Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars29
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
28
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2003
Sometimes its a chore reviewing old CDs. You have to find 'em in your collection, dust them off, stick them in the CD player and get reminded of how sad you were when you listened to them. Then again, sometimes its an absolute pleasure. This is one of those cases.
Writing this review gave me the excuse to blast out this album on my stereo at an extremely high volume (nothing beats the opening track for pissing your neighbours off something chronic), and I was instantly transported back to the summer of '92. I remember being absolutely blown away by the sheer ferocity of this album then and nothing has changed now.
Considered by many to be mere Slayer clones when they first emerged from Brazil, Sepultura proved on this and later albums that they were anything but, incorporating tribal and industrial influences into their sound and carving a niche all of their own. To be fair, the tribal influence is not exactly pushed to the fore on this album (that came later), but for sheer riffs, 'Arise' is probably one of the top five metal albums of all time.
The aforementioned opener, title track 'Arise' starts off with some industrial percussion which rapidly gives way to a thunderous opening riff. When the drums kick in, you start to wonder whether Igor Cavelra has two pairs of feet and hands!
There is no let up in quality on the album at all - each track is an absolute gem. Its therefore hard to pick out highlights, but if you're looking for a few pointers, the drumming at the beginning of 'Altered State' is absolutely superb, the whole of 'Desperate Cry' is fantastic, 'Under Siege (Regnum Irae)' is a nice change of pace and the last track 'Infected Voice' is the best closer since 'Damage Inc'
In short, if you haven't heard this for a long time, give it a play. If you've NEVER heard it, go buy it and discover what REAL metal is.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2003
Most groups that are around for a while produce one album that stands head and shoulders over their others...for Sepultura ARISE is that album. It doesn't have a single bad track...far from it, all the tracks are amazing thrash metal. When I first heard it back when it was released I can't say I was instantly hooked, but after a while I started to hear all the intricacies and the brilliant song construction. For metal heads this is a must buy...there are few thrash albums that reach the great heights of this.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Back in 1991 the Brazilian thrash metal band, Sepultura brought out their fifth release, the aggressive masterpiece that is the album ‘Arise’. The release had the daunting position of following the 1989 inspired album ‘Beneath The Remains’, that proved Sepultura to me lords of thrash.
The album was released in a standard case and a limited edition digi-pak version. The album also spawned the release of the ‘Under Siege (Live at Barcelona) video and the singles:- Arise, Dead Embryonic Cells, Under Siege [Regnum Irae] and Third World Posse. In 1997, the album was remastered and released with four extra bonus tracks and on a gold CD.
The album is a solid block of aggressive speed thrash and power metal. The guitar work is tight and proficient, with tight crunching metal riffs backed up by a barrage of fast double bass work. Max Cavalera’s vocals are low and guttural, but still not undistinguishable. The album sports some of the band’s early tribal influences and incorporates a strong, industrial merge with the thrash sound. ‘Arise’ is an important milestone in the band’s career and a album that should be included in any respectable thrash collection. A truly awesome work of technically impressive metal.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2007
The way I see it, Sepultura released three suberb, classic albums in a row(arguably four if you loved the Roots album). These are Beneath the Remains (1989), Arise (1991)and Chaos AD (1993). Beneath was where the band had burst onto the international metal scene with their mixture of pure speed and aggression with complex songwriting skills in a way that ensured a classic album. Chaos AD was were the band truly became unique and one of the first groove metal acts, whilst adding significant tribal influences on their music.
Arise could be seen as a bridge between Beneath and Chaos, although it's overall sound is closer to Beneath than Chaos. This is because the band did add a few tribal infuenced to their thrash here. For example, the jungle-style intro to Altered State and the acoustic guitars in parts of Desoerate Cry and Under Siege. The album overall is also a tad more mid-paced that Beneath was.
Throughout every song on here, the crushing riffs, at nicely varied speeds, drive these songs and will be pure headbanging bliss to most metalhead's ears. However, Arise is about more than just riffs.
One of the album's biggest strong points is the work of lead guitarist Andreas Kisser. His harmonizing with Max's crushing rhythm guitar is awe-inspiring and also quite unique-sounding. His solos too, are consistently mind blowing. They are often lightning-fast and technical as the songs require, but they are always very melodic, unlike most similar bands, marking Andreas out as one of the best thrash guitarists of his time. Just pick any song and I assure you there will be a great solo in it. Sepultura certainly knew how to put the right amount of melody into their brutal thrash assult. Then there's Max's throaty, tortured vocals, which he uses to lay down his passionate lyrics about the crumbling state of affairs in the modern world-a perfect match with the brilliant music.
It's worth mentioning that the production is better here than it was on Beneath. On that album, the sound was nice and raw, but the guitars sounded just a tad thin. Here though, they sound nice and thick. The bottom end is also cranked up, making the bass lines and the kick drums more audible.
I usually find it hard to say which of Sep's three classics is best. But I can say that Arise may well be the overall winner for me. I very slightly prefer the thrashy sound of this to the later sound even though they both rule. I also think I prefer this to Beneath 'cause Arise is just a slightly more varied pack of songs due to the slightly more varied tempos and the tribal touches.
Picking favourites is tough but I'd say Desperate Cry is the best here. It's the perfect mix of Thrashiness and melody and also has some of the album's best riffs-and that's saying something! There's also the singles Dead Embryonic Cells and Arise which still stand as absolute thrash classics. Altered State is a stunning song, one of the albums's more complex and ambitious songs. There's great, straight-up thrashers like Subtraction and Infected Voice and cuts like Murder and Meaningless Movements which blend brutal thrash with insanely catchy grooves in the best possible way. Don't forget Under Siege, with is killer chugging riffs, great solo and coll acoustic intro.
Like many of Sep's albums with Max. there is absolutely no filler here. Every track owns because all the songs stay true to the album's overall style which is of course brilliant. It's one of those rare thrash albums where everything just clicks perfectly and it still sounds fairly original, if not as unique as their next two albums. I highly, highly recommend this, as any true metalhead will be in bliss with just about any of the songs here.
Oh, did I mention the drumming?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
There is a great deal of nostalgia here, as Sepultura I consider as the first decent, 'proper' metal band I really got into (loved Rammstein but they are at most 'semi-serious' and took me ages to get into Maiden), and years later, after losing interest in all Metallica albums apart from ...And Justice For All and the 'Big Four' of thrash in general (though I do still love classic 80s megadeth and to a lesser extent 80s slayer), I still probably rank classic sepultura as one of my favourite bands...and, to get to the point, Arise must be my favourite album of theirs...

From start to finish Arise is very consistent, energetic, but experimental, with the odd industrial and even Hawkwind-esque interlude, with captivating, exciting, well-produced thrash that actually has balls and that still sound very fresh today...I would say this album even borders on 'progressive metal' in the same way that Metallica's ...And Justice For All and Megadeth's Rust in Peace do...

The bonus tracks on this reissue make it well worth it too...the Criminals in Uniform bonus track is great, and their energetic take on Motorhead's Orgasmatron is one of the best cover versions I have ever heard 9along with Max-era Sepultura's cover of Sabbath's Symptom of the Universe)

So to cut a long story short...buy this album! Spend less time listening to overrated at best patchy albums like Master of Puppets!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
I was talking with an old friend recently about stand out gigs from our (long and chequered) past, and with things like ACDC in Budapest '90, Nirvana at Reading '92 being bandied about one that made one of the strongest impressions on both of us was Sepultura on the Arise tour at the old International in Manchester. It was just nuts.

It was such extreme brutal thrash combined with moments of exquisite groove.

Metallica always seemed a bit pretentious after that somehow. Some of the reviews here by hardcore metal fans echo that. The thing is, with Metallica headlining Glastonbury, it made me think more people need to hear this. And they will. Albums this good stand the test of time.

Sepultura really broke through with Chaos AD and Roots, partly because they really condensed the tribal samba style they had been developing, and mainly because of the production.
The original release of Arise had a slightly ropey sound, so this remaster is very welcome.

It is absolutely the top of their creative curve. Every track is absolutely killer, technically and musically. But more than that, the haunting anguish in the anger of every note comes across with such unanimous honesty from start to finish. This is desperate music from a deeply divided Police state dystopia. This was a real band finding its true voice. Listen to this lots and read Orwell and Huxley and get yourself a real existential problem together. Yay!

Thrash/death metal has always been for the niche appreciation boys, but sometimes when it's as essential as this, you just wish people would give it wider recognition. I hope as time goes on they will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2000
As a relatively new metal fan, I found myself struggling along a pah to find the heaviest sounding music there is, as I thought only this wold satisfy. Well i found it, and it was called Arise. This alubum, some say, was a turning point for the band, well I wouldn't really know about that, it's a little before my time, but there is one thing I do know, this CD is truly awesome, and the bonus tracks make it even better value, with the only fault with the original being thatit was too short.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 June 2010
I stumbled across this album as a cassette in the late nineties a while after its release and was stricken by its metallic grandeur and exotic style of instrumentation and pacing,as well as with its grim and passionate lyrical content...I have my fave songs but recommend it as excellent for its musical genre with few dull and no bad tracks for the mature lovers of fine vintage thrash-A great album,simply.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
This is one of the best albums albums by early Sepultura along with beneath the remains, there third album, I prefer them to Slayer, Anthrax and Megadeth from the so called Big four of the thrash bands from the mid 80s along with Testament they are highly recommended if you are buying them for the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2006
this is a class prime thrash metal album with superb songs that have killer riffs and class songs throughout,this is a fine example of thrash metal at its fiercest and best,its a landmark album that hasnt aged a day and that is one of the highest compliments thats an album can ever get,the tribal influences that sepultura came to show on their album roots starts to develop on here,its a fast album at times and on other times it slows down and thrashs like a rhino in a tank,the drums are brilliant throughout and each of the four members play like gods throughout,this is a masterpiece
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)