Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars11
2.9 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2011
This occurs in a contemporary Britain where 1960's british comic characters(Both IPC and DC Thompson) are real people all living in the same reality.The story begins with a young comic-literate man recognising comic character, Grimly Feendish as a real person being arrested in the street.He shouts his name,and is taken away from the scene by a young woman who has connections with the world of comic characters herself.She leads him into a world of imprisoned heroes, government cover-ups and Top-secret military experiments gone wrong.
The cast of these old characters includes The Steel Claw,The Spider,Tim Kelly(Kellys Eye),Robot Archie,Charlie Peace and probably a hundred others.

The dialogue,detail and reverence for the material are all outstanding,Highlights include the terrifying Captain Hurricane,and the sinister Spider.Some of the more interesting time travelling and magical characters are here too like Adam Eterno and Cursitor Doom.

John Reppion's spikey art with occasional retro pastiches is really effective,as is Moore's clever plot which shows his knowledge and understanding of these old heroes.At the back of the book,we get 32 pages of vintage comics featuring some of the source characters from Albion.

This book stirred memories of the comics that were gone when I was reading my weekly 2000AD and Action,that were only available in junk shops and jumble-sales.Since getting this,I now have about twenty old Valiant,Lion and Vulcan annuals and the Steel Claw ,Spider,and Albion Origins reprints.

Thanks to the Moores for this super treat.
11 comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2007
While Alan Moore is listed as the author here it is, in fact, his daughter Leah who actually scripts this obscure and referential amalgam, along with her partner John Rennion. It is NOT "by Alan Moore". He merely plotted the outline. That's the sum total of his involvement.

Leah has obviously studied her father's style (ironic dialogue commenting upon the pictures in an unrandom way) and has a reasonable grasp of speech. Unfortunately, this is very much an early effort and, as a writer, she needs to be allowed to grow up in private. 'Albion' is too public a stage at present. Apart from some clunky plot manoeuvering there are also a few crude pieces of explanation/exposition and dialogue that need further polishing.

Great art, characters that are too unknown to really gain the audiences' sympathy and a novice author add up to a disappointing work that could have been so much better. There are glimmers of hope, however, that this will be the start of a greater career.
0Comment26 of 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2009
Albion is a good bit of nostalgic comic book fun with some characters reimagined and reinterpreted using a varied set of classic comic book styles. The plot isn't particularly inspiring, but the intent is clearly to reintroduce people to a range of 50s and 60s British comic book characters.

The real problem I see is the lack of market for this comic. The majority of the people who can remember these characters will be in their forties and fifties and less likely to buy comics. People like me, who read many of the comics of their parents, aunts and uncles will be in their thirties. I can't see the generation after me (the main comic buyers) to relate to the characters, especially Captain Hurricane, which I thought was getting on a bit even when I read them 25 years ago..

If you read Victor, Valiant, Lion, Buster, Whizzer and Chips, Beano and Dandy (comics aimed at girls are poorly represented in Albion, which is a great pity) you'll probably enjoy this. If your upbringing in comics has been predominantly more modern I don't see the point.
88 comments6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2007
Tragically, given all the fanfare surrounding it's original publication - not to mention that it was touted as supposedly the great Alan Moore's final ever comic (Lost Girls, when it's eventually published in the UK, may or may not prove to be that) - Albion turned out to be one tenth Alan Moore and and nine tenths Leigh Moore. You can't blame him for attempting to give his daughter's writing career a boost, but sadly on this evidence she's no great shakes as a writer. Albion is dull, hackneyed, often confusingly written, and instead of introducing old British comics characters to an eager American audience (which was it's other main selling point) proved more likely to put them off British comics for ever... not that you'd ever know any of this from reading Neil Gaiman's glowing introduction. Did he even read this rubbish before he wrote it?
22 comments13 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
cover artwork fooled me, interior atwork such a shame. writing was great, concept was great, but the artwork let me down to the point i found it very hard to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
What is all the moaning about? This is a really gripping re-imagining of British comics heroes and anti-heroes. I don't begrudge Leah and Alan Moore for re-working the characters of the 1950s and 60s. They are somewhat "before the time" of his likely audience, and people are always interested in what came "just before" their own youth, and also in culturally re-imagining it. I guess it helps if a reader is the right age to "just vaguely remember" the original characters. The story makes these characters into grimly fascinating anti-heroes, drawing out things that were latent but not stated in the originals. I found the story gripping and satisfying - and who cares if it "puts off" American readers from 1960s British comics? Were they every really likely to read them anyway?
11 comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Modern version of 1960's comic-book heroes. I much prefer the original plots, and the original artwork.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
The main attraction this book held for me was the idea of a revival of old British comic characters written by the masterful Moore himself. I was disappointed to find that Alan Moore had only plotted the book, (and to be honest, the plot itself is the comic's strongest point) while the writting was done by Leah Moore.

The story is solid and while the writing lags in places and can be a bit of a slog, it is promising and marks Leah Moore as a writer to watch. The same cannot be said for the art by Shane Oakley, which is uninteresting, ugly and does everything possible to distance the reader from the story.

Overall, I'd say that if you're a fan of the old British comics and feeling nostalgic, then this is for you. If you're a Moore completist, then I recommend it, but I cannot honestly say that you'll enjoy quite as much as those who have read the old comics that Albion pays homage to.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
This is a close as We have seen in a long time to Moore back on form.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
It is exceptionally rare that I am moved to review anything on amazon. However, the quality of this product is so very poor that I felt that I must, to save other people from the horror of ownership.

1) As others have said, this is not written by Alan Moore, the "plot" is by Alan Moore, but the dialogue is by his daughter and her husband - bam! there goes the selling point.

2) The art is ugly and outdated, seemingly still in thrall to 80s cyber punk when the world has thankfully moved on.

3) Leah Moore has learnt little from her father. Her dialogue is clunky and overly expositional, and the world created is one replete with unbelievable cockneys who purposefully evade three dimensional characterisation

4) Furthermore, don't be fooled by the talented Mr. Gaiman's introduction. He praises it far more than he should, either because of his friendship with those involved or because his nostalgia clouds his senses.

Don't buy this. Don't.
11 comment3 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.