Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Listen in Prime

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2009
My first review here, but I feel obliged to do it after reading the two stars review.

The book is absolutely fantastic. I love this kind of books and this is really "hors-du-common". The explainations are concise and straighforward and it covers an amazing array of topics in a short space (I cannot think about a single unnecessary phrase). In each section, Chris Scott refers to brands and products -yes, real names- in the most objective way: "who needs this?", "they tend to break", "good but overpriced" and the like. So honest that he can even look "politically incorrect". And there is also some acid humour and found it never boring: you are not interested in tyres? Just skip it and go for camping equipment.

I planned a long motorbike trip but in the end was a overland journey by car, and the book was still VERY helpful since many topics are actually in common (tips about regions, carnet de passage, etc). If I wanted to be extremely picky, I could only blame the tiny b/w pictures, but there are so many all around supporting the sections that it is the only way to keep the book small and cheap.

The two stars reviewer should have bought something titled "European Motorcycling", and even for Europe, I find Adventure Motorcycling useful (luggage, winter, etc). At least for me, it has been.

You can re-read and still find it interesting, you can take a couple of minutes to cover just a matter, you can learn from others' experiences (they summarize experiences in regions with data like what bike, how much, how long, biggest mistake, etc), enjoy the excerpts from some motorbike travel books included or just dream about a desired adventure motorcycle travel reading any of the sections.

A MUST, 5 well merited stars. Full stop.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2002
I've had this book for over 12 months and I still re-read it. Anyone planning to travel somewhere different on a motorbike will find this book really useful. Full of ideas, tips, lists, advice, it's all there. Even if you've never had a go at motorcycle touring before - this book will help. The information about touring in different continents/countries is excellent.
A practical book that sits on the bookshelf next to "Jupiter's Travels" - Buy it now!
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2001
Chris has been there, seen it and done it. Well most things on a bike that are legal, and I guess a few that are not! This book gives detailed information for both novice and expert alike. From tyres to tools, from bikes to routes. If you really want to live the dream, then this is the first place to start, and if you are only dreaming.......dream on. Chris has not only put his wealth of knowledge, his love of travel and all other things biking into this book, but those of many others. It's full of stories and advice from people that really have been round the world on two wheels. A bible for any biking traveller....keep it close to hand, you never know when you might need its help.
11 comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
I purchased this book on a whim in 2005, having recently acquired a bike license and been enthused by watching Mondo Enduro. It inspired a wanderlust that only lack of time and money could suppress. Today I completed a second reading in anticipation of a comparatively mundane summer tour of the Baltic states, and again, was enthralled.
Chris Scott and the various contributors write in an engaging, no-nonsense style, covering aspects such as bike choice, bureaucracy, camping, practical skills such as puncture repair (practice at home!) and routes in S. America, Africa and Asia.
A strong point of the book is explaining what might go wrong and the precautions to take in way that does not intimidate the reader into staying at home.
Tales and wise words from both accomplished and less experienced adventurers are littered throughout, including an extended section at the end. These double up as useful leads to other relevant books and films.

Even if you don't fancy a bike trip yourself, you can still enjoy reading about how you might go about it and the stunning places you might visit!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2007
The book has everything you need to know about doing some off-piste motorcycling. It makes some amazing trips sound vaguely feasible. Even for more mundane trips around the UK and Europe it has loads of good stuff about selection of gear and bike. It has loads of good biking stories too.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2003
I have never made such a travel like the ones in this book, the writer gives plenty of usefull tips that will not be forgotten, very entertaining reading, however, there are plenty of references to other books and you will only get the big picture after reading them all. I think that it falls short on the tech stuff, i would like to get a book only about the motorcycles and tips like adjusting the carb for high altitude and repairs, this book only gives a few pages to the subject of picking a bike and i think it deserves a lot more. It absolutely lives up to the title and made me dream, what else can you ask?
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2005
Well structured, easy to follow and I like the new chapter on medical advice, very thorough and easy to understand for the layman. Some great tips I'd not thought of!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
If you're planning to travel into the wilderness by motorcycle this book is a must read. Full of good tips and recommendations.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
holiday or further? Motorcyclists, dont get out of your arm chair until you have read this book. The book is packed with excellent and practical advice.Adventure Motorcycling Handbook (Trailblazer)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
This is a must have book if you have the adventure biking bug. There is so much more info in this book than other large picture laden coffee table hardbacks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)