Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars75
4.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation3|Change
Price:£10.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 1 July 2014
One word addictive, you'll be chasing high scores the rest of your life.

Given that my 66 year old technophobe mother knows what angry birds is, I'll assume that you do as well. Well this is more of the same with an excellently done Star Wars theme, nice graphics with music and sfx we all know and love that enhances the game well.

All key characters and fan favourite extras are in the game, obviously in the guise of the usual chicks and piggies. Powers also differ to ones more fitting of a Star Wars game, some take a little practice to get used to and some can be hard to master.

Most frequently played local multiplayer between 36 and 42 year old males. With options for Vs and CO-OP, up to 4 players being able to play 1, 3 or 5 random levels a time.

Sadly playing hotseat it is easy to copy what the previous player just did, thankfully the game switches between who goes first at the start of each level so their is no unfair advantage if someone is trying to copy your shot every time.

A decent amount of levels, bonus levels and collectables give you plenty to see and do. It is however the online leaderboard that can consume many hours of your life in single player.

A leader board for local multiplayer games would have been a nice touch that wouldn't have exactly been hard to implement.

Game sadly does not have a paper manual, only warranty & support documentation, there is however a link to the manual online should you require it.

4.5/5 would have given 5 if it had a local multiplayer scoreboard.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Angry Birds: Star Wars is a fun family game for kids and adults. This game is very addicting and I loved playing through all the levels. This version includes a two Multiplayer Modes (Competitive 2-4 players and cooperative modes - 2 players). Beyond the the levels offered by the Android version there are an additional 20 levels created just for the console game. The game has over 25 Hours of content. There are even unlockable levels including the R2-D2 and C-3PO bonus levels and bonus content.I enjoyed this game and would definitely recommend it to others.

Thank you for reading my review.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Fans of ANGRY BIRDS and the STAR WARS franchise are sure to love this great PS3 game!

The aim of the game is to catapult our ANGRY BIRDS - now redesigned as iconic STAR WARS characters - so that they destroy the Pig buildings and Pig Trooper sentinels while causing as much damage as possible.

Although the controls are very simple indeed, merely lining up the catapult shot and pressing the X button to send our current ANGRY BIRD into flight, the levels themselves prove highly challenging. We have a trio of attempts per level to destroy all the Troopers and a bonus is give for any Birds not used upon successful completion.

A strategic element gives the flying Birds special powers - such as a single use lightsaber swing for LUKE SKYWALKER and Force Push for the JEDI - which if used wisely can lead to bigger bonus points!

Numerous locations ranging from TATOOINE and HOTH to Star Destroyers and the awesome Pig Star will raise a smile from devoted STAR WARS fans and the game has delicious black humour throughout. The levels play in a similar style but there is always the incentive of beating a high score and finding more effective ways to crush the Pigs.

As well as a single player mode there are both co-operative and Online versions to try, too.

With over 200 levels to master (as well as an idditional 20 new ones exclusive to this PS3 release) plus 30 Stickers to collect and 51 Trophies (of which 13 are Hidden) to earn as well, ANGRY BIRDS STAR WARS proves a highly satisfying experience for gamers not wanting something too taxing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Angry Birds is a cultural phenomenon. Star Wars is a cultural phenomenon. Put them together and what do you get? Something that shouldn’t really work, but does. The ‘Angry Bird’ games are best played on handheld devices, but this has not stopped various guises of the game making it onto console and this includes ‘Angry Birds Star Wars’. What makes this stand out from your usual frustrated avialae? The basic game remains the same; you are still flinging birds at structures trying to usurp the pigs, but there are also a lot of differences.

For one, the various birds are imbued with new powers that encapsulate their Star Wars character. Luke is Red, a basic bird, but can now swipe a lightsaber mid-flight for added damage. There are also many other birds; Han Solo with a blaster, Ben Kenobi with a force push etc. These changes to the character models sound simple, but really alter how the puzzles can work. On planet based levels, you still have some puzzles that require mere throwing the birds at a wall, but also others that need you to think about the skills of the bird on offer. By having force push or a blaster, you can now access areas of the level that would have been impossible in ‘Angry Birds’.

You may have seen in that last paragraph mention of planet based, this is because the theme of ‘Star Wars’ also opens up the possibilities of space. There are entire levels set in space that have additional gravitational elements that skew the gameplay even further. In total you get hundreds of levels that will require a lot of thought if you plan to three star them all.

However, something is rotten in the house of Skywalker. There is no doubting that the core gameplay of ‘ABSW’ is fun, but it really a console title? Graphically, the game is clean, but very simple; you could almost have played this on the Super Nintendo. Also the gameplay itself feels a little clunky on a joypad. Dragging the sling back with a finger is the best option, but that is saved for the game’s native handheld devices. ‘ABSW’ is fun, but seems very lightweight for a disc release. As a cheaper download title it makes sense, but at £20+ it is not quite cheep enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 February 2015
Playing Angry Birds on a big screen brings new life to the game which we've been playing on iPads etc for a long time. The control method is of course different (we don't have a touch screen telly!) but once mastered it's great fun and challenging again with a multitude of levels to explore. The Star Wars theme has always been a favourite too. Big, loud (sound up) and lots of family fun rather than one being huddled over the tablet. Obviously more expensive but cheaper than most games on a PS3. I like it, my kids love it but I'll settle at 4* for now :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
The best game ever! I bought this for my four year old son for Christmas and he absolutely loves it, my husband and I play it with him and we sometimes even play it when our son has gone to bed! The game can be played as a single player or multiplayer, and there are lots of levels to complete
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
My 6 year old son asked for this for xmas. He's played it a lot since and loves it. great graphics, great playability. Can be 2 player too which is great as his older sister and brother can join in, either in battle mode or as a team. well recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
what to say more about this game ? ;-) really fun and this version Star Wars is really good ! But if the price would be lower, this will be great ; it's the only negaive point .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
ok nearly everyone knows about theses disgruntled birds, this is a great game to play with the family especially the kids. But also great as a solo game.

Good fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Kept my grandson occupied for hours as he is a Angrybirds fan.
Easy to operate and no problems installing.
Well worth buying also for the design of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)