Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
238
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2015
Speedy delivery. I've 'proved' the Stone but havent as yet cooked on it. A query - I appreciate the item is cast iron, but should it be a generally uneven cooking surface with a smoothish spot in the middle, and rather rough and jagged edges? See photo
review image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Bought to cook my bread on and it works really well, my tip is to buy a non-stick liner cut to shape so make your bread and then on the last proving place on the sheet when proved its easy to lift the sheet and place on the baking stone and to remove when cooked as the stone keeps hot for a long time.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
I've found it's great for making pizzas with a nice crispy base. So much better than a regular pizza stone.
I start by making a fresh pizza dough for the base. Then place the pan on the stove on a medium heat. Onto which I place the rolled out dough and add the toppings. Place it all into the oven at 240C for approximately 5-10 minutes.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Very fast delivery but if you're planning on making any product with a batter probably best to steer clear of this particular bakestone as it has a concave shape with a dip into the centre. It will not hold the shape of pancakes or drop scones which is disappointing. However items such as welsh cakes are fine. Choose carefully according to the type of baking you intend using the bakestone for.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
There is no mention of this bakestone being concave , the heat distribution appeared to be uneven .
Used once and then bought a Procook reversible griddle and now have brilliant Welshcakes .
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Fantastic quality product. I'll keep it. But it's concave, or convex if it's upside-down. It's not flat, basically, which is a massive problem for the majority of bakestone cookery.

As a pizza stone, or oven hotplate (chips, roast vegetables), it's great. Sometimes the dip even helps. But mostly it's very annoying.

I had to buy a reversible cast-iron griddle in the end, from the same company. So, good for them.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
was debating getting a pizza stone and decided on this thanks to reading the reviews: it now lives in my oven all the time so is always ready when i'm cooking - absolutely brilliant for roasting vegetables,. finishing off meat, warming up croissants - just perfect
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
ive been looking for one for ages as ive got an aga cooker but could never find the right size and this one fits great and even better that it was on offer at a great knock down price am well pleased and will use this seller again you all ways seem to find what you want on amazion it might take a bit of searching as they sell so much but its in there some where
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
I bought this primarily as a pizza stone. I've been making home made pizza for a number of years but never had a proper stone, so soggy crusts were the order of the day. Either that or par baking the dough which was less than ideal.

So the stone arrived promptly and well packaged, weighing in at around 3.5kg and feeling pretty indestructible. It has a distinct curve to it unlike other baking stones. It fitted nicely on the rack in my small 50cm oven, with the handle to one side. After heating for half an hour with the oven on full I slid my first pizza onto it (using a well dusted baking sheet as a makeshift peel) and within about 12 minutes the whole thing was bubbling away merrily. The base was noticeably crisp and the pizza cooked very evenly.

I've not tried it for anything else yet but am satisfied that as a pizza stone, it works really well and isn't likely to break anytime soon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
The top surface is concave, which was not mentioned in the description, and the base is not flat enough to make good contact with the heat plate. Although it works with induction hobs, the small and uneven base makes me wonder about efficiency and safety, and the heating is not that even. The edges of the handle are sharp.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 35 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.