Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars37
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£3.11+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 9 October 2014
This review is about the PRODUCT and not the actual film.

The casing is a slim-line Blu-Ray case.
The sleeve states that the film is Region A, but I have tested the disc on my player and it runs perfectly fine on a Region B machine.

Picture quality is an improvement over the DVD but still could be better. With the scenery on offer (jungles, rivers, vibrant colours) the video quality delivers well in this transfer.
Some night-time shots look a bit grainy, but overall it is a satisfactory release on Blu-Ray.

There are absolutely no extras whatsoever. When you put the disc into the machine, it rolls past the Mill Creek logo and straight into the film without even offering a menu.
The film is split into a very disappointing 4 chapter breaks, which is quite shocking if you want to navigate the disc!

Audio: Dolby Digital 2.0
Video: MPEG4-AVC
Chapters: 4
Rating: PG-13
Running time: 89mins 17secs
Ratio: 2.40:1 Anamorphic widescreen
Region: A,B
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 18 January 2015
Anaconda is a 1997 adventure horror and sees a film crew head up the Amazon to find a lost tribe. Instead they find a shipwrecked Paul Serone [Jon Voight]. This sinister seasoned adventurer soon has everyone at each others throats following an onboard accident after which he suggests a short cut to return to base. The mission soon changes to capturing a giant anaconda which seems to be ever present.
Plenty of twists and turns involving changes of loyalty, keep this going at a lively pace. Despite bring nearly 20 years old, the special effects are still very good [with a few that now look dated]. One by one the group are whittled down, but who will survive –if any. The real buzz with this film are the characters, some great overacting in the arms waving and screaming stakes, but Jon Voight excels as the ’creepy guy’, Eric Stoltz ]as Professor Steven Cale] the know it all annoying Professor, Jonathan Hyde [as Warren Westridge] is a stereotypical English fop –excellent, while Kari Wuhrer appears at her glamorous best [–and unusually keeps her clothes on] whilst the others are good but those four stand out.
The single disc comes with standard features [languages. audio select [but only English 5.1 or Dolby surround], subtitles [7 languages], scene selection, play and resume [which just puts the film into play]. This is exactly the same as the copy in the Anacondas 1-4 box set.
If you like Indiana Jones type movies mixed with horror, the this is a must see. It’s not really a blood and gore film, neither is it a slasher or edge of your seat, but it does have its moments, and if you hate snakes, it’ll be even scarier. This is a definite **** rating.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 12 November 2013
A National Geographic crew head down the Amazon in a boat to make a documentary on a long-lost tribe of natives.

On the way, they rescue a hunter from his sinking boat and take him on board. After the ship's captain is attacked by a poisonous insect and goes comatose, the hunter commandeers the boat.

taking the crew hostage, he makes them go along on his insane quest to capture a giant anaconda.....

First things first, the film is awful, its all over the shop and there has to be some of the most over the top acting I've ever seen in a movie. Saying that, I had a blast from beginning to end.

Any film that can dub Trejos voice and kill him off in literally the first two minutes, has to be seen. The rest of the film is owned by Voight and a really dodgy looking reptile. Considering this is four years after Jurassic Park, and they spent a hundred grand every second that beast was on screen, its pretty laughable.

The rest of the cast are there for filler. Lopez is good, Ice Cube is just a happier Doughboy, Wilson getting into Hollywood big time, and Jonathan Hyde as the token British snob, which is xenophobia if I've ever seen it.

But there is so much fun to be had, guessing who will die first, the amount of times Voights accent changes thought the film, and obviously how much better Lopezs' nose looks today.

But it is a bad film, and although I had lots of fun watching it, I cannot justify giving it a high rating.

But its the best movie ever made where Eric Stoltz is asleep for 80% of the running time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
arrived as promised and a bit earlier. the movie was ok. i saw this flick in cinemas back in the day. i bought it because its cheap and was a good movie during its time...i collect disc so...buying films from my time is a priority specially if its at this price range.

its a good buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
I know its a load of old rubbish nevertheless I thought it was great Snarling villian semi clad damsels in distree and pompous twit who gets his comeuppance whats not to like. Blueay transfer not wonderful but still improvement on dvd sound great . Once again well done Amazon. thanks
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
CLASSIC. I remember seeing this when I was quite young and it's remained one of my favourites. The throat scene sticks out as a cringy but great moment of modern movie. Sad to say all the sequels are not much cop but if you're a fan of big snakes eating humans.....crack on :-D
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
A documentary crew are travelling down the Amazon to hopefully film a mystical tribe. On the way they rescue a stranded man, unaware of the trouble that his being on board will bring. As they get deeper down river his ulterior motives surface, he's a snake trapper and has his heart set on capturing a giant Anaconda snake. A beast that can grow up to 40 feet long.

Ah, creaky creature features, how I love them. Days of old when budgets were minimal and the makers of such pictures just wanted to entertain and hopefully give the discerning viewers a jolt or two, and yes, with the odd giggle thrown in on purpose. Enter the modern day creature feature, where budgets have considerably improved along with the advent of special effects. Where does this leave Anaconda you ask? Is it a modern day homage to the "good old days," or is it a genuine attempt at making a horror film for the modern audience? How you answer that will probably determine how, or if, you enjoy the film.

The cast list suggests that the makers thought they were making a great movie, while some of the attempts at a serious performance also lend weight to that theory. John Voight on the other hand clearly knew what was needed and gives a sneering, leering ham sandwich performance befitting those creakers from days of yore. If only the likes of Jennifer Lopez, Eric Stoltz, Owen Wilson and Kari Wuhrer had followed suit, we may have been sitting here with a creature feature to rank alongside the marvellous Tremors, or at the least an equal to the funny Arachnophobia.

It's not a desperately bad film by any stretch of the imagination. It's fun playing the "guess which name actor is going to be snake food next" and "who will survive come the end" While iffy effects aren't really an issue, hey this is a film with gigantic animatronic snakes in it! And for sure some scenes are pure horror hokum delight, watch out for a John Voight wink scene, it's Z movie legend now. But it's neither homage or good horror fodder. Enjoyable enough as an appetiser to far better genre pieces, but ultimately it's very forgettable. 5/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
I should have known better than to make myself comfy and get ready for a little Channel 5 Film known as "Anaconda". Usually they're 9 o'clock slots give way to some entertaining films, but this was entertaining for all the wrong reasons. It's meant to be some sort of a thriller!

Housed around poor directing that gives little lead or flow into the story line, we know as much as one comment made at the start of the film;

"We're producing a documentary of the tribes in the Amazon Rainforest", say's 'Ice Cube'. Little thought is given to the script either, which dull and doesn't keep you hooked. I found it quite laughable that our usual stereotypical English actor is given the 'David Attenbrough' role, and keeps repeating English-originated dialect such as "What the bloo*y hell is going on?" and "What the devil do you think you're doing??".

But, just like any low budget movie, the highlight is in the effects department. Here, we see a lame Anaconda that isn't textured correctly, thus the real natural lighting doesn't match to that of it's own skin. It's not even blended well into the film, as scenes in which the silly thing wraps itself around helpless screaming bodies results in jagged edges were the human meets the CGI.

I need not mention how predictable most themes are running throughout the film; who looks a bit suspicious, who's the scaredy cat, who's actually going to survive this Anaconda with its odd growl at times (I haven't figured that one out yet... lack of research probably?...)

1 star would have been generous, but I felt for the fact it had me in stitches at times when Owen Wilson tried to act concerned, I gave it an extra star. This is no buy, but if it's a late show on TV, it has to be seen to be believed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
I.'ve only given one star as the DVD didn't work....however a refund was given.....I have ordered from here before with no problem
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
Said it has subtitles then tried to watch then nothing, now can't cancel. I'm deaf - no point watching a film without subtitles!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.