Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2012
Content is OK but minimal details are provided. Dissapointed that the story seems to leave out a lot of Arnolds time at the front.
11 comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Very little detail, Very little on the conditions which snipers had to endure. I learned next to nothing new. Disappointed!
11 comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
This very short book purports to be about a sniper in France. It actually is a very short account of the military career of one of the author.s relatives in the first world war, interspersed with bits and pieces about the Battle of Loos and the history of the Buffs. This account is tenuously linked to the issue of sniping in that war. There is no evidence presented that the subject of the book was ever a sniper, or underwent sniper training, with the only accounts of sniping incidents being drawn from other sources. Overall, I thought this was a poorly written piece of work,, and a great disappointment. If you are interested in the subject of sniping in this war, I would recommend the book Sniping in France mentioned in this author.s bibliography.
0Comment10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
This book does give an insight into the privations of WW1 but it is very short and the scope is restricted.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
A short by detailed account of a first world war soldier very interesting
Reminds one of the sacrifice made by many
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Being a WW 1 enthusiast I like to read about the people as well as the accounts of the big picture. Whilst it does say the book is about Crabtree there is very little detail, and the book tends to lean more towards how sniping came about in the British Army. Otherwise an interesting account of another facet of a terrible conflict.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
I should of read the description in full. It's only 24 pages. Rather annoyed at paying for so little. Will be making sure from now on not to make the same mistake again.
33 comments6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
A hard read too much detailed info, I w a s hoping that it would be more of the person named better understanding of the task taken on and the life he was exposed to.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
i thought this book?was going to be very interesting about one man's war,as a sniper in first world war.no information given except to say who he was.nothing to show what he had gone through or what he had done.complete waste of time.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Good piece of history
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.