Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars49
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£3.79
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2004
This book has to be my favourite EVER! It is great for any girl who enjoys teenage reads! When I read it I was blown away! I really didnt expect it to be so good, but believe me, it was!

Sam is an ordinary teenage girl who loves Gwen Stefani. She has an older sister who she cant stand, not only because she is a perfect, popular cheerleader, but also because she is going out with the boy that is Sam's soulmate. When her sister grasses her up for something, Sam is forced to attend art classes with Susan Boone who she can't stand. Then she meets David, a boy who, like her, is into Gwen Stefani and Reel Big Fish. What she doesn't know is that he is the presidents son!!
PLEASE READ THIS AS YOU WILL LOVE IT. An interesting, but predictable book that even teaches you a bit about art!!
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2003
This is a excellent book, and i've only got one bad thing to say about it, there's no sequel.
Sam is an ordinary teen, who views Gwen Stefani as her role model. One day when ditching art class, Sam manages to save the life of the president! She attends dinner at the white house in her honour, and begins noticing the first son, David. She thinks she likes him, but there's only one problem. She's completely and totally in love with her sister's boyfriend Jack, or so she thinks.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Meg Cabot's other books, The princess diaries. Personally I think this book is about 100 times better than PD, but you be the judge.
If you don't read this book you'll fully be missing out. Everyone can relate to Sam, and you'll want to read this time and time again.
11 comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2002
When Sam Madison saves the life of the American president she doesn't realise what she has got herself in for. Being the Teen ambassador to the UN isn't all it's cracked up to be, deciding between childrens paintings, attending dinners and staying in the White House for three hours after school every Wednesday isn't fun! Especially when you are in love with your sisters boyfriend Jack and you have to go to Susan Boones every Tuesday for an art lesson. Then there is the small problem of everyone thinking that you are in love with the President's son David. Even Sam's sisters Lucy and Rebecca think theres a bit of "frisson" going on between Sam and David. This book is witty, heartbreaking and realistic! It is a great read and a great buy!!
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2004
This is a wicked book, v. funny, I just can't decide if it's better than the Princess Diaries. Sam, the heroine, is great. She has to live with two sisters, Lucy (a cheerleader, yuk) and Rebecca, a child genius. Sam is an aspiring artist but is soo not impressed by having to take art classes, so she skips out to hang in a record store - and just happens to save the president's life accidentally. This is an ace, hilarious book and the people like Catherine and David are nice. READ IT.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2004
This book is fab. It has everything a teenage book needs, comedy, romance, suspense. Me and my friends took it in turn to read it and we all loved it. The story is about Sam Madison an American teenager and ispiring artist. At first she isn't anything out of the ordinary until that is she saves the life of the president of the united states- this is where her life changes and the book takes an exciting twist. She visits the whitehouse and becomes accepted by the in-crowd (both of which were very unexpected.) She spends the book chasing her sisters boyfriend but when David comes into the picture who will she choose?! My favourite characters are Susan Boone and Teresa. Fantastic book- read it and find out for yourself!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Daisy (11) for [...]

All American girl is about a girl called Samantha Madison and she has bad luck on her side. She was born to 2 parents with red hair so her older sister Lucy gets the nice strawberry-blonde hair while she gets the copper wire coloured hair. She is also the middle child, the one stuck right in between Lucy and Rebecca (her weird younger sister, Sam suspects she's an alien but no-one else backs-up her theory) which means she doesn't get the new clothes or anything. But recently she's got a new wardrobe by dying all her clothes black because she's in mourning for the world (she really mustn't get out much these days!).

Sam is good at drawing so she has no idea why she got sent to art lessons which are run by this strange lady Susan Boone who looks like an elf queen or something along those lines. Well when she arrived she saw this boy who comments on her converse high-tops which she had decorated with daisies drawn on with a yellow highlighter and Tipp-ex. She thinks she likes him but the art lesson was a bit of a fail as she `drew what she saw but not what she knew' Sam was really confused! But to avoid humiliation next time she thought she would bunk off. So she did, and in the meantime saved a crazy guy from killing the President of America. Now Sam is an instant world famous celebrity and doesn't like it as much as she thought the, only exception is David the President's son...

Verdict: This book was AMAZING!!! Whoever doesn't read this will regret it forever! The book was clever and really captures the life of a normal teen. Definitely 10 out of 10. For girls 11-17 I would say. I recommend Meg Cabot's other books like the Princess Diaries, Teen Idol and Jinx, vey good! Don't forget to read all American Girl: ready or not, the sequel to this book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
Samantha Madisons parents force her to go to art lessons by Susan Boone after being sussed out by her continuosly annoying older sister-' ''they were just to good,cant let my sisters talent go to waste can I?!'' ' She complains in her defence. Anyway during an art lesson she is asked to draw a bowl of fruit and decides to make it her own by adding a fruit-big mistake! she is given a boring speech about art by Mrs.Boone,her sisters boyfreind(who she's secretly in love with - Shhh!),and a kinda cute boy named David who comented on her white-out dasies boots. In the end she decided not to go again next time.She s dropped off by her housekeeper Sam waits inside the foyer for two minutes then rushes through th rain to 'Capitol Cookies' then goes to 'Static', a shop with headphones that let you listen to the songs you might want to buy.Beside Sam ws a man who liked 'Uptown girl'.As it was rounding 5.30,sam went out as shed spent her last on a cookie.Weirdly, 'Mr uptown girl' was beside her then he pulled out a gun as the President walked into 'Capitol Cookies'with a bunch of agents around him.So coragously (though thats not what Sam called it!)she jumped onto the back of 'Mr.Uptown girl''s back causing him to shhot in a different direction and falling on top of her right arm with a CRUNCHing sound breaking it. Little did Samantha Madison know she had just saved the life of the President of the united states of America...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2004
I loved this book! Sam Madison saves the life of the President and is catapulted into a world of fame and glory. Anyone who loved 'The Princess Diaries' will love this. There were only two faults with this book. These were that it was predictable, and it was very, well... American. Full of cheerleaders, nerds and putting the word 'fully' in every sentence (eg. "I fully think you should read this"). Other than that, this was one brilliant book. I laughed out loud too many times to count.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you like The Princess Diaries, you will love this book, because it is essentially the same concept with a slightly different flavour. That's not to say that's a bad thing, Cabot is an engaging, humorous writer who has a knack for writing about fairly serious things in a light hearted, romantic and entertaining way. In this book, the heroine, Samantha Madison, is a geeky middle sister sandwiched between a popular cheer leader and a child prodigy. She carves out her space by dying all her clothes black, worshipping Gwen Stefani and drawing pictures of her friends with their celebrity crushes. Her parents find out that she is charging her enemies at school for the pictures, and as a 'learning', make her attend art classes with a famous, bohemian artist. While she is trying to avoid these classes Samantha accidentally saves the life of the President of the USA and her whole life is changed in an instant. This is a completely daft book, but it is very well written daftness and at least Samantha has a brain and a heart and doesn't conform to the usual romantic heroine type.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2004
I loved Meg Cabot's books since her princes diaries 1, I started catching up with Her books ever since then. This book is so nice,funny, and maybe amazing. When I was reading it, I had to think,"wow!" I think the best part for me is the part when Sam and david are getting back in boyfriend/girlfriend relation ship in chapter 25. YOU, should read it!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.