Includes FREE MP3
of this album.
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for 7.99

Acolyte [VINYL] [Import]

Delphic Vinyl
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (37 customer reviews)
Price: 19.55 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched and sold by Amazon in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S. r.l.
Buy the MP3 album for 7.99 at the Amazon Digital Music Store.

‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description

BBC Review

Having already been tipped for success by several end-of-year industry polls, big things are almost a given for Manchester’s Delphic.

When also considering the excellence of their two previous singles (Counterpoint and This Monetary) and their auspicious live reputation, Acolyte would have been a disappointment if it wasn’t, at the very least, a solid indie-dance album.

The quality of Delphic’s debut, then, is not a surprise. What is unusual is the clearly audible focus and intent. With the help of talented producer Ewan Pearson they’ve realised their own vision with clarity and force.

As a centrepiece, the title-track takes some beating. A glacial intro, as sad as a lover packing to leave for good, is followed by bruising Berlin techno, which the boys no doubt checked out while recording in the German capital. The song also has a driving trance feel, seemingly stolen from Sander Kleinenberg’s 2000 classic, My Lexicon.

Of the two early singles, inaugural release Counterpoint is two parts The Beloved’s Sweet Harmony to one part Bloc Party’s So Here We Are. A tender, if non-specific, vocal from James Cook suggests a broken relationship; but he’s on the way to pragmatic acceptance rather than whining.

This Momentary is even better and sees Matt Cocksedge contribute skeletal guitar motifs reminiscent of The xx and Cook vocally evoke Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor. There are lush harmonies and Underworld-style synth and beat combos, too. Fans of Melbourne’s Cut Copy will be appreciative.

New Order are the Mancunian rave-rock elephant in the room and Delphic have obviously studied copies of Technique and Brotherhood in detail. But when third single Doubt is as affecting as a post-Klaxons Regret, that’s no bad thing.

On an album of great consistency, Red Lights is another winner. An iridescent, dilated-pupil anthem-in-waiting, it should attract a raft of remixers from across the dance music spectrum.

There was some pressure on Delphic to deliver and they have. From a palette of familiar reference points, they’ve created a fresh, vital sound that could prove to be the basis of an impressive career. Barney and Hooky will exchange knowing glances when they hear it, but Acolyte might just be the first great album of 2010. --Lou Thomas

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

CD Description

Delphic are Rick Boardman, Matt Cocksedge and James Cook, young men from Manchester who combine guitar, bass and vocals with their laptops and drummer Dan Hadley. The four-piece straddle the indie and dance genres and count Chemical Brother Tom Rowlands as a fan. Includes the 2009 single "Counterpoint".
‹  Return to Product Overview