Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2012
Bought this watch as it looked quite smart and was not disappointed when it arrived. The watch can be worn at work and is smart enough to wear socially. It has even been mistaken for a much more expensive brand. Would recommend it to anyone thinking of buying it
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
A stylish watch.
Time is easily read, even in the dark.
With hindsight, I miss not having a date window.
However,I still wear it daily.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
I already own an Accurist and bought it more than 25 years ago. As unlikely as it sounds it has outlasted all but one of my other watches by years and is still as accurate and reliable as ever! I've also had quite a few Japanese made watches that have been long serving but not up to this standard. (Although it may be that Accurist is Japanese - I don't know and I don't really care to be honest.) I have a liking for wrist-watches and a bedside draw currently containing 9.

I also own a Breitling that was bought around the same time costing about £4,000. I wear the Breitling now and again and the Accurist every day. The Latter cost approximately £25 25 years ago.

So, sold on the maker I saw this watch on Amazon reduced in price from an inexpensive £125 (as I remember) down to £40. Couldn't resist. It is lovely. It keeps really good time; it looks good; is 'chunky'; gathers remarks from others; and you can feel the quality on your wrist. The strap is very well made and looks as if it will match the watch for longevity. All in all it's a cracker thanks.

Graeme.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
A very good looking watch that is comfortable and keeps time well. It is a nice size with attractive detailing on the face.

Good value.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Bought this watch for myself when it was reduced to £50, but having worn it every day for the last two years I can say that it is definitely worth the rrp let alone the incredible discounts they keep giving it! Has lasted much better than any of the other watches I have had recently, and it receives compliments from the majority of people that see it. Very easy to read in all lights, the face and strap have both kept in great condition; the yellow detail gives it a quirky twist that means it is suitable for literally every occasion. Definitely worth the small investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
i really like the watch and everywhere and everybody who sees it is always impressed by it. it is also very good value for money
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I was primarily attracted to this particular watch because I know and trust the Accurist name from previous experience; and because I wanted the chronograph feature. It is the latter that causes me to mark the product down as it wasn't clear from the product information or the illustrations that it is nigh impossible to accurately read the minutes elapsing when using the stop watch function. Otherwise an attractive, well finished product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
Pros:
1. Weight and feel is about right. Those who prefer a watch with a lot of heft (like a large divers watch) may prefer something weightier. I think it strikes a good balance between being heavy enough but also light enough that (if teamed with a nato strap) could be used for sports.

2. Strap is thick and solid.

2. The battery type (SR621SW) is engraved on the case back.

3. Case back is screwed on (easy to remove with a jaxa tool and re-assemble by hand).

4. Hacking movement (movement stops when crown is pulled).

5. Overall design and layout is aesthetically pleasing.

6. Japanese movement - Miyota/Citizen JS50.

7. Watch presents in real life just as one would imagine based on the pictures (as opposed to other watches where the reality is different from the images).

Cons:
1. Pusher guards look as though they can be screwed down, but it's just for looks.

2. Pushers need substantial force to activate.

3. Chrono second hand is on a complication, not on the dial. Because of this and because the bezel does not rotate, the tachymetre is largely useless in real world conditions.

4. Chrono minute complication (middle) is near impossible to read. Its space is consumed by the neighboring complications. Due to its proximity to the stem, if the hour or minute hands are between 3:30 and 8:30, they will obscure the complication.

Other observations:
- Chrono second hand does not measure accuracy below 1s. -- Chrono does not instantly reset - it "unwinds" every minute elapsed until it reaches 0.
- Chrono does not have split function (only stop-start-reset).
- No lume on the complications.

(Note - some of the cons and observations in this review are down to the movement calibre, and not actual faults of the watch. Any other watch which uses the same movement will exhibit the same issues.)

Conclusions
If you need a fully functional and easy to use chronograph with <1s resolution, you'll need to look elsewhere.

However, if you don't care for that and just want the aesthetics of a chronograph, this watch will do just fine - especially for the low price.

At the price paid (42), overall it is good value, and I really cannot complain too much (provided it does not fail) and it should serve well as an everyday watch.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
I was in need of a new watch, when i saw this one on the amazon site i showed it to my wife, who bought it for me as a christmas present. it arrived very quickly. I could not wait for christmas and am now wearing it. very pleased with the price for a quality watch. good value from amazon again. well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
Very nice watch , really nice face, strap is of good quality however the strap would look much better if it was a little wider. Good postage and item arrived on time in nice box
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)