Angel Fire East: The Word and the Void Series: Book Three and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£1.89
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Tree Savers
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: A used book that is in good, clean condition. Your item will be picked, packed and posted FREE to you within the UK by Amazon, also eligible for super saver delivery
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Angel Fire East: The Word and the Void Series: Book Three Paperback – 5 Oct 2000


See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 5 Oct 2000
£4.46 £0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"


Product details

  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; New edition edition (5 Oct. 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1857239709
  • ISBN-13: 978-1857239706
  • Product Dimensions: 10.9 x 17.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,391,451 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Terry Brooks was a practising attorney for many years, but now writes full-time. His first novel, THE SWORD OF SHANNARA, remained on the New York Times bestseller list for 5 months, and this was followed by 13 consecutive bestselling novels.

Product Description

Amazon Review

In 1977, Terry Brooks debut The Sword of Shannara became a surprise bestseller, launching one of the most popular series in all fantasy fiction. Apart from the ongoing Shannara saga and his later "Magic Kingdoms" sequence, Terry Brooks has written the novelisation of Star Wars: Episode 1 The Phantom Menace, and the "Demon" contemporary fantasy trilogy. Following Running With the Demon and A Knight of the Word, Angel Fire East is the finale, and while the books do stand alone there is greater enjoyment to be had by reading trilogy complete.

It is 10 years after the events depicted in the previous volume, and again the world is pitched between the Word and the Void. Over the week leading to Christmas Day John Ross (who in his dreams lives the hellish future struggles to prevent them becoming real) and Nest Freemark (who can see the Feeders, supernatural creatures sustained by human emotions) are going to fight their most deadly supernatural battle. Beautifully written and at times very moving, this is a considerably darker sequence than the Shannara books, and will appeal to fans of Clive Barker's Imagica and Stephen King's Needful Things. With strong characterisation, a twisting plot and a real sense of dread and danger generating suspense and excitement, Angel Fire East can be taken as a gripping battle between good and evil, or even as a powerful Christian allegory in the classic tradition of C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien. --Gary S. Dalkin --This text refers to the Perfect Paperback edition.

Review

His fans should embrace it as eagerly as they have THE SWORD OF SHANNARA (PUBLISHERS WEEKLY)

By far the best of Terry Brook s' many wonderful novels . . . I couldn't put it down (John Saul)

In 1977, Terry Brooks debut The Sword of Shannara became a surprise bestseller, launching one of the most popular series in all fantasy fiction. Apart from the ongoing Shannara saga and his later "Magic Kingdoms" sequence, Terry Brooks has written the novelisation of Star Wars: Episode 1 The Phantom Menace, and the "Demon" contemporary fantasy trilogy. Following Running With the Demon and A Knight of the Word, Angel Fire East is the finale, and while the books do stand alone there is greater enjoyment to be had by reading trilogy complete. (It is 10 years after the events depicted in the previous volume, and again the world is pitched between the Word and the Void. Over the week leading to Christmas Day John Ross (who in his dreams lives the hellish future struggles to prevent them becoming)

Gary S. Dalkin, AMAZON.CO.UK REVIEW

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
Nest Freemark had just finished dressing for church when she heard the knock at the front door. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 28 Nov. 2000
Format: Paperback
Terry Brooks has once again demonstrated why he is one of the hottest authors of Fantasy & Science Fiction. In 'Running with the Demon' Terry Brooks brought his fans a hugely original story with an atmosphere few authors have touched. 'Angle Fire East' reunites you with characters you will love and fear as they face their destiny and decide mankind's. A stunning conclusion to an epic trilogy that is second to none. I dare you to not enjoy this book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 6 Jun. 2000
Format: Hardcover
After being thoroughly impressed by the first book and slightly disappointed by the follow up I had mixed feelings about picking up the third in the series. However I was thoroughly impressed, brooks manages to capture the awe and magic of the first novel while keeping the novel moving and interesting with a mixture of storylines, climaxing in a wonderful conclusion. I hope he writes a follow up series to this excellent trilogy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Mr. A. J. D. White VINE VOICE on 6 Dec. 1999
Format: Hardcover
Following in the same vein as the previous 2 books, this rips along at a page turning frenzy, dragging you throu the tortured soul of John Ross and the various people who associate with him, even thou he isn't the main character......
If you have read the previous two novels I ain't going to spoil this one for you, but I will tell you you won't be disappointed... if you haven't then go and start with Running with the Demon, and A Knight of the Word and enjoy the dark roller coaster of this trilogy...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By M. Hill on 6 Sept. 2006
Format: Paperback
The final saga of the trilogy Running with the Demon, and a Knight of the Word! The Word and the Void are still fighting, a gripping battle of good and evil. He portrays his characters with such penmanship, they seem to fly out of the pages! You can feel for each and every characters dilemma as Brooks pens his way, to yet another successful trilogy! Well worth Buying, if not Buying, Rent it, but grab a copy now!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
A superb climax to the trilogoy. As usual with Terry Brooks there are a few unsuspect sidetracks and an excelent climax. I have loved this Shannara prequel, whch was written well after the Shannara series started.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Nette on 9 Mar. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I love Terry Brooks series, I no longer get one book finished when I am onto another. What I like is the story lines in each book follow on from each other and the characters start to become part of your imaginary family. All Terry's books could make a fantastic film.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Terry Brooks is one of my favourite writers. I wish I had found his books years ago. The Word and the Void Series is excellent.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Fozzai on 6 April 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I've read most of TB's books and tried to stick to an order of sorts, i was a bit disappointed in this book the end, well it doesn’t end the book just stops and leaves a lot of "what if's" and unanswered questions.
I’ve now started the genesis series and the lead character has just arrived in Hopewell so maybe we’ll learn what happened……….
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback