Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2005
Back in the good old eighties when ninja movies were flying off the shelves at your local rental store, i discovered this.
I must have been around six when i first saw this movie after my grandfather renting it one Sunday afternoon.I loved it.This film has some of the best fight scenes i have ever seen in a martial arts movie.The sequel: the confrontation was even better.Parts 3,4,and 5 are not worth the light of day.
I strongly advise you purchase the Region 1 U.S. version of this film and its sequel(Parts 2 and 3 are in a double pack)as the uk versions are cut.Once again the bbfc strike (They do it just to p**s people off im sure).The bad thing here is that there are no extras on the dvd.But what do you expect from such an old film.
Michael Dudikoff plays the lead role as Joe Armstrong,a quiet loner who has lost his memory of the past and joins the us Rangers.Army trucks are being hijacked by ninjas and when Joe intervines a battle ensues with the help of a fellow soldier Curtis Jackson.Cue loads of fighting,Swordplay and Guns galore.
This film is pure action.Dudikoff never got the credit he deserved for this film and went on to play small roles.If you like this film then i recommend Avenging force(if you can get hold of a copy)The delta Force,Bloodsport and No retreat no surrender.All are available on D.V.D.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2006
A grand ol movie from the dim dark era that was the 1980s. Many of the younger generation would fail to truly understand this movie that could only labelled as a "period classic" it is right there on the shelf next other "cool must haves" such as Rocky and Terminator.
American Ninja is a fine example of one the better Martial Arts flicks of 80s. Choreagraphed by the great Mike Stone, the fights are better and a little more realistic than most films (even by today's standards).
Sure the story is a little transparent and the acting is barely on the plus side of ordinary, but what more could we want from a Martial Arts movie of the mid-80s.
Froma Martial Arts perspective, the moves are there and there are enough fight scenes to highlight that there was a competant cast and crew involved. Unlike the earlier flicks by Richard Norton (can you find him in this film?) and even Chuck Norris, the lack of repetion gives a sense of the 'Martial Arts Mastery' of the characters.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 October 2013
There are so many, I'm surprised I haven't seen one! Michael "the dude" Dudikoff is a plank of wood who happens to be in the army. When an arms convoy he belongs to is attacked and almost robbed he steps in and thwarts the robbery - using the Ninja skills he was taught as a child - the top brass don't like him, the rest of the army don't like him, the general's daughter likes him, the ninjas really don't like him, they decide he has to die and the whole thing culminates in a massive army v Ninja battle. This is dumb fun but beware, the scientists have proved that you loose a few brain cells if you watch this sober! I've watched it loads.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
This is from the back of the dvd cover.
Stationed in the philippines,18 year old us army
private joe armstrong(michael dudikoff) is escorting a supply convoy when it is ambushed by rebels - one of whom he recognizes as a black ninja warrior. Instinctively,joe defends himself using the esoteric martial art of ninjitsu
- an ability that puts him under suspicion by his
commander and fellow soldiers. Alone in his fight against corruption,the boy finally discovers the secret of his mysterious past - a secret that pits him against the evil black star ninja in the ultimate martial arts battle.
This disc includes
original theatrical trailer
interactive menu screens
chapter selections
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2001
This old ninjitsu movie is definately one of the classics in its genre. The acting is not great but thats not something to look for in this kind of movie.
Any true martial arts fan loves this movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2007
Brilliant acting, great cinematography, a compelling story. If these are what you are after then please don't bother with this.

But please don't think I don't like it. I loved it- this is the cinemantic equivalent of a donner kebab- dirty, bad for you and scarily, just what you want after a couple (or perhaps more) pints with the lads. There's no point talking about ther plot- there isn't one. It's like Delta Force with ninjas and more dodgy 80's outfits. For 99% of the population this film will never even register on the radar but for the "chosen" 1%, it should already be in your basket. Go on, you know you want to...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Cheesier than a cheese sandwich, and more corn than a corn field. Knockabout ninja movie boom mania, which does exactly as it's title describes. Silly fun actioner which doesn't bother with complications like a script, or plot, and gets on with chop socky chop chop. Every cliche covered in ninjary goodness. The wooden leading man is utterly terrible as an actor, but who cares if you are looking for Oscar winners then you are sadly deluded. At least everyone can genuinely fight. Also has the coolest black guy stereotype fighter since Jim Kelly. Four ninja stars out of five.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2001
This video, the first of a mindblowing series, is excellent. Non-stop action and a novel script. Totally original and ground breaking. An example to all other film-makers of teh same genre.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
From the main title music to the end credits this slice of 80's action fest delivers the goods,and a tingle of nostalgia runs down your spine as the main protaginists go from one fight scene to another.If you love switch your brain off action films this is one of the best of the 80's and if i was a ninja i'd be this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2007
In line with so many other martial arts flicks of the period (think of anything with Jean Claude Van Damme), this film is really badly made. And we love it! It's the ideal film to watch with your mates- you'll be in stitches throughout! Highly recommended...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)