An Englishman Aboard: Discovering France in a Rowing Boat and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
An Englishman Aboard: Dis... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from the UK. Former Library books. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Your purchase also supports literacy charities.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

An Englishman Aboard: Discovering France in a Rowing Boat Hardcover – 6 Jun 2013


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£16.99
£10.53 £0.01
£16.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

An Englishman Aboard: Discovering France in a Rowing Boat + A Certain Je Ne Sais Quoi: The Ideal Guide to Sounding, Acting and Shrugging Like the French + Pardon My French: Unleash Your Inner Gaul
Price For All Three: £34.16

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Particular Books; 1st Edition edition (6 Jun. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1846144795
  • ISBN-13: 978-1846144790
  • Product Dimensions: 14.4 x 3.1 x 22.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 419,916 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

There are new year's resolutions and then there are those rash decisions that come after the last bottle has been drunk on the last night of the year. The journey down the Seine that Charles Timoney describes in his third book about France stemmed from the latter ... a charming story of life along the river ... that lingers in the mind (Sunday Times (Books of the Month))

A wonderful view of France as seen from the water, and through the eyes of a genuinely funny writer - I laughed out loud (Philip Marsden (author of The Levelling Sea))

About the Author

When Charles Timoney and his French wife were both made redundant in the same week, they decided to try living in France for a year or so. It proved much harder than expected. Charles's O level in French was little help when everyone around him consistently used a wide variety of impenetrable slang and persisted in the annoying habit of talking about things he had never heard of. But they stayed. Two decades and two thoroughly French children later, An Englishman Aboard is Charles's third book on his experience of France, the French people and the French language: Pardon My French: Unleash Your Inner Gaul, A Certain Je Ne Sais Quoi: The Ideal Guide to Sounding, Acting and Shrugging Like the French and now An Englishman Aboard.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By John G. Hudson on 10 Jun. 2013
Format: Hardcover
A welcome addition to Mr Timoney's oeuvre.
With his gentle and teasing wit and we get to know ever more
intimate details of how the French live in very
light-hearted way - in the tradition of
Benson, Wodehouse and of course, Jerome.
Hugely enjoyable.
(...and now Book of the Week BBC R4)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Tim New on 13 July 2013
Format: Hardcover
This entertainingly written and very readable book uses a journey down the River Seine, from source to sea, as a back-drop to Charles Timoney's insightful observations on the French language, culture and way of life.

As an Englishman who has lived for many years in Paris, the author has built up a huge amount of knowledge of the country he has chosen to live in, whilst retaining the perspective of an outsider - an Englishman! People who know France well may recognise many of his observations. Or else the reader may react by thinking "I never noticed that before, but now you come to mention it....." or "I'll have to remember that next time I go to France!".

The engaging writing conjures up a vivid picture of France and the French, which will whet the appetites of first-time or infrequent visitors to the country. The view it provides comes across as authentic rather than romantic - and some of the best observations are of the mundane - as such it paints a picture the reader can identify with. The narrative is punctuated with little asides which enrich the text and help to make the story flow.

Having just read and thoroughly enjoyed this, I'm now going to buy Charles Timoney's previous two books "Pardon My French" and "A Certain Je Ne Sais Quoi". From someone who struggles to read very much, that is a strong recommendation!

Tim New
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Mr. Henry on 1 July 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A highly entertaining voyage discovering France, some of her history, and of course a number of boats.

Filled with amusing tales as well as useful tips, all taken from an English perspective.

Most enjoyable!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A. Smedley on 3 Aug. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this book about an Englishman's trip down the River Seine in a home made rowing boat. His two previous books about being an Englishman living in France were certainly entertaining but I liked this one the best. It is a gently entertaining book, with some witty comments about the French and their attitude to the eccentric English, interspersed with charming descriptions of the history, culture, food and wine of France. I particularly recommend it if you are visiting France, but it is still a great holiday read even if you are staying at home.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 11 Nov. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
If you like France, read this book. Full of fascinating snippets and good humour, it tells of an Englishman challenged by his French friends to go exploring in his newly-built rowing boat. He decides to follow the river Seine from its source to the sea. He shares his adventures with us as he goes - the result is very funny. I love France and I loved this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By christopher knell on 7 Feb. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
First saw this book whilst browsing in a book shop in town. I did not purchase it as the book cost too much. I was pleasantly surprised to find it on amazon and was amazed with how cheap it was being sold for a hardback. The book arrived well packaged and in pristine condition. Very pleased with its speedy delivery. The book has been read cover to cover.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Moose Papoose VINE VOICE on 20 July 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I first heard this read on BBC Radio 4. It's a delightful book about a crazy Englishman in France, rowing up the Seine. Great observations on France and the French, without being patronising. A must for any Francophile.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By KLP on 14 Aug. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Bought as a present for my boyfriend who has enjoyed it so much, he now wants to row down through France himself. So not sure if that makes it a really great book or one that I'm going to be cursing in the future!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback