Alice Cooper: Golf Monster and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Alice Cooper: Golf Monster on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Alice Cooper: Golf Monster - My Twelve Steps to Becoming a Golf Addict [Hardcover]

Alice Cooper
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 5.58  
Hardcover --  
Audio Download, Abridged 9.40 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial

Book Description

1 Sep 2007
Alice Cooper is hotter than ever, still playing up to 100 gigs a year with his band, watching his audiences grow younger. But 300 days a year, he is out on the golf course. That's because Alice credits golf as helping him overcome a self-destructive spiral into alcoholism. It's also because Alice turned out to be almost as good a golfer as he is a rocker. This book blends a rocker's uproarious tales of excess with a no holds-barred account of how Cooper substituted alcohol addiction with the lesser evil of hitting a little white ball. Alice Cooper is rock'n'roll's original misanthrope, the ultimate shock-rock, heavy-metal bad boy. With golf, as in music, he was way ahead of the cultural curve, his passion for the game predating golf's popularity surge among younger folks, hip professional athletes, and indeed Alice's music contemporaries, including Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Iggy Pop and Roger Waters. The nearest Alice Cooper has come to writing his autobiography. He is still a major rock touring artist. This title includes the story of his musical career and of his rehabilitation. It is a fascinating self-help programme by an unlikely role model. It is the first and best of the rock'n'roll golfers.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Find 1000s of on-course essentials including clubs, balls and bags in our Golf store.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Hardcover: 280 pages
  • Publisher: Aurum Press Ltd (1 Sep 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1845132971
  • ISBN-13: 978-1845132972
  • Product Dimensions: 23 x 16 x 3.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 267,779 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

About the Author

Golf Monster is the perfect book for all those ageing hippies who grew up on Alice Cooper; for all those ageing hippies who now play golf too; for fans of rock autobiographies, recovery memoirs, and funny golf books.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best read for a long time! 10 Nov 2007
Format:Hardcover
From a very young age I have been drawn into his music and life. This book has everything from pre earwigs to alice in 2003. It also has 12 chapters on how and why alice took up golf and gave up drinking, this is "the twelve steps to be a golf addict". At the end theres about 5 pages of alice golf tips, also through out the book theres numerous pictures of live shows and photo shoots. One of the live show pics has alice performing nobody likes me live in 1969.

Recommended to anyone who is a alice fan.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golf ,God & Rock n Roll!! 30 Dec 2007
Format:Hardcover
Firstly, this is a book to be enjoyed by all. Cooper devotees, Rock fans or just the plain curious. It is if nothing else a stonking good read.
It marks a departure(thankfully)from current trends of listing countless tales of debauchery and shenanigan's. But it does however unashamedly go on a three hundred page name dropping spree. Jimi Hendrix,John Lennon,Groucho Marx & Raquel Welch are just some of the many that have featured heavily in the Coop's colourful career. Putting this along with the twelve vignettes of his thoughts on all things Golf, makes it a different if somewhat surreal Rock autobiography. Well you would expect nothing less from Alice Cooper!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, but slightly disappointing 3 Aug 2013
By JJ
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Loved reading this book. Big fan of Alice, both his music and the man. This is well written, humorous and full of rock (and golf) anecdotes. Bit of a name-dropper, but then he lived through the classic years of rock music and met some legends, so why not. I'm not a golf fan, but even enjoyed those parts of the book too.

Overall a good read, but for some reason I came away slightly disappointed by the experience. The worst thing is - I'm not sure why...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What is this? 1 Jan 2008
Format:Hardcover
Is this an opportunity for Cooper to talk about his golf, or is this an auto-biography? For someone with obvious intelligence, I cannot see why this work required not one, but two ghost writers. As an autobiography it is absolutely shallow, we learn nothing that hasn't been disclosed in previous works. Was the book authorised on the premise that it was to be peppered with golf material?
Cooper's on book on his own life should have been MUCH MUCH better than this.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it off to practice 26 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Good incite into his thoughts enjoyed his stories and how he has changed his life around - took me 2 holidays to finish though.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read 4 Oct 2013
By micklen
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have always been an Alice Cooper fan and I have found this book to be a very good representation of his life
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A real legend 12 Sep 2013
By Minimoo
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I've loved Alice Cooper since I was about 11, it was his music that started me onto what has become a great love of rock and heavy metal.

I'm not a golf fan at all however from reading previous reviews, I knew there would be enough about Alice's actual life to keep me entertained and I was right. Although some of the golf speak did go over my head, I still enjoyed his tales on the course.

Yes, there's much name dropping but to he honest, if I had met everyone Alice had I'd be name dropping as well - some of the folk he's been lucky to meet, and some, call good friends, are real legends themselves.

If you love golf and you love Alice then this book will be a dream come true. I would have loved more stories about his life on the road and behind the scenes - and less golf ;-) but it would be silly of me to expect that of course. An actual proper autobiography would be amazing but I doubt that will ever happen so this is the closest you can get.

I totally agree with what Alice says about music today. I could name a handful of "modern" bands (i.e from the 2000's, and that goes for even those of the heavy metal and rock genre and not just pop) that will have a career even a fraction as long as the likes of Alice.

"As a culture, we've gone from musical gourmet to fast food".
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars rock and roll golf 9 Sep 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Being an old rocker and guitar player who has got the golf bug , I loved this book for it's honesty and for the final tips !! I loved the fact that Alice has been saved for the benefit of his family by the greatest game ever played !!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read with just enough golf interest.
I Never read biographies (auto or otherwise), but a buddy at my local golf club recommended this book to me. Read more
Published 12 months ago by Dad Pad
5.0 out of 5 stars THE legend.
One of the most influential, legendary and intelligent characters in the business tells us how it's done. Read more
Published 13 months ago by Martin Gilloway
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic well done Alice
Well written ebook good story good side stories and quotes 12/10
This is recommended to golfers or music fans worldwide.
Published 14 months ago by Jeremy D Haberman
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Cooper
Very enjoyable read, as the anecdotes are all obviously true, and Alice comes across extremely well. it was much better than expected!
Published 14 months ago by guttley
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for husband
The ideal gift for a man whose two main interests are golf and heavy metal music. One of the best received gifts I have bought for him. Promptly delivered and well packaged
Published 14 months ago by jenny brewster
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read !
Its nice to think that rock stars can find peace away from their "sex drugs and rock n roll" images . A most entertaining read.
Published 14 months ago by suzy andrews
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good
After reading the sample I decided it was worth a try. It is entertaining and a very easy read. You don't have to like the music to enjoy the book. Read more
Published 15 months ago by Toffee lover
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Cooper ROCKS !!
Very entertaining, good read from start to finish a must for fans of Alice Cooper, Heavy Metal fans and Golfers alike
Published 15 months ago by MR M D SOUTHGATE
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback