Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available


Los Angeles, Fischer Dieskau & Schwarzkopf, Three Living Legends

Victoria de Los Angeles , Elisabeth Schwarzkopf , Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau , Gioachino Rossini , Hugo Wolf , et al. Audio CD
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
Price: £34.60 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Quick Discount Sales and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Thursday, 23 Oct.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

Product details

  • Composer: Gioachino Rossini, Hugo Wolf, Johannes Brahms, Joseph Haydn, Felix Mendelssohn, et al.
  • Audio CD (31 Oct 1994)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: EMI Eminence
  • ASIN: B000025XXW
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 141,643 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Piu non si trovano, K.549 - Victoria de los Angeles/Elisabeth Schwarzkopf/Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
2. Nachtviolen, D.752 - Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
3. Abschied (No.7 of Schwanengesang, D.957) - Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
4. Im Abendrot, D.799 - Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
5. La regata veneziana (No.9 from 'Serate musicali') - Victoria de los Angeles/Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
6. La pesca (No.10 from 'Serate musicali') - Victoria de los Angeles/Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
7. Duetto buffo di due gatti - Victoria de los Angeles/Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
8. Der Gang zum Liebchen, Op.48 No.1 - Victoria De Los Angeles
9. Vergebliches Standchen, Op.84 No.4 - Victoria De Los Angeles
10. Tanzlied, Op.78,No.1 - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf/Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
11. Er und sie, Op.78,No.2 - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf/Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
12. Kennst du das Land? - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
13. Sonne der Schlummerlosen - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
14. Das verlassene Magdlein - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
15. Die Zigeunerin - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
16. Ich wolt' meine Lieb', Op.63 No.1 - Victoria de los Angeles/Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
17. Gruss, Op.77 No.3 - Victoria de los Angeles/Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
18. Lied aus 'Ruy Blas', Op.77 No.3 - Victoria de los Angeles/Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
19. Abendlied - Victoria de los Angeles/Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
20. Wassenfahrt - Victoria de los Angeles/Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
See all 23 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
This is a wondrously beautiful and touching tribute and farewell to the great accompanist Gerald Moore, by three of the greatest singers of the 20th century. The accoustics alone of the Royal Albert Hall are incomparable, the performances all of the legendary mould, including the genial Gerald Moore himself, whose final words and final notes on the piano are an exceptional tribute in themselves to these 3 great artists and to the role that music has played in his life.

It is notable that Victoria de los Angeles was included in what is largely a German music evening. And the Rossini cat duet, like the other two Rossini duets on this recording, is hardly spoiled by the outbursts of laughter, on the contrary. Not a note is silenced by this suggestive behaviour which makes us, only listeners, curious to know what shenanigans these two great ladies are up to! We smile throughout it all.

I own this recording and am floored every time i put it on, by the magnificent voices themselves, the impeccable interpretations, unsurpassable accoustics and, of course, the pristine yet moving playing by the author of AM I TOO LOUD? There is nothing like this recording. It is pure bliss.

Marya Berry, music critic
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By david
Nachtviolen with which Dietrich Fischer Dieskau frequently closed or encored his Schubert recitals is, given his passing last year, a great joy to hear in this recital. In fact. all of these artists are no longer living, so the title is anachronistic. But this is a fine testament to their legendary vocal gifts. This recital was most strong in the individual segments. The Nachtviolen as mentioned above contained in the Schubert segment from Fischer Dieskau is superb, I really think his account of Im Abendrot is his best on record. However, though sadly omitted from this CD, in Abschied he gladly allows Gerald Moore to gallop away on the piano, after all it was the latter's grand retirement bash. Again, Fischer Dieskau is far more impressive here than in his numerous studio recordings for DG or EMI, though, as with the other singers, DFD can occasionally be caught straining to project himself in the inappropriately large and horribly dry acoustic of the RFH, the miracle of the great singer is their ability to overcome such problems so that every nuance and vocal inflection is projected clearly, which is the case here. His Orfeo series of live liederabend from the Salzburg Festival in the 1950s, seem to be crushed by the weight of the occasion and the solemn serious nature of the songs chosen, whereas here at the RFH the singing shines with joy and celebration - with moderate audience enthusiasm and support, never intrusive - adding to the atmosphere of this live recording. The words "legacy" and "testament" or "historic" have been used so indiscriminately by record companies plugging their products, even by reviewers and Amazon itself, so as to lose value, however, THIS document is the real thing: and an immense pleasure to listen throughout. Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine momento 12 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Although described as Three Living Legends this is in fact a selection from Gerald Moore's retirement concert .
As such audience participation is to be expected and it is a fine tribute to Moore . Enjoyable at its low price
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category