Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars413
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£26.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2002
Articulate is a really fab game. It's not really suitable for children, but great fun for older teenagers and adults. It's easy to learn and simple to set up. The idea is for teams to describe words from differrent categories, it gets everyone talking and thinking fast and can be hilarious. It has been the number one game in our family for years.
0Comment86 of 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2005
We get this game out at EVERY opportunity. We have had so much fun; I would highly recommend this game to anybody that enjoys a seriously good laugh. To listen and watch how people describe and act out in so many different ways. We have had great fun with people from 15yrs to 78, believe me we have done the rounds with all our family and friends. I still find I have to describe things I have never come across before and I have had the game for 5 years. An absolute must! ( Warning: alcohol can often prevent you from finishing the game due to too much laugher )
0Comment108 of 118 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2004
Excellent! This game is not like other board games which take ages and make you even more bored then you were when you started. It is great. It is fast moving, Frantic and a good laugh. One of the people on your team is trying to describe to you and to get out of you a word without saying that word themselves. A bit like verbal Charades or Pictionary. A great buy. I strongly recommend it!!
0Comment47 of 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2005
this game is amazing. it is suitable for all ages and can end up being hilarious. it is majorly competitive and is definitely not another 'quiet' board game. it is soo good and i played it for the first time the other day and it was the best fun I had had in ages!
0Comment52 of 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
This is a really amusing game and one that never fails to get everyone in the family involved; good at bringing together even the most distant of relatives! It's also good for younger children to improve their lateral thinking, problem solving and verbal skills. The only down side being that you can only really play it with 4 or more people, otherwise it simply isn't as enjoyable. Overall though a classic!
0Comment40 of 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2002
This game is fast and full of fun. It can involve the whole family, groups of friends or it would be a good party game at a work night out. Although it recommends being over 12 we played with kids younger than this and they loved it. It is a team game which heightens the fun and while competitive it is not taken too seriously. One for Christmas and any family get together.
0Comment40 of 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2008
We got Articulate for Christmas 2008, and we have played it 3 times already with friends and family.

The rules are simple; describe as many words as you can in the time limit and move around the board towards the finish faster than the other teams. Each board square represents a different catergory to try and explain, and these can be really easy or very hard, which is a great balance for the game. This game is easy to play, fast paced, and a lot of fun. It gets everyone involved and excited and I would reccommend this game for any party.

Please note however, that after only playing this game three times, we are running low on fresh answers. Despite the giant box of cards, most of them are duplicates, and explaining the same thing over and over again takes the fun out of things a little bit. There are millions of words out there, so why there are so many duplicates is very frustrating.

Value for money poor. We already need the bumper pack!!

I also feel the game could have more variations, challenges or things to do. The control sections are good(when every team tries to guess) but the spinner in the middle of the board is relativly pointless, thus, this could be just as fun played without the board. The end is a little anti-climatic after so much excitment, which is a shame because with just a bit more invention, variation and not so many duplicate answers this game could be truly great.

Enjoyable but very short shelf life without a top-up pack, and frustratingly this could be so much better. 4 stars.
0Comment47 of 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2006
I love this game!!! We always get it out at Christmastime when all the reletives are over. It can be quite hard, but that just adds to the fun. Hilarious watching people struggling to describe something difficult. And you learn things while playing!!! Well worth getting - it's really really good.
0Comment22 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
Articulate is along the same lines of Taboo, but without the words you can't say. Sounds easier, but it isn't when you get down to it.

If you know how to play Taboo, then the rules are basically the same. The category system works well - each card has 6 subject on it:
Object
Person
World
Action
Nature
Random

The timer turns and you've got 30 seconds to describe to your team mates (or mate if you're unpopular) as many of your designated category as you can. You move that many sections around the game board, and land on a different subject each time.
A game for 4 teams takes around 45 minutes.

This game works well after dinner with friends (and even better after a few glasses of wine.) But only if you have a wife who knows what a 'Blue Rectangle in Russia' is.*

It'll struggle to keep younger players interested for the duration, but adults will get through it fine. The main enjoyment comes from the quite ridiculous answers that people come up with for things.

It's a regular in my household, and we've bought it as a gift for friends as well. I've never played with anyone who hasn't enjoyed it :)

* It's Red Square, Moscow by the way...
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2010
Played this on Christmas day for the fist time with a bunch of friends. Great game, loads of laughter. I'm looking forward to our next gathering when this game will be top on the entertainment list. Played again on New Years Day - The game actually improves in direct proportion to the wine/beer intake although this was not an essential component to our evening's enjoyment. I recommend this to all who enjoy fun games.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.