Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2009
I had read about this book before ordering and the pre release info made it clear it was not about making cakes, but about the bakery and the people who work there and star in the show. It tells you all about the man himself "Duff" as well as all the staff, not just the main people featured it the show. If you watch Ace of Cakes then Duff said in the show that there are a lot of good cake books out there and it was not his intention to make another, but to give an insight into what makes them the company they are. I would say it does that very well.

I have enjoyed reading the book, and do not regret buying it, but do not buy it if you want an instruction manual. There are a lot of cakes to look at, and a large open out section in the middle with hundreds of very small pictures of their cakes, and they are small, but they get a lot in. There are also a few bigger pictures of cakes, and a lot of the staff working.

All in all, a good book if you love the programme.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
This is a fun book and is definitely one for fans of the show. It won't tell you how to create any of the cakes either on the show or in the book, but gives information on the people and activities behind the scenes. If you've seen the show and wanted to know more about Duff and the gang, their backgrounds and how the place works this is for you.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
Interesting book about all the founders and staff at Ace of Cakes.
Not the book to buy if you want to know how to decorate cakes the way they do!
Enjoyable read, but probably not what most people who would be interested in getting the book, would expect it to be about.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
We did a lot of research before we bought this book. We love the programme and saw the episode where they talked about making the book and eventually I bought it for my husband for his birthday - and he loved it. The reason he loved it is because its not a recipe book. He loved it because it is all about the people who work at Charm City Cakes and where they started and what they do now and how they deliver their cakes. He didn't buy it for me because, although I love the show, I also love making cakes and this is not a recipe book. It still does have some good cake making and decorating tips but there are no recipes. So, if you want a book that gives you recipes and instructions on how to create brilliant cakes - don't buy it. If you want a book that tells you all about the Ace of Cakes TV show and all the people that work at Charm City Cakes - then DO buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
This is not a receipe book but more a history of how Ace of Cakes came about and how each of the team came to join A of C. Photos of all the cakes Charm City Cakes have ever made. A great read for a Duff fan!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
What an excellent book! Duff and the gang, warts and all. Interesting, informative, fun and all those lovely pictures. An excellent accompaniment to the show.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I'm really pleased with this - it's exactly what I hoped it would be. Lots of pictures of cake ideas (across the board from 'right out there', to slightly more basic + inside stories on the staff at charm city cakes & background insights into the ace of cakes programme. Very pleased I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
If you love the tv show you'll love the book! We picked up the series about half way through and have watched repeats all out of order.... this book makes sense of the show, giving you background on the team and how it all came about. Not a cake decorating book, but better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2009
I recieved the book yesterday, so I have just had a quick flick through. Don'y buy this if you are wanting information on the cakes it is mostly about the staff and the production of the program. There are pictures of their finished cakes but most are tiny (2cm across). If you want to know more about the people behind the company then it will be a good book to buy.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2011
you cant help but be very impressed with what they do, was hoping this would have given you a small insight on "how to" not for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse