Start reading Artemis Rising on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
Artemis Rising (Unabridged) Narrated by Caprisha Page £17.79 £2.99
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Artemis Rising [Kindle Edition]

Cheri Lasota , Steven Novak , Lance Ganey
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £10.99
Kindle Price: £3.07 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £7.92 (72%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.07  
Paperback £10.99  
Audio Download, Unabridged £15.57 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

"Left me breathless and spellbound. I wanted to live inside its pages."
--Karen Hooper, Author of Tangled Tides

What if your name was your destiny? And what if that name foretold a tragic end?

Eva must accept the tragic fate her mother has chosen for her. But Tristan, the one she loves, has willingly chosen another destiny, a journey fraught with danger and sorrow. Diogo, driven by a mysterious power, will force them further apart if they cannot break the curse of their fates.

Set against the lush backdrop of 1890s Azores Islands, this YA Historical Fantasy is a seamless blend of two ancient mythologies: Tristan and Isolde & Alpheus and Arethusa.

A First Place Winner in the Chanticleer Cygnus Awards and E-book Category Finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards, this Historical Fantasy novel is for readers who loved Chelsea Fine's Archers of Avalon series, Megg Jensen's Anathema, and Addison Moore's Celestra series.

"Compelling, original and lyrically written... unlike anything I've ever read before."
--Jessie Harrell, Author of Destined

"A love story unlike any other."
--N. Gemini Sasson, Author of The Crown in the Heather and Isabeau


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2412 KB
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Ever-Sea Press (13 Sept. 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00CKE1ISM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #557,389 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Cheri Lasota is a techno-dweeb and darn proud of it. She dabbles in video editing, ebook design, coding, gaming, gizmos, gadgets, tablets, and apps. She also has her hand in composing, filmmaking, and ski racing. She secretly daydreams about owning two schnauzers named Tristan and Isolde, someday hearing the soundtrack to a film based on one of her books, and writing full time dressed only in her PJs.

ECHOES IN THE GLASS is her second YA novel. Her bestselling debut novel, ARTEMIS RISING, is a 2013 Cygnus Awards First Place Winner and a 2012 finalist in the Next Generation Indie Books Awards. Cheri also recently released her how-to e-book DESIGN AND UPLOAD YOUR EPUB.

Learn more about Cheri here:
Come to Cheri's home on the Web: CheriLasota.com
Join the Conversation on Cheri's Blog: cherilasota.com/writers-portal/blog/
Chat on Cheri's Fan Page on Facebook: facebook.com/CheriLasota
Follow Cheri on Twitter: twitter.com/CheriLasota

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical romance for young adults 19 April 2013
Format:Paperback
Aretemis Rising is a magical young adult novel about destiny and love. Set in the Azores in the late 19th century, young Eva Mare's mother performs a pagan ritual to look into her daughter's future. During her trance, she sees a man named Diogo and convinces Eva he is to be her destiny. But Eva encounters a young man of her own named Tristan who also faces a complex destiny. It is Tristan she falls in love with and it is Diogo who she disdains for his evilness.

And thus begins a masterfully woven plot filled with conflict and danger and intrigue. Cheri Lasota has written a spell-binding historical fantasy about young, passionate love, skillfully tying it in with historical myths such as Tristan and Isolde and Arethusa and Alpheus. Although the novel is written for young adults, the story has a great deal of depth and is more than adequate for adults. It is a coming of age novel about self-discovery, about one's true faith, and of triumph. A compelling read and highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and relevant 29 Nov. 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
Artemis Rising is a charming story of a young woman on a quest for identity. Eva, raised a Catholic by a domineering and abusive father, is persuaded to adopt the religion of her pagan mother. But when her mother is killed in a shipwreck, Eva is left to face the world alone, to decide for herself what she is to believe, what stories and legacies to hold as her own, and how, most importantly, she is to give her heart. In a world where the canons of social behavior have been determined for them by those that have come before, I think young people will relate to the battle for self-definition and to find happiness in a world fraught with danger, prejudice, malice and manipulation, and where the rules, if written, are unclear.I found Artemis rising a refreshing read, taking me to places I've never seen and seldom read of. The characters are engaging and believable and the writing lyrical and at times poetic. The story is fast-paced and filled with allegory and analogy--which I love--and successfully draws the reader into a time past but still relatable, a world both beautiful and intriguing. Artemis Rising was a true pleasure to read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Myth and legend unite in this unique love story 31 Aug. 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
Myth and legend unite in Cheri LaSota's hauntingly beautiful debut novel, Artemis Rising. Even with such an intricate plotline, this book is a highly engaging read that will sweep you away with its lyrical passages.

The story begins as Eva's mother is mentoring her in the rites of the pagan goddess, Artemis. Eva takes the name of the water nymph, Arethusa, and thus consigns her fate to the myth surrounding the nymph, who was pursued by the river god, Alpheus. But Arethusa's father, a strict Catholic, discovers them and ships them off to the Azores. Soon, Arethusa finds herself the object of attention of the ship owner's son, the darkly handsome and possessive Diogo.

When a storm wrecks the ship, Arethusa awakens in the arms of her shy rescuer, the soft-spoken Tristao. Now parentless, Arethusa must suffer the derision of her fellow orphans. Diogo soon appears at her bedside and Arethusa begins to believe that he is her Alpheus.

Soon, another legend arises in Arethusa's life - the tragic romance of Tristan and Isolde. While struggling to unravel these two ancient tales and their often disturbing correlation to the events in her own life, Arethusa searches for the strength within herself to discover her own destiny.

While it's easy to get wrapped up in the myth and legend that LaSota has so skillfully laid out here, this book is surprising in both its depth and its message. It gets even more intense as it nears the end. The characters are solid and true. Most of all, Arethusa is a unique heroine of uncommon strength who will have you rooting for her all the way. It's a love story unlike any other, making it even more memorable.

(This book was received as a review copy.)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars The tangle web of a young woman's mind and life. 26 Mar. 2015
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Complex, enthralling and very different. As a 72 year old, lifelong bookaholic I'm hardly a "young adult" but I loved it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 27 Aug. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Excellent
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category