Buy Used
£1.78
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Apartment 16 Paperback – 7 May 2010

3.3 out of 5 stars 251 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 7 May 2010
£3.22 £0.01

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Pan (7 May 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0330514962
  • ISBN-13: 978-0330514965
  • Product Dimensions: 20 x 13.4 x 3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (251 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 257,650 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Adam L G Nevill was born in Birmingham, England, in 1969 and grew up in England and New Zealand. He is the author of the supernatural horror novels Banquet for the Damned, Apartment 16, The Ritual, Last Days, House of Small Shadows, No One Gets Out Alive, and Lost Girl. In 2012, 2013 and 2015 his novels were the winners of The August Derleth Award for Best Horror Novel. The Ritual and Last Days were also awarded Best in Category: Horror, by R.U.S.A. Adam lives in Devon and can be contacted through www.adamlgnevill.com.

Product Description

Review

`Apartment 16 is setting the bar high for British horror writing this year. I'm not the most easily spooked of people when it comes to my reading choices; Apartment 16, however, managed to get me sleeping with the lights on, acted as the catalyst for two spectacular nightmares and turned the simple task of walking through my flat late at night to get a hot drink into the eeriest of beverage quests.' --Dark Fiction Review

`Not since reading Stephen King's It has a book managed to instill such a feeling of fear and disquiet in me... Apartment 16 is an excellent horror book from a talented author. Highly recommended.' --Fantasy Book Review

'A wonderfully written, deftly-plotted tale of terror. Apartment 16 kept me guessing right to the end, and kept me turning pages long into the night. If horror is going to make a comeback in 2010, this is the book to lead the charge. Highly recommended.'
--Speculative Horizons

`His writing shows an almost perfect melding of the old and the new: the raw atmospherics of Blackwood, the subtle and oh so terrifying nearly-glimpsed horrors on the periphery of M.R. James' and H.P. Lovecraft's imaginations; the masterly development of buildings and environments as characters and vessels, and a cutting contemporary miserablism describing everyday urban hopelessness that is as grim and inevitable as the spiral into which Seth and Apryl find themselves descending. Put simply, he writes damn unsettling prose.' --Book Geeks

`There's something sort of pleasingly old-fashioned about Apartment 16. Nevill doesn't offer gratuitous gore or flashy weirdness. Instead, he builds terror brick by brick, with subtle intimations and well-orchestrated escalating strangeness.' --Bookotron

`However the thing that sets this book apart for me was Nevill's style. At one stage, one of the protagonists' nightmares were so well written, dark, impressive that I could picture the vivid details in front of my eyes. The darkness of the setting was so well imagined and it was so well conveyed that the whole experience was truly disturbing at times, something that I would expect from a good horror book.'
--Speculative Book Review

Book Description

A story of spine-tingling terror from Britain’s award-winning ‘master of horror’, Adam Nevill. Perfect for fans of Stephen King. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Ginger Nuts TOP 500 REVIEWER on 19 Sept. 2015
Format: Paperback
here's a quick run through the synopsis. Basically, we have Apryl, a young American lady who comes to London after being informed of a distant aunt's passing; as part of the will, Apryl's aunt has left her family her expensive apartment in Barrington House, an upmarket block of buildings in a well-to-do area of the city. At the same time, night-watchman Seth - who works in said block of flats - hears some noises in the long-vacant apartment 16. His initial investigation sets in motion a series of events that will have ramifications for himself, Apryl and anyone else in residence in Barrington House.

Basically what you have, on the surface of things, is a classic British ghost story which relates the mostly separate story strands of Apryl and Seth as they both go through their various and varied experiences by coming into the vicinity of apartment 16 and Barrington Block. In Apryl's case, it begins innocently enough as she delves into the past of a relative she barely knew existed. By searching through her aunt's belongings, looking at and wearing clothes from an era she loves, and finally reading through her aunt's increasingly disturbing diaries, Apryl comes to realise that something awful happened in the past of Barrington House and might still be around. For Seth, a failed art student, it's far more insidious as he is beset by strange visions and dreams, the spectre of a young hooded boy who seems to follow him out of his dreams and subsequently lead and pushes Seth into fulfilling the awful destiny of an artist who used to reside in apartment 16.

As a follow up to his debut, Banquet For The Damned, Apartment 16 is more than worthy.
Read more ›
Comment 31 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Apartment 16 by Adam Nevill

I was prompted to leave this review after reading some of the comments left by others, in fear that the negativity would put other potential readers off.

Let me start by saying that it has been a long time since I have got excited by a novel. And a horror novel at that! The horror section of book shops always seems to be so small in comparison to the others. And now the limited space is over run with vampire romance stories after the ever popular TWILIGHT saga.
That's o.k. but once you have read one...

I happened to find Apartment 16 purely by chance.

The story follows two main characters and their connection to Barrington House; an upmarket block situated in London.
Within its walls lies Apartment 16. No one goes in. And no one comes out.
Seth is the night-watchman. He investigates a disturbance that appears to be coming from the abandoned apartment. Events that follow change his life forever.
Apryl is a young American woman who has been left an apartment by her Great Aunt Lillian at Barrington House. It appears that her Aunt died in strange circumstances. Overwhelmed by her inheritance, Apryl seeks to discover the truth about her Aunt. She discovers some journals that suggest that Barrington House has a dark secret that it isn't about to let its residents forget it. Apryl unravels more than she bargains for.

If you are looking for an easy horror, then this is probably not a novel for you. But if you want something with a strong story/plot line and something that investigates and explores the supernatural with a unique view point then I urge you to give it chance.

Whilst reading I was completely astounded by the books imagery and intensity.
Read more ›
2 Comments 137 of 143 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Apartment 16
Didn't know what to expect from this book. I like to read dark, brooding, supernatural stories and this certainly sounded like my cup of tea. Gothic, is the way I'd describe the story - old building, bunch of crazy artists, satanic style ritual, murder, nightmares and strange apparitions with a liberal dose of "things that go bump in the night". Gave me the serious creeps when I started reading this book and I did feel uncomfortable. Compex plot though, not the sort of book you can just scan through, you will need to take your time reading it. A lot of characters to come to terms with, and there's a teenage "demon" in here that's positively terrible and highly original - never come across this type of character before - he's NASTY!!!! There's a high level of "art" content, artists are the core of the story, but don't let that put you off, if you like to scare yourself then you're going to love Apartment 16.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Sometimes I can't wait to review a book, other times I almost can't be bothered. Apartment 16 definitely fits into the latter category. For a horror novel it is amazingly devoid of atmosphere, which should be a criminal offense for any book in the genre. For me, the structure did not work at all. The prologue introduces us to Seth, a night porter at Barrington House, and the strange noises emanating from the titular apartment number 16. Straight away we learn about how Seth is drawn to the apartment, which is fair enough, but, because of the way in which Seth's involvement is dealt with it robs the story of all mystery - or, at least, it did for me. It was pretty obvious from the very first chapters exactly what was going on, which made the rest of the book a bit of a slog. It might have worked better for me had Nevill taken his other main protagonist, Apryl, and told the story completely from her point of view, as she tries to uncover the mystery of what happened to her uncle and aunt in their apartment in the building. Hers is the more engaging tale, and she is the more engaging character.

Atmosphere, atmosphere, atmosphere. It's completely missing. There is no build up of tension, the scares - such as they are - are reliant upon incredibly wordy and yet vague descriptions which are repetitive and end up being little more than padding - and there's a lot of padding in this book. Nevill also seems to think that having characters swear a lot amounts to adult content when, really, it just comes off as juvenile.

When the story finally does reach its point (at least 100 pages too late) it does belatedly start to engage, but then it culminates in a horribly rushed and unimpressive conclusion. I've put off reading this book for a long time. I should've put it off even longer.
1 Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback