Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars33
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
29
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2011
This is the book written specifically for the OCR additional maths course. It's similar in style to the OCR/MEI texts used for AS and A level and is an excellent resource. If you're doing OCR additional maths and your school hasn't given you a copy of this book you should be asking why?
Additional maths is a big step from GCSE and something very few people should be attempting without support so don't expect this book to be all you need - you do need a proper maths teacher with the time to explain things to you to succeed.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
I bought this book for a schoolboy who is studying for OCR Additional Maths GCSE exam, at a school where he is allowed to take the exam, but will not be taught the subject in school! (does this say something about the state of education in 2012?). In consequence, I am helping with his study - I am a retired physicist.

The text of the book is clearly written on the whole, with ample well graded questions at the end of each chapter, and could be used for self-study by a bright boy or girl. It also contains some little historical vignettes on famous mathematicians of the past, whose work is relevant to the corresponding chapter, which helps to lighten the tone. It is however specifically geared to the OCR board Additional Maths syllabus, and can be unreservedly recommended for that purpose, although it could also be read with benefit in a broader context.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
This book is very important for the additional maths course (OCR). I had about two weeks to complete the course from start to finish which would not have been possible without the book.

It is important to mention that the book is more of a textbook that you may expect to use in a lesson rather than a revision guide. However, it contains all the information you'll need for the course as well as a HUGE number of questions for practice and makes it all very interesting.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Very good comprehensive book. I taught myself the course at 16 and took it along with my maths GCSE and got an A grade (highest). I learnt it all from the book and would say it is well worth the cost. I received the book quickly and found it was easy to read and understand.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
This book has helped me quite a bit. However, the book lacks Additional Mathematics topics like logarithms and surds.

Besides that, very good book.

I'm using it to revise for my SevenOaks exam.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
As a maths tutor I much enjoy using this book with students, as do my students. Unlike many maths books written for Year 11 students it does not salami-slice every topic into a dozen or more sections with ponderous exercises that cover little. It presents the theory clearly and concisely, with well-judged exercises that explore the theory in a way that keeps the student's interest. If a maths author could use this text as a template for a textbook for the new GCSE syllabus starting in September 2015, that person and his publisher would have a best seller.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2012
This book has good content and clear structure. Sometimes not easy for self studying, because some steps are clear, but if I explain the basic to my students, they can follow the examples and explanations without problems. There are a lot of good questions. After every chapter there are really useful "Key points".Additional Mathematics for OCR
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
Glad I bought a used one because it looked brand new and was less than half the price! Using this for revision as Ad maths is pretty hard and it's helping. Thank you!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Excellent item came in new condition yet was stated to be thoroughly used! Very informative guide for students wishing to take FSMQ (Further Maths)!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
The book has well constructed examples and exercises. It would benefit from including a practice paper at the end of the book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)