Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars277
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 June 2015
I bought this to replace an expired unit the Ei141 which is the older model this is identical but it has the ability to be controlled via the optional remote unit. All these alarms are interchangeable with the "easy fit base". The stock was recent just over 10 years on the expiry date.

Included in the pack are:
The alarm this is covered with a blue "dust cover"
A Duracell 9 volt battery is pre-fitted
2 plasterboard plugs, and 2 screws are supplied
Instructions

If you are replacing an older unit you can simply swap out the main unit leaving the base in place. I kept the base as a spare just in case it is needed later on.

Instructions are comprehensive and give detailed information on fitting, location for alarms and the detection quality for various types of "fire response" Clear and simple diagrams are shown, wiring is straight forward into the base unit a few notes though a min of 30 cm between the alarm and any obstructions this includes walls or handling lights. For landlords and multi storey buildings clear schematics show a recommended alarm layout indicating the positions, type of alarms and areas where alarms should not be fitted.

Ionisation alarms tend to response better to "fast flaming fires", but they also do quite well with slow starting fires (optical ones are better here) They resist steam and condensation false alarms better than optical units but a more prone to going of with "cooking fumes". Either way I prefer a mix of these alarms one for each floor is considered minimum protection. This alarm will trigger another fitted alarm by the same maker this is a great feature as multiple alarms will sound wherever you are it will be heard. A green light comes on when powered up, a red LED flashes briefly to let you know it's working fine, if the battery is low you get a single "short" beep telling you it's time to replace it, based on the older model I had you should get about 5 years out of one.

Any downsides? Not many the "easy fit" could perhaps be a bit smoother I would advise a larger flat head screwdriver push this in and push it down slightly to help remove the alarm it works but it can take a bit of "jiggling about". Plastics are acceptable they could be a little more robust but they are up to the job. If you are doing any building work or creating lots of dust I would advise removing the alarm to prevent particles contaminating the sensor, once in a while give it a blast with a blower brush to remove accumulated dust. The 9 volt battery is capable of powering the alarm for up to 2 years without mains, it's really there as a back up if the power goes off you are still protected. In the instructions it is clearly stated to use only Duracell batteries rechargeable ones are not really suitable they won't hold the charge long enough so don't skimp here.

A good alarm, not perfect but it's detection rate can't be faulted and the manufacturer has put some effort into ensuring the user knows exactly how to position the alarm and the advantages of specific types of alarms. Recommended
review image review image review image review image
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
These are a good product, I have had two for about ten years, they are linked together so when one goes into alarm mode, they both do. The battery change is simple enough once you get the hang of it. They last about a year. They have a sticker indicating the replacement date when you are expected to discard them. One of mine went faulty a few months before the date. I decided to purchase two of the same model to replace them. They have a 5 year guarentee and the manufacturer will aparently replace any one that developes a fault within five years of purchase. You do not need a reciept, they can tell when they were manufactured.
0Comment28 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
I tried a couple of other makes but they needed the wiring to be fitted inside the ceiling. For this model you screw the housing to the ceiling, fit the wiring into connector blocks and slide the unit on, very simple and easy to fit.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
Needed a replacement as the old one was out of date. Came delivered complete with back up batteries and was easy to fit without specialist knowledge.
0Comment18 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
Good news for electricians in terms of call-out fees to check wiring. In a typical house you might have five or six of these interconnected. When one of them starts to bleep at odd intervals its very hard to work out which was the culprit after the event. You can use elimination to try and work out which is the culprit but consider how tricky this will be if the alarming unit is only beeping once every twenty minutes or so. So you need to go through an elimination process to try and narrow down the alarm with a problem. Removing the units will require climbing a ladder or similar and although the removal instructions are shown on the plastic body there is a bit of a knack to it - they can be quite stiff. Once you have done it a few times its fine but if you've never done one before and you are climbing a ladder in the dead of night it's not fun. Using the recommended batteries we have had a problem about once a year for the past 3 years. Last time we called out the electricians because this is what you are expected to do to rule out a wiring problem. This will also result in all the batteries being replaced - just to be on the safe side. The batteries should last much more than a year. I really think if building regulations require people to use these types of wired alarms, they ought to be at least as reliable as the standalone "cheap and cheerful" units you can buy in any hardware store, which are not approved for new builds. Whilst many persons seem very happy with their units all I can say is after having several units replaced (admittedly under guarantee), and after having had electrician call outs to check the wiring we still seem to have problems at roughly an annual interval. I couldn't recommend these to anyone not willing to spend a lot of time up ladders carrying out trial and error diagnostics.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
Generally I think it's well made and a good buy, my main complaint so far is that the 4 core cable required to fit it isn't generally available in your domestic DIY stores, you have to visit more specialist ones. The way the device goes together is nice, the connectors are solid. I would comment the plastic is a touch brittle where it clips the two halves together.

This unit was intended to add an alarm to my house, in practice it replaced one, a clip broke off when changing the battery. Once this has happened they don't sit correctly in the removable mount. This is a cheap and nasty bit of design that could have been done much better, it lets the whole unit down. To be fair, if care is taken it is perfectly fit for purpose though and I'd probably opt for one of these rather than try an unknown type. Just be gentle... it's delicate.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
Had a fault with one mains alarm (chirping constantly) so bought two of these to replace both existing alarms - I read that you can't mix and match different makes and models of interlinked alarm. The alarms were really easy to fit (I'm no electrician), the instructions were clear and the terminals are all clearly colour coded. Even came with Duracell 9V batteries.

Highly recommended if the mains wiring is already in place - stay safe and save a few pounds with a reasonably priced alarm you can fit yourself.
11 comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
Item arrived promptly next day,securely packaged in good condition, easy to fit works well.
Highly recommended.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I had three of these smoke alarms fitted about ten years ago and they have been a reassuring presence, alerting to a forgotten candle that was starting to fill a room with smoke, as well as the usual burnt toast scenario. One of the three recently developed a fault about eight months before the replacement date (it started to beep indicating it needed a new battery even though it had been replaced) but I was more than happy to replace with the same product.

The alarms are mains powered with a 9 volt battery back-up. The only maintenance mine have needed is an occasional dust and the usual replacement battery - an intermittent beep alerts when it is time to do the latter. You need an electrician to fit in the first place but after that you can do everything yourself, including replacing the alarm at the end of its life - the top section slides away from the mains wired base and a replacement is easily placed in position. Each unit is stickered to inform when the top section of the alarm should be replaced - in just under eleven years again in my case. It is possible to just buy the replacement top section but I found the whole unit was the more cost effective option at the time of my purchase.

The alarms have never sounded falsely and, other than the usual habit of needing a replacement battery in the middle of the night that all alarms seem to suffer, I really couldn't be happier.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 November 2014
Purchased this hard-wired smoke alarm as a like-for-like replacement for one that was near the end of its life and showing the signs of old age. It comes as a whole unit - mounting plate, detector, back-up battery. It comes with instructions with how to install the whole set-up and to replace the detector. It is straight forward to replace and to test it to check it works - I personally did not replace this myself as it turns out I am not tall enough to reach my ceiling unless I fancied an accident with a step-ladder but I did witness my friend set it up for me and it took him about two minutes once he had read and understood the instructions. However, if you are in doubt about setting this yourself, do get a electrician in to look at it for you - it is never too expensive to ensure your home is protected in the event of a fire. Would I have purchased this particular make and model if I did not already have the fixings in place for this? Difficult to say, but a smoke alarm is a must for your home at the end of the day. It's good to have some peace of mind for the next 10 or so years (and some quiet from the new battery!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 25 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Business Security for About $2/day. 24/7 Fast Response Monitoring.
  -  
Plus a free white paper on options for dust explosions.