Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars136
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2006
I absolutely love this film - atlhough it is 25 years old and I have lost count of the number of times I have seen it. I know the jokes off by heart but still end up crying with laughter. I have just seen it come in at no 2 of channel 4's 50 greatest comedies and to be quite honest am quite relieved. Up till now I really thought I was alone in my appreciation of this classic. The humour is never ending with hidden jokes that creep up on you in the next scene. The disco scene is excellent, not to mention Leslie Neilson's "don't call me Shirley" lines, the nun's cheery song, the vietnam flashbacks, the hysterical passenger, the haphazard crew at the control tower. The jokes just continue to come in thick and fast and I will never tire of seeing it, I am slightly ashamed to say that some of the quotes will live with me forever!!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A film that spawned a whole new style of comedy. Some great. Some not so great. I hadn't seen this in years before getting the DVD [the one I'm reviewing is the special edition which has a menu and a commentary].

Surely you'd think it would have looked dated by comparison to all that came since?

You would. But don't call me shirley! Because it doesn't. This is still one of the funniest films ever made.

If you've never seen it, then see it. And if you've seen it before see it again! Worth a place in any dvd collection
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I think it has all been said about Airplane!, so I'll focus on this Blu-Ray release.

"Long Haul Edition" now intertwines deleted scenes and new interviews (or at least I believe they are new) with the film itself if you wish. All well and good, however the breaks to interviews are every minute or so which gets a little annoying. May have been better to have the interviews and deleted scenes separate. The deleted scenes (like most) were deleted for a reason. Still fun to see though.

Blu-Ray print is a reasonable quality improvement over the UK DVD release, and for the age of the film isn't bad. Not a digital remaster though it would seem.

The one criticism I have of the Blu-Ray release is the playback speed. For some reason, it plays back slightly slower than the DVD I have. Not a huge amount, but enough that I noticed. Confirmed when I played back the DVD on my laptop at the same time. In all fairness, I have seen this film dozens of times on DVD, so most buyers may not notice. Sounds like when the batteries were just starting to run out on your old Sony Walkman.

Definitely worth the £4 - £7 you seem to be able to buy it for at the moment though.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2006
Whoever wrote this film was a genius! There is a funny moment in almost every minute. I am laughing at the moment thinking about it. There are moments which really stand out for me! But I won't say them. The only downfall for me is that there are no special features, (except one which is the commentary). But that doesn't matter, as long as the film is there.
One word - HILARIOUS!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 March 2007
This brilliant comedy is the best film the Abrahams/Zucker team ever made. Largely a parody of the many Airport movies made in the 1970's it remains relentlessly funny, with the jokes occurring in a seemingly endless stream.

The casting is perfect: Lloyd Bridges, Robert Hays, Julie Haggerty and Leslie Neilsen were made for the roles they play here. Best of all is Peter Graves as Captain Oveur, in a role they might have trouble getting made these days! There are so many great moments in this film but the complete confusion in the cockpit remains a favourite of mine:

Victor Basta: Request vector, over.
Captain Oveur: What?
Tower voice: Flight 2-0-9'er cleared for vector 324.
Roger Murdock: We have clearance, Clarence.
Captain Oveur: Roger, Roger. What's our vector, Victor?

The DVD includes some fascinating extras, including interviews with the cast and director, which you can watch as you watch the movie as they are played in sequence (i.e. the movie cuts away and then restarts after the interview).

So its a great film, with great extras. What more could you ask for!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film should need no reintroduction, so this is more about the new extras on the 'Don't Call Me Shirley' edition. The audio commentary and trailer from the previous issue are retained, but because of the absence of any behind the scenes footage, rather than a new documentary there's a `long haul' option to view the film with cast and crew interviews. And it's a long haul indeed - barely 30 seconds, and sometimes less, seem to pass before you're taken to another interview, not always that relevant to what's going on onscreen. Indeed, on one occasion you're just taken to the directors clearing their throats. There are only three brief deleted scenes, but there's a fairly comprehensive number of surviving cast and crew, from the directors (who proffer such words of wisdom as "These days it's so easy to get a nun on a surfboard."), Leslie Nielson, Robert Hays, Peter Graves and various supporting players to the now grown-up little Joey (as in "Joey, have you ever been in a Turkish prison?") and the kid whose face appears on one memorable faked newspaper headline (the producer's grandson). Only Julie Haggerty seems conspicuous by her absence. The only annoyance is that it's not possible to access the interviews separately without watching the whole film. Among the highlights is a brief shot-by-shot comparison with Zero Hour!, the b-movie that inspired the film: not only is it every bit as inane as legend has it, including laughable dialogue reprised verbatim in Airplane!, but the directors even went to enormous efforts to match parts of it shot-for-shot!

There is one tantalizing unanswered question - given John Travolta's enthusiasm for the film when it was in production, what did he make of Robert Stack beating up the Scientologists, Moonies and other cults soliciting donations in possibly the film's most memorable moment?
33 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
If you love Leslie Nielsen then you have to own this DVD of the film that kick started his comedy career. Airplane is the film that set the trend of Comedy films like the Naked Gun Series and Scary Movie series and others too many to mention.

This DVD presents the Film well my only problem is the extras I would have liked a full doc video about the film with interviews with cast and crew you do get that in a in-film feature but it is a pain to watch the film and what seems like every 30secs a doc video it would have been better to have presented those interviews in a full video doc but its still a great buy for comedy lovers.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2001
Airplane - an all time classic. David Zucker stars in this fantastically funny movie topped off with a performance from Leslie Nielson. So you must go buy this movie? Why, what is it, I hear you ask? Well, it's a story with actors, but that's not important right now!!!!!! The great thing about this movie is that even after 20+ times of viewing there is still 'hidden' funny bits you have to watch out for. The jokes are hilarious and David Zucker, with his brother Jerry have produced many films such as Naked Gun and Top Secret - to give you an idea of the humour involved.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
This movie is great for a evening laugh, it does not take itself seriously which works well for this film as there is a gag at about every 30 seconds. It is one of the funniest films i have seen in a while while some of the humour is predictable most of it isn't and works very well and there are some great one liners which will stick with you. There is so much humour in the film it is likely you will have to watch it several times before you find all of the gags; some of them are very subtle and take stabs out of other movies of the time. It is a fairly old film now but there have not been many other films since this one that can do this sort of silly humour and not make you cringe it is at the very least worth renting for one evening.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 April 2007
Airplane is a brilliantly funny film that sends up everything from disaster movies to Saturday Night Fever. The film basically sees an airliner suffer from a serious bout of food poisoning that incapacitates the pilots and the only one who can land the plane is a war veteran with a fear of flying. One of the funniest things about the film is that a lot of the lines are taken wholesale from a serious disaster movie but with the situation changed or a couple of lines tacked on. Another thing I like about the film is that much of the best comedy is in the background and is something you have to look for. Airplane is definitely, in my view, one of the best comedies ever made.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)