Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars410
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£24.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 January 2012
I picked up one of these from the airport, prior to a safari in Kenya.

The box comes complete with 2 "dongles" that you plug into the Ipad - 1 that has connection for USB lead & the other which supports SD cards.

The USB dongle is probably the more useful of the 2 if you have a digital SLR, as it lets you connect up to your camera and copy the photos from the memory card directly onto the Ipad. It also creates a specific folder with the date of the import.

To have had the ability to view photos at the end of each day on an Ipad was marvellous - after dinner we would sit around and flick through the days snaps and delete any we didn't like there and then. Sure, you can do this with the camera display, but it is so much easier on an Ipad as you can see so much more of the detail! This meant when we got home, we had a perfect set of pictures to upload to our collection on the PC, without having to spend hours and hours checking over the photos (which, lets be honest about it, rarely gets done because when you get back from holiday you have a million other distractions that mean it gets left!!!)

I was very pleased with Apples own device, but please note, there are 3rd party connectors available on Amazon etc, which are a lot cheaper, so it may be worth looking at the reviews that other people have contributed, before you decide which to go for.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 2 April 2012
Some reviewers have said this is not the official Apple Camera Connection Kit. It is. It comes in white Apple packaging, with the silver Apple logo on the side, and is sealed in the clear plastic bags that all Apple connectors are packaged in. It also has the minimal Apple documentation as all Apple products have. On one side of each connector is printed "Designed by Apple in California" This kit is definitely made by Apple.

The product is superb. I have the new iPad (March 2012) and the connectors work a treat. The SD card reader is blindingly fast and it all just works. Plug it in, pop in the SD card, and your iPad automatically opens a window to transfers whichever photos you want into the iPad. So simple, so easy, so Apple.

The kit does not work with iPhone 4 but then it is designed for iPad. And with the advent of iCloud, iPhone functionality is not an option that most people require.

Excellent product.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on 14 May 2012
Be cautious of non-Apple camera connection kits.
I was very careful before purchasing this product. I searched Amazon and found cheaper products, however many of the reviews showed that customers were having problems. The main issue appeared to be that later versions IOS on the iPad would not allow data to be read from these products.

Compatibility and Import
I can confirm that as of 14th of May 2012 with an iPad 3 with the IOS 5.1.1 update, the Apple connection kit works perfectly.

When I inserted the SD card adapter I was not quite sure of what I was going to be met with on screen. Immediately the iPad recognised the SD card and brought up an import screen so that I could bring in either my pictures or videos.

In my opinion the price of this product is high, however unless you want to gamble with incompatibility issues I think it is a price that you have to pay to be sure. Also this product saves a lot of aggravation in having to always connect up to your main computer to transfer pictures and videos from cameras.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
98 of 103 people found the following review helpful
This is an important bit of kit for the iPad, because it lets you plug in a serious camera such as a Nikon D3, download the pictures, email them, upload them, or whatever else you want to do, and get on with shooting. For a professional photo shoot on location, it means you can check the images for focus and other flaws on a bigger screen without having to pack a laptop. Nikon used to sell a dedicated device for that, at several times the price of an iPad.

Since the advent of iOS 4.2 you can also use the USB connector for midi connection, with the appropriate app, and it can also (again, with the appropriate app) be used for getting sound in and out. Other uses are bound to follow, since Apple has obviously left some of the protocols open for this device.

All in all I'm very pleased to have this, though I would quite happily accept the USB port only, since I don't use SD cards. This appears to be priced at the bottom of Apple's range, though, and they may have decided that users wouldn't want it if it were just the USB.

When you see how small it is, you may baulk at the price. When you begin to use it and discover how useful it is, that price begins to seem irrelevant.

Recommended to all serious photographers who use an iPad.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on 27 March 2011
Very good item. You can upload your photos all in one go (and skip duplicates), and have the choice to keep them or delete them from the camera afterwards. The photos can then be sorted by date or upload, and be accessed directly on the iPad as a mass storage device to be copied or deleted (this is the only files you'll be able to access directly from your iPad in Windows XP without going through iTunes).

So all in all very useful piece of kit.

PS: I've got the iOS4.3 upgrade and this works no problem with my Canon camera...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 12 March 2011
I agree with some other reviews that the iPad should really have an sd card reader as standard, but it doesn't so stop moaning. This adaptor works really well either with an sd card or just by hooking up your camera. I have a nikon D40 ( which uses SD ) and a Nikon D300 that uses CF cards. The D40 works just by inserting the card, the D300 works well by connecting up the USB cable. The interface is very good ( although it would be nice to zoom on the thumbnails, and it would also be nice to be able to specify album names ). Ignoring those minor issues I would say that if you ar a professional photographer and want to be able to review your pictures with a client or if you are, like me, a keen amateur then this is an absolute essential. NB it's only £26 directly from apple, with free delivery.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
on 30 August 2011
Like many other reviewers I feel that Apple should have included a SD card slot on the ipad2, and preferably a USB connector. However they didn't, and although the omission is irritating, this over-priced kit does the job well. I have tried it with SDHC cards and SD cards and it works fine. It does not work with SDXC cards however.
As far as the USB connector is concerned it works with my Canon 7D together with the Canon supplied USB cable, but so it should!
For other users of cameras that use Compact Flash cards, a worthwhile investment would be a CF Card/SDHC card adaptor, as this enables SDHC cards to be used in the camera, and then used in the Apple SD card part of this kit - otherwise you have to take both parts of the kit with you, together with the USB cable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 7 October 2012
Why is the product description illiterate? Surely this a dead giveaway that this is not a genuine Apple product? Statements such as
" is like child like game to load photos from a digital camera to the Apple iPad, and to view these directly on you wonderful iPad-Display and show it to all your family and friends" hardly inspire confidence.
I was considering buying this from Amazon but, like badly written spam, I'll avoid, and go to Apple direct.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 7 March 2011
Perfect for taking on holiday as they take up no room at all and it is only a two minute job to download pictures onto my ipad.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 3 February 2012
Well these little gadgets are absolutely fab, plug in your DSLR stick it n your IPad and off you go, pictures all downloaded quick smart!

Used it once, and as they are quite small units, I put them in a safe place and now can't remember where they are or find them.

It's not great being old and senile.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 40 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.