Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars17
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Within a short time of starting this book I felt that the life of anyone who ever met this particular author could only have been enriched by the experience - if only because everything seems to have happened to this man.

Having joined the Royal Navy in 1934, he was torpedoed on HMS Nelson, joined HMS Prince of Wales before she was commissioned - and was still serving on that great ship when she was lost to Japanese air attack 3 days after Pearl Harbour, was rescued and returned to Singapore just in time for the Japanese invasion and became one of the very few to successfully escape from his Japanese captors by completing an epic sea voyage by small craft all the way to Ceylon - during which time he was shipwrecked again! After service on board HMS Bermuda - which included supporting the Allied landings in North Africa in addition to dreaded Arctic convoys, it was back to the far East for service on two Aircraft Carriers for duty as Flight Deck Officer and then Crash Officer. This man simply survived it all, including 2 Kamikaze attacks and a water spout I almost forgot to mention.

And this is his story. It is an incredible story and one which will not disappoint the reader.

NM
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
I had heard about this book, it is used as reference a lot for the Force Z saga, but I didn't realise that the author had been through so much. His escape from Singapore is an epic by itself and his honesty and candour are from the heart. I have a great respect for this man and I can recommend this book as a snapshot of a lost world and of a sailor who tasted war to the extreme.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
What did he do to deserve this - this guy had a Guardian Angel equipped with a full itinerary of triumphs and tragedies for Mr Brooke and bloody hell ...he got the guided tour along with all the extras. Was he always in the wrong place at the right time or in the right place at the wrong time maybe you should read this superbly written book and decide for yourself I thought Edward Baggelly my old Ex Royal Navy workmate had seen some action he was in the Hardy at Narvick then The Atlantic The Maltese Convoys in The Mediterranean and finally with The British Pacific Fleet of Armoured Deck SuperCarriers off Japan but Geoffrey Brookes gives him a good run for his money in every Ocean of the World.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
You have asked me to review Kindle books before and I have told you I am VERY dissatisfied by nearly all kindle books so badly transcribed on to Kindle from the original hard book. Spelling mistakes abound. Sentences left out. All of which spoils the reading of otherwise excellent books. You have never responded to my earlier complaints. Please do so now; otherwise don't bother to ask me for my rating of any further books. By the way, I thought Geoffrey Brooke's book one of the best sea stories I have ever read - except for the kindle printing!

Andrew Cuthbert..
e-mail: cuthbertandrew6@gmail.com
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 October 2015
This is the best, meaning most revealing, book about naval wafare I have ever read. Further, it is the most amazing personal story I have ever read. Brooke went through the entire war in everything from destroyers to battleships to aircraft carriers, witnessed the sinking of HMS Hood and HMS repulse, survived the sinking of HMS Prince of Wales, met Winston Churchill, escaped from Singapore and embarked on a nautical marathon, had kamikazes hit his flight deck, personally shot down an (British!) aircraft - it seems impossible for one man to have experienced so much.

Stop hesitating and buy it, you know it makes sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Bought this as Dad was a pow on Sumatra. Although Geoffrey Brooe
K was on HMS Prince of Wales, and Dad was on Repulse, it set things in context
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2010
I've read many WW2 autobiographies and this is one of the best by a Royal Navy officer. His experiences are astonishingly wide-ranging, encompassing service in destroyers, cruisers, battleships and aircraft carriers, Arctic and Malta convoys, gunnery, and flight deck operations under kamikaze attack. But it's his service on the Prince Of Wales that really engrosses: he was aboard during the Bismarck action, Churchill's transatlantic mission to meet Roosevelt, and at the battleship's sinking by Japanese aircraft. He then escaped from Singapore on a native sailing boat to serve to war's end. His personal encounters with the King, Churchill and Roosevelt are fascinating. The book is well-written, detailed and accurate thanks to notes taken at the time, but being published in the 1980s it lacks a little of the raw immediacy of memoirs published in the immediate postwar years. Some good photos and great cover art enhance the book, which is a must-have for serious naval enthusiasts.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
This contains the most real first hand account of some of the best known events of WW2 and so well written
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
As stated in the title, a truly remarkable story, well told with humbleness and pride in the bravery and commitment of his comrades. The astounding part is how Brooke was involved in so many major naval theatres of war at their critical and often tragic moments. Significantly understated is how Brooke managed to lead the charmed life of a survivor, albeit personally through very hard times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Enjoyable and fascinating book which illustrates the debt we owe to men like Lt Commader Brooke
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)