up.
According to another reviewer he did not even have the full B5 movie set in his collection.

A very low standard for such a very good series. I shall be returning my box set.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 December 2008
Details are:

Babylon 5, the First Season: Languages: English, German, French. Subtitles: English and German for the Hearing Impaired; English, French, German, Dutch, Arabic, Swedish, Turkish.
Babylon 5, the Second Season: Languages: English, French. Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired; English, French, Dutch, Arabic.
Babylon 5, the Third Season: Languages: English, French. Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired; English, French, German, Arabic.
Babylon 5, the Fourth Season: Languages: English, French. Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired; English, French, German, Arabic.
Babylon 5, the Fifth Season: Languages: English, French. Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired; English, French, German, Arabic.
Crusade - the complete series; Languages: English, French. Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired; English, French, German, Arabic.
The Gathering: Languages: English. Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired; English.
In The Beginning: Languages: English, French, German. Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired; English, French, German, Dutch, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Polish, Greek.
The Movie Collection (3 disc set): Languages: English, French. Subtitles: English and German for the Hearing Impaired; English, French, German, Dutch, Croatian, Arabic, Slovenian, Portuguese.
The Legend of the Rangers: Languages: English, French, Italian. Subtitles: English and Italian for the Hearing Impaired; English, French, Italian, Arabic, Dutch, Russian.
The Lost Tales: Languages: English, German, Castilian Spanish. Subtitles: English and German for the Hearing Impaired; English, German, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Norwegian, Polish, Swedish.
22 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2008
What an absolute bargain, 5 series of B5, the pilot (feature length) 4 films, also the ill fated Crusade (13 episodes)and lost tales. I paid over £300 for the lot seperately a few years ago, i wish i'd waited.

Put Quite simply Babylon 5 was the best and most logically consistant science fiction to grace our screens. I was brought up on written sf and star trek which i loved. It has depth, philosophical, sociological, psychological, you can get out of B5 as much as you are willing to put into it on many levels.

It is texturally woven with massive references to its inspirations and influences in the sf genre. JMS the main writer of the show has a very deep knowledge of the SF genre and his love of this genre comes across. Its 5 year arc (overall story)quietly set a trend for shows like "24", "lost" and more recently "battlestar galactica" for an unfolding storyline and character development within a dramatic context.

There are only a couple of below par episodes out of over a 110 + so that's not bad going is it? but the sub plots give a lot of valuable background information. The standout seasons are 2, 3 and 4, Series 1 seems a little slow off the starting blocks but is well worth the patience as a lot of background information about the B5 universe/culture is contained within it. This season lays the foundation for much later seasons.

Later seasons Deep space 9 and some episodes of Voyager were influenced a great deal by the story arc and imagery of B5 and DS9 gained more popularity while executing it less well and with less intellectual rigour.

This is not the naive platitudinal world of trek, but a metaphor for our dark political times, power hungry individuals, patriotic races, economic, technological ideaologies and alliances set against a galactic background.

This is not just about the great macro background of political events, but filtered through the micro world of the individuals taking part.

There is some astonishing acting and script writing in here especially from actors andreas katsulas, peter jurasik and mira furlan. Set against this darkness is the light of Humanism which is at its core. This is a rich and well realised tapestry with hidden subtexts which begs repeated watching and analysis. The main characters narratives are developed throughout the arc sensibly and coherently and this is B5's main strength- its wonderful characters, their psychological coherence and consistencies- you have to follow them through to their personal conclusions, even the ones who make poor choices, there are no real "bad guys" in B5. There is no simple black and white differentiation of beliefs here, like in real life things are grey.

This was a pioneering show in the use of CGI and the effects stand up very well indeed even compared to todays standards. This was done on a really tight budget too, which is not really apparent. The ships and designs used on the show were highly individual and distinctive with amazing ship designs by Ron Thornton, inspired by veteran SF illustrator Chris Foss. The CGI underpins the beautiful storylines and does not detract from them like much bad SF nowadays.

I cannot do B5 justice in this paltry review. Do yourself a favor buy the whole set- you will be hooked from beginning to end - and at this price you can't go wrong.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.