Start reading An Act of Evil on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
An Act of Evil
 
 

An Act of Evil [Kindle Edition]

Robert Richardson
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)


Product Description

Product Description

When a rare, misprinted edition of a sixteenth-century Bible is stolen from Vercaster Cathedral, Augustus Maltravers, a visiting playwright and the irreverent brother-in-law of Canon Cowan, sees the theft as nothing more than an amusing distraction.

But the matter turns more serious when his close friend, Diana Porter, is discovered missing from the Dean's garden party.

Diana is a talented and beautiful London actress – but also a woman who has recently been involved in controversial publicity.

As the police launch a nationwide hunt, her severed hand is found nailed to a front door.

The search for Diana escalates into a murder hunt.

Consumed with fears for Diana’s safety, Maltravers cannot stop thinking there could be a bizarre connection with the stolen Bible.

With his partner, Tess Davy, he starts asking his own questions, but finds no answers.

As the festival continues with the staging of ancient Mystery Plays, his anguish mounts until a chance remark leads him to a horrifying explanation for Diana’s disappearance.

And Maltravers is about to discover that a single ‘Act of Evil’ can have terrifying consequences.

‘An Act of Evil’ is a brilliantly tense murder mystery that is perfect for fans of PD James and Ruth Rendell.

Praise for Robert Richardson.

''With this, his first novel, Robert Richardson makes a most impressive debut as a writer of the classical English detective story… He knows how to create suspense and an atmosphere of incipient evil; he provides us with a genuine puzzle, his characters are believable people, and the motive of his murderer is psycho-logically credible.” P D James

“Skilful rerouting and the taste of real tears” The Sunday Times

“Eccentrics, suspects and witty writing abound” The Times

“Here is a book to be missed only at your own peril” Armchair Detective

“Elegantly written, beautifully characterised, suspenseful and oddly moving” Mystery Reader’s Journal

“Grand entertainment, deft handling and suave wit” Publishers Weekly

Robert Richardson is a journalist and editor who lives in England.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1801 KB
  • Print Length: 199 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press (14 Feb 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00IGJ8SOM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #370,877 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy crime 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed An Act of Evil – although the way the body appeared was very creepy – especially at the end (I won’t give away any spoilers). Richardson’s characterisation was good, and he sets the scene and builds an atmosphere very well. I will be looking out for more books by this author.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated murder mystery 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase
I wasn't 100% sure on this when I started reading - it seemed to take a little while to all come together, but when the pieces started falling into place I really got into it. It is a bit of a slow burner but an interesting village murder mystery with a surprising reveal at the end.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  1 review
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to find a new author 3 May 2014
By David OConnor - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
This is the second book in this series that I have read. I like the characters and setting and the plots are interesting. I plan to read the other books when I can get them in Kindle
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category