Start reading Axeman's Jazz: A Female Cop, an Obsessed Killer, an Offbe... on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Axeman's Jazz: A Female Cop, an Obsessed Killer, an Offbeat New Orleans Setting; Skip Langdon Mystery #2 (The Skip Langdon Series)
 
 

Axeman's Jazz: A Female Cop, an Obsessed Killer, an Offbeat New Orleans Setting; Skip Langdon Mystery #2 (The Skip Langdon Series) [Kindle Edition]

Julie Smith
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £1.80 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.
Borrow this book for free on a Kindle device with Amazon Prime. Learn more about Kindle Owners' Lending Library.
Join Prime to borrow this book at no cost.
The Kindle Owners' Lending Library gives you access to thousands of books, including New York Times bestsellers, to borrow and read for free.
  • Borrow a book as frequently as once per month
  • No due dates — keep books as long as you like and return them when it's time for something new
  • Read on any Amazon Kindle device

Amazon Prime members also enjoy:
  • Unlimited streaming of thousands of popular movies and TV shows with Prime Instant Video
  • FREE Two-Day Shipping on millions of items, with no minimum order size

For more information about the Kindle Owners' Lending Library visit our help page.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.80  
Hardcover --  
Paperback --  
Audio Download, Unabridged £18.40 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Product Description

The SECOND book in the Edgar Award-winning Skip Langdon mystery series by Julie Smith.

"A multilayered masterpiece ... I read this one on the E train at 5:15 a.m. and didn't look up once. . . . Julie Smith's New Orleans is a subterranean Mardi Gras where the masks cover smiling sociopaths and even Deadly Nightshade comes sheathed in silk." -Andrew Vachss

Gritty, witty, & mesmerizing! Langdon is a splendid female heroine.” –People Magazine

WHAT’S THE PERFECT KILLING FIELD FOR A MURDERER?

A place where he (or maybe she) can learn your secrets from your own mouth and then make friends over coffee. A supposedly "safe" place where anonymity is the norm. The horror who calls himself The Axeman has figured it out and claimed his territory—he's cherry-picking his victims in the 12-Step programs of New Orleans.

And he's had the gall to name himself after a historical serial killer. He just needs to go down, and fast, because this is New Aw'lins, dawlin'—half the town is either alcoholic or co-dependent!

Who better to take him out than tall, funny, social-misfit Skip Langdon, now a homicide detective on the Axeman team, a gig that takes her into the 12-Step groups to meet the suspects (giving author Julie Smith a chance for gentle satire). As Skip threads her fascinated way from one self-help group to another, she finds she has more in common with the twelve-steppers than just the murder—her mother, for one thing, whom she encounters at Overeaters Anonymous! And she knows what they do not: that among their anonymous numbers is a murderous, and dangerously attractive psychopath…

"Smashing . . . New Orleans Mourning was a tough act to follow. The Axeman’s Jazz is a wonderful, completely satisfying encore." -The Denver Post

"Julie Smith not only firmly establishes her claim to the New Orleans crime scene, but she explores an intriguing new franchise for the serial killer." –Sue Grafton

"Marvelous!" –Chicago Tribune

An action-packed psychological thriller for fans of Showtime's DEXTER, Ace Atkins, Laura Lippman, Sue Grafton, Linda Barnes, Nevada Barr, and Marcia Muller.

Excerpt:
"Langdon! In here!" Joe sounded furious.

"What is it? Did somebody leak the scarlet A's?"

"Worse. I swear to God it's worse."

With a pair of tweezers, he handed Skip a letter, typed on plain white paper. "Look at this."

It said:

Dear Broadcaster:
You probably remember me. The first time, I wrote to the print media, but there was no television then. I also used an axe. That, of course, would be messy in this day and age and I have two perfectly good hands to strangle with. So forget the axe, but I'm still who I am. My signature is awritten in blood. I kill whom I need to kill, both women and men.

As I mentioned before, they never caught me and they never will. I am not a human being, but an extraterrestrial. (Or perhaps that is the best way you can understand it.) I am what you Orleanians used to call the Axeman—make no mistake, I'm back.
It's me.

I'm baaaaaack.

Here's the deal: It's the same as before. Jazz is the lifeblood of this great city of ours—it was then and it is now. It's the only constant, the only universal. My spaceship lands Tuesday, and I'll be out for blood. (Did you know we extraterrestrials are vampires?) But I have an endless supply of infinite mercy and I will show it to anyone in whose home a jazz band is playing between the hours of 7 p.m. and daylight. Take heed—you will be spared!

But no matter if you aren't, my infinite mercy extends to my victims. I am quick and I am painless. Ask Linda Lee and Tom.

THE AXEMAN.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1063 KB
  • Print Length: 372 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: booksBnimble (16 Jan 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007YCEW10
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #73,362 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I've just discovered Julie Smith and I can't wait to read more of her books. I like mysteries that also offer well written characters and ongoing storylines-detective Skip Langdon is interesting and likeable-a good addition to the line of women detectives. This was a good story with characters I'd like to read about again. New Orleans makes a fun and unusual setting. The story kept me anxiously reading straight through and was intelligent and well written.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Splendid action for the jazz lover who places music above morals. I suspect some will baulk at the paltry style, in places, but its overall effect is a paen for the likes of Coltrane and pure Jazzcentrism. Smith is to be commended on her attention to historical detail and commendable portrait of the man-made-mad-by-jazz.
The poet Larkin would approve.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars 11 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Grreat if you like cop thrillers
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
If you've ever lived in New Orleans you'll recognize the quirky characters. If you're like me and you MISS living in New Orleans, Axeman's Jazz, and Julie Smith's other Skip Langdon stories will transport you back there - as well as entertain you.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category