Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEon 20 December 2005
It's not a bird, or a plane, and it seems like a long time coming, as if the locomotive broke down, but finally it is here! The first installment of the seasons of Superman, starring George Reeves.
Yes, purists will say that Reeves was not the first Superman on screen or on television, but the truth is that for a generation of people, Reeves was the image and embodiment of Superman. Whenever others take the screen (the late, great Christopher Reeve - no relation despite the similarity in name) or television (Dean Cain and Tom Welling have done a good job with their modified forms of the Superman legend), it is invariably with George Reeves that the new Supermen are being compared.
Superman comics set the stage, and people filled in the colour as they will from these black-and-white broadcasts. There is something classic about the way they look, including the old placing scenes around the Daily Planet building and Los Angeles rather than New York City being the 'Metropolis' of old.
There are twenty-six episodes, the entirety of the first season, with uncut episodes and extras that include the opening and closing credits in full and other fun things to have. Phyllis Coates play Lois Lane in this series - she is much more tough and no nonsense than will be her replacement for the subsequent shows in the series, Noel Neill. However, the other regulars are already here: Jack Larson as Jimmy Olsen and John Hamilton as 'Great Caesar's Ghost!' and 'Don't call me chief!' Perry White.
I was born a dozen years after this series started, and half a dozen years after the death of George Reeves, but I still remember watching this series religiously as a child growing up in the sixties and seventies. It became an international export, and did a good service for the image of what America hoped to be, with Superman fighting for the underdog and unambiguously always for the right thing - this was an era of truth, justice, and an American way that had a simple integrity about it.
This set also includes the feature film, 'Superman and the Mole Men', an underground adventure starring George Reeves released the season before the television series started. This is an interesting film, intended (as many Superman stories are) to be a film with a message. The DVD set includes extras such as commercials, vignettes and other commentary.
This is a great series, and I am very pleased to have my own copy on DVD. Onward to season two!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2006
I bought this boxset on the day it came out and i'm glad i did. i have been waiting so long for this come out on DVD. i watched the episodes that BBC1 showed. i don't think they showed the first season. the last time i saw this series was 16 years ago when as i say when BBC 1 repeated some episodes. i have watched 12 episodes of the first season so far and they are brilliant. considering this series was made in the 50's they packed so much story into the episodes that they are literally mini movies. yes the effects are dated but for the time they were cutting edge and you can tell whenever you see george reeves flying you can tell he's on a table and that the background of the city he's flying over is put in afterwards. i'm so glad this series is being released on DVD. looking forward to buying the second season when it comes out in March. also the extras are great as well on this boxset and the commentaries are good on the four key episodes of the series.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 December 2011
This entertaining 1950's TV series features the adventures of the legendary comic-strip Kryptonite dodger, with the charismatic and likeable George Reeves starring in the dual role of the man of steel and his meek alter-ego - the bespectacled Daily Planet reporter Clark Kent. Also well cast is John Hamilton as Kent's gruff boss Perry White, while the lovely Phyllis Coates proves to be an impressively feisty Lois Lane. Jack Larson is also good as the young, wide-eyed fellow reporter Jimmy Olsen.

Our all-action superhero is mostly concerned with crimefighting in this complete first season of twenty-six, 25 minute black and white episodes. Like his fellow American icon 'The Lone Ranger', Superman is an upholder of law, order and fairplay, in this wholesome 50's series, which has a lovely warmth and humour. The special effects may be of their time, but this is still enjoyable family-friendly entertainment.
The final two episodes make up the extended story 'The Unknown People' in which Superman attempts to save the peaceful, subterranian 'Mole People' from a mob out for revenge.
Picture and sound quality on this region 2 release is mostly good.

*SPECIAL FEATURES:
*Retrospective Documentary - Adventures Of Superman: From Inkwell To Backlot.
*Commentaries on 4 episodes.
*PONY EXPRESS DAYS: George Reeves plays Bill Cody in a 1940 Warner Bros Technicolor historical short.

*Languages: English, Castillian, Spanish.
*Subtitles: English, Castillian, Spanish, Dutch, Hungarian, Swedish.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2009
One of the best entertainment shows I've ever seen.The late George Reeves plays the Man of Steel superbly,even more so,as Clark Kent! This really is a very good show.The stories are well written,and great credit must go to the actors,and actresses who performed in it.For it's time,the special effects are well done,and of course,I always loved George's smile,and charm,as he beat the bad guys! Definitely one to remember,with a warm heart!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
I bought this and I thought it would sit on the shelf forever. But i was wrong. It really got me hooked from the first episode. Superman is really more about the adventures of Clark Ken and Lois Lane, two reporters. Most of the stories are actually pretty straightforward gangster stories in the film noir style and you can clearly see in some episodes that they had to try hard to find a convincing way to add Superman to the story. The actors are very good, especially Phyllis Coates as the ultimate Lois Lane (sorry, Terri Hatcher). Reeves is a perfect Clark Kent although the padding of his outfits sometimes make you smile. But all in all, technically this series is very well made with a lot of talent from b movies on board. I also liked the liberal message behind "Truth, justice (=for all) and the American Way (=tolerance)" I watched this with my 3 year old daughter who asked me a lot of questions and we soon came to a point where I could explain some important values to her with Superman as an example.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2006
I bought this for my boyfriend on his birthday and was forced to sit down and watch them with him. I have to say that i am glad i did as they are great fun. I always thought Christopher Reeve was the first, so i was surprised at this earlier incarnation.

Sure, they obviously had no money and special effects shots are repeated but it does have a nostalgic charm about it.

George Reeves, if a little older than expected, is excelent in his duel role of Superman/Clark Kent. He is extremely likeable with a dreamy masculine voice.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
All Seasons found to be Region free, and NOT what is printed on the box nor what sellers stated (Region 1 NTSC).

Have now collected all Seasons 1 thru 6 adding Seasons 1 & 2 are in Black & White whereas Seasons 3 thru 6 are in beautiful colour.

Highly recommend getting all the Seasons 1 thru 6 and spend hours of enjoyment.
No swearing, gore and extreme violence and could be watched by a 6 year old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Ordered and received in 3 days even this close to Xmas. Although 2nd hand the box and discs are in mint condition. These are movies are the 1st Superman films made and are in Black & white and are 26 episodes covering 13 hours of viewing. They re films I saw at the Saturday morning picture shows in Newcastle in the 50s.
Dated but great memories !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
I was a bit anxious that this would be hicksville but I shouldnt have worried. I love a good yarn and each episode has its feet firmly in sound storytelling - love it
Good soundtrack, good quality film and good sets more like a movie than a TV programme
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
good packaging brings back memories of the past
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)