Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars12
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£25.91
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2010
I have read a number of books on Google AdWords and pay-per-click advertising. Most were written in a 'get rich quick' kind of style that did not instill much confidence.

This book is very different. It is comprehensive, thorough and serious. Very, very serious. Unlike some of the 'get rich quick' babblers would have you believe, pay-per-click advertising is a rather technical matter, more about maths than about romantic success stories. So any book that treats the topic seriously, in a detailed and comprehensive manner, is likely to be - well - dull. However, those how are truly interested in understanding the mechanics behind successful and sustainable PPC campaigns will find this an exciting read; Not despite, but because of its comprehensiveness. Fortunately, the book is also very well organized in 17 more or less self-contained chapters, so experienced advertisers will have not much trouble finding the goodies for them.

Giddes has done a commendable job of presenting all the relevant information as concise as is possible without losing clarity. That adds up to a rather hefty book. Therefore, those who are merely looking for an introduction in Google AdWords might feel a bit intimated and discouraged by it, and might do better with another decent but slightly more 'sparkling' book on the topic, such as Ultimate Guide to Google Ad Words: How To Access 100 Million People in 10 Minutes

If you hope that Google AdWords is about "getting rich quick" rather than about doing a lot of meticulous, inventive and intelligent work, you are highly recommended to go through the 500 pages of this book. Get rich? Perhaps, if you do it right and have a relevant business to back up your effort. Quick? Well... not so much. This book is all the better for making no bones about that, but instead to jump right in with sound and clear advice and by explaining also the more abstract concepts behind the system. It doesn't just tell you what works, but it makes you understand why. Therefore, even experienced AdWords-advertisers will feel they gain new insights and expertise thanks to this book. Recommended!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
I thoroughly recommend this book. I've been using Adwords for over 4 years now so I consider myself quite knowledgeable. However whilst reading the book I learned many new things and it also clarified things I thought I new. The book is very clear and well written and I particularly appreciated the chapter on Quality Score which debunks many of the myths that abound on the internet.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
This is a good book, but unfortunately very out of date.
Adwords has changed so much since this book was published.

Buy it, but only if a new edition comes out.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
I was amazed that you could do so much on Google Adwords, but stunned anyone was able to be so knowledgeable and condense the information into a book.

As someone who has one year's experience on PPC I found it easy to follow, however some of the advanced Excel techniques could have done with better explanation.

Because the book covers so much I would also recommend you read Chapter 17 first as it provides an excellent overview and sets you up for the book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
Hopefully the word "Advanced" in the title will put you off reading this if you're a beginner. So, assuming you already know AdWords a bit, this book does what it says on the label: it gives you a lot of advanced techniques you can use to improve your AdWords skill. My only negative is that it's rather a dry read compared to its peers, reading it is a bit too much chore and too little pleasure.

Still, the man knows his chops.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
I started this book with the question in my head ... so what is 'advanced'? Is it 'advanced' as in 'advanced research' or 'advanced' as in A'Levels?

It's definitely not a beginner's guide. I think it would probably suit someone that's been running their AdWords account for a few months and wants to go to the next level. As such, I would say it's 'intermediate'. I'd give this book 4 stars as an intermediate book, but only just a 3 as an advanced text.

I'm disappointed by the Keyword Research chapter. It rightfully points at Google's own keyword tool as a great tool, but it doesn't really tell you how to use it to its full potential. It just glosses over it. It would be good to see a discussion of how to use the different match options in the keyword tool. I regularly see newbie experts (sic) on forums say things like "Google's keyword tool says there are 10 zillion searches per month for blahblah!" - the trouble is they've used broad match - if they used 'exact match' they would see that no one was searching for blahblah at all! That's an important point to understand, it's a shame it's not discussed here.

In contrast, the discussion of using negative keyword matching is much more comprehensive.

Things change fast in AdWords - there is no discussion here of the 'broad match modifier' - this is worth its weight in gold, at least for now whilst not many people are using it. Another big thing not discussed here is AdWords site links. The Content Network is no longer called that ... it's now called the Display Network. This is not a criticism of the book, these are very new changes.

On the whole this is a fairly down-to-earth book on AdWords, and has an interesting contrast in style and content to Perry Marshall's books. I'll revisit that contrast here once I've reviewed one or two of those.

Next for the Dummies Guide, it's latest incarnation is from 2009 - so that won't have all the latest info either.

One thing I will say is if you are running AdWords then you should read as much as you can about it - so any book that isn't bad is worth looking at!

This review is my personal opinion and not intended as a statement of fact :-)
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
Do not be put off by the title if you don't think you are ready for an "advanced" book. This is a great introduction to Adwords which can easily be used by anyone even if you have no experience in using Adwords or a similar PPC/PPM advertising scheme.

For those that have dabbled with AdWords, with lesser or greater success, this will give you a great range of options to try in your own campaigns.

I teach SEO/SEM for a living and had no hesitation in adding this book to the list of recommended reading for my stutdents.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
This book will take you through many of the common features of AdWords but it's dated (e.g. reports have been completely redesigned since the book was written) and it's dull.

It's not for beginners either - you need to have used AdWords for several months before reading this book.

It is missing many new features and it lacks real insights - which are presumably available via Geddes website at additional cost.

However even advanced users will learn a little from it.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
Excellent book, written in an academic yet pleasant style.
I guess many a SME organization would save substantial costs by letting its Marketing department spending a bit of its time reading the book. I come across quite a few Adwords campaigns on which substantial money is spent, but that do not come close to the structures adviced in the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
An excellent book, that takes you to the heart of Google Adwords. Nicely written, clear cut, it broadens the concept of Adwords
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
AdWords online video tutorials. Watch and learn at your own pace.
  -  
PPC Management Software Increases ROI. Get 60 Day Free Trial Now!
  -  
The #1 Ad testing tool. Increase revenue 50 - 250% Today!