Assigned and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 3.22 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Assigned on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Assigned! the Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to "Sapphire and Steel" [Paperback]

Richard Callaghan
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
Price: 12.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 3.85  
Paperback 12.99  
Trade In this Item for up to 3.22
Trade in Assigned! the Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to "Sapphire and Steel" for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 3.22, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Frequently Bought Together

Assigned! the Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to "Sapphire and Steel" + Sapphire and Steel: The Complete Series (Repackaged) [2008] [DVD]
Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 152 pages
  • Publisher: Telos Publishing Ltd (31 Mar 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1845830326
  • ISBN-13: 978-1845830328
  • Product Dimensions: 21 x 14.8 x 1.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 517,974 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)


Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide to the series 14 Jun 2010
Format:Paperback
Books on Sapphire & Steel are very few and far between, in fact this is the first ever guide book to the series to be published. It's a fairly slim volume, but then there were only ever 6 televised stories and virtually no merchandise, so the amount you can write about the series is inevitably going to be limited. In here you get a brief background to the creation of the programme, little biographies on the main actors and behind the scenes personnel, synopses of each story complete with cast lists, transmission dates etc, trivia, ongoing developments in the series mythology, goofs and an indepth analysis of each story. This latter feature is easily the best thing about the book, each story getting several pages of critique. Some interesting points are made, and while I didn't always agree with the author's opinion of the merits of each story, he covers every point of each story in a good amount of detail and the reviews made me appreciate certain aspects of the stories I hadn't noticed before. There is also a look at the range of audio stories which also get shorter reviews but were again interesting critiques.
Overall, for anyone interested in Sapphire & Steel this book is a must buy. It will tell you just about everything you could want to know about the series, although as even it's creator PJ Hammond admits he never really knew who Sapphire & Steel were and what was really going on, prefering to leave an aura of mystery to the programme, so it's the sort of show you can't really analyse that deeply. This book is probably as in depth as you're going to get.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read 2 Aug 2010
Format:Paperback
An excellent book for fans of Sapphire & Steel and Sci-Fi fantasy shows. It brings to mind the atmosphere of the show really well and offers fascinating insights within the scripts. It draws attention to many subtleties that are possibly hidden from the viewer on first viewing, and I'm beginning to appreciate the show on new levels now. The abundance of background information provided is very impressive too.

Throughout the book, there's insightful input from people who worked on the show, from actors to members of the Production Team; my favourite contributions coming from David Collings, Anthony Read and the show's creator, PJ Hammond.

I thought it was beautifully written and very astute in its observations. As a fan of the show, I found it a gripping read and a valuable companion to the TV series.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue! 14 Sep 2010
Format:Paperback
Sapphire and Steel has long been unappreciated by the pop culture community. This book not only covers this unique series with respect and appreciation, but also manages to rekindle the flame for its TV return. I'm also still holding my breath in the hopes that one day Big Finish will release audio plays with Joanna and David reprising their roles.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. 2 Mar 2013
By DSM
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
A great book for any fan of the series. Informative, detailed and well research. It is good to know that this series is recognized as being what it is: a unique masterpiece. As a teenager I found this series highly entertaining and scary. Watching it again as an adult I recognize that it had a profound effect on me. Nurturing in me interest in science. It opened my mind to so many ideas such as: the nature of time, space and reality; good and evil etc. (Not that I am any closer having answers to these questions). Such mysteries are part of what makes the series so atmospheric and thought provoking. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to know more on the series. Thank you Richard Callaghan for writing this book. You have done current and future fans a great service.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real gem of a book! 6 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was really impressed by the passion, and dedication to detail that the author shows in relation to the programme, not only looking at the storylines, but also putting his own knowledge and opinions into the mix, a great read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars The only guide 6 Feb 2014
By Gedruk
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This, as far as I'm aware, is the only guide for Sapphire and Steel. And is highly recommended . It's a great read with reviews of the tv episodes as well as short reviews of the audio series and even the 76 issue look-in comic strip.

I actually prefer `unofficial` guides as the author can write an opinion that's entirely his own and not `standard and safe` that he would be told to write in an official guide.

I read it in 3 evenings and its inspired me to get the dvds and audios out again.

Recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite disappointing
Whilst there is a lot of analysis, I felt when reading that I was reading an extended essay that was light on information and quite high on repetition. Read more
Published 1 month ago by M. Hevingham
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read - a must for anyone interested in TV production history...
This is a must buy for anyone who enjoyed the TV series, there is an astonishing amount of detail which is clearly a result of very significant research. Read more
Published 9 months ago by dfb
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative
I haver always been a fan of Sapphire and Steel it first came out. This book is the perfect companion to it
Published 9 months ago by qball71
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb coverage of a cult TV show
Richard Callaghan has written an excellent and long overdue book documenting and analysing one of ITV's best contributions to UK fantasy television. Read more
Published 9 months ago by G. Preston
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last!
I have been a fan of the series since it was first aired and remember being completely terrified as a child. For me, this series ranks alongside Hammer House of Horror. Read more
Published 11 months ago by maryshelley
5.0 out of 5 stars All the info available on the Sapphire&Steel universe series,books,...
The passion of a fan who managed to collect and organize all the (scantly) information on the series provides the most thoroughtful and only guide to Sapphire and Steel series,... Read more
Published 14 months ago by serena
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback