Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars51
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2009
"Abba-The Movie" was in the cinemas back in 1978 and this re-release brings back wonderful momories. Digitally remastered and with bonus features including an interview with Bjorn,Benny and director Lasse Halstrom the music harks back to a time before the devorces and the serious stuff took hold of the Abba members.The photography and footage of the Australian concerts is amazing and its so nice to hear the oldies again."Tiger","S.O.S",Rock Me",Mamma Mia","He Is Your Brother","Money Money Money",and "Ive Been Waiting For You"are all here and it looks like the performers had the time of their lives.Frida and Bjorn hamming it up on "Why Did It Have To Be Me",Benny virtually lifting himself off his piano stool during "Intermezzo No 1" and Agnetha laughing and joking with the band shows she wasn't always the crumbling wreck she's so often percieved as being.O.K so the little sub-plot about the d.j trying to get an interview is light weight but the scenes premiering "Eagle" and "The Name Of The Game" are excellent under Halstrom's direction. The joy in the performance of "So Long",the audience reaction to both "Fernando" and "Dancing Queen" and the inclusion of "Get On The Carousel" are reason enough to get this, let alone the stunning ariel shot of the stockholm Islands closing with "Thank You For The Music"...Brilliant..Buy it!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2006
Well i wasn't around for the Abba days so i'm so grateful that someone thought to make this wonderful movie!! Not for the not so genius story, but for the wonderful concert footage! Just amazing!!
Songs include Fernando, Dancing Queen, Waterloo, Gimme Gimme Gimme, Money Money Money, Why Did It Have To Be Me (Bjorn and Frida only!!! HGHLIGHT!) I've Been Waiting For You - all LIVE!
Imagine Fernando - Frida singing beautifully, her warm deep inviting voice and long firey red straight hair blowing in the warm night breeze - just beautiful - ON THIS DVD!
You really get such a buzz and feel like you're really back in the 70's, back there at those concerts with them!! Sensational!!
I first bought the PAL video and played it over and over again - now i have The Movie on DVD - It's FAB!!
MUST BUY FOR ANY ABBA FANS!! :-)
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2008
I was very excited to hear that the great work the Swedish Film institute did on this film was being now presented in Blu-Ray Format.

Fistly Thankyou.

This is a excellent transfer considering the film was made in 1977 for a limited release.

I was 12 years old when ABBA came to sydney in 1977.

Being one of 4 children and with just 1 income in the family I could not
go to see ABBA in concert.

Reading the paper every day when they were here I still remember what a mad time it was then.

Jump to Christmas 2007.

The Blu-ray arrives and I got to see it on my dad's new 56" Samsung plasma
with surround. It was great to watch it with my family.

The picture is beautiful, The sound is fantastic. I did get to go to the concert and was transported to another time.

Thankyou for all the hard work in this release.

If you are a true ABBA fan Buy it.
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2003
Being a die-hard fan myself, i was THRILLED when this was on tv a couple of years ago, and have spent the following time trying to track it down on video. This is the closest i have come!
To put it bluntly, this is a fly-on-the-wall film about ABBA on tour in Australia. The director was given access to the group while on tour, so all the footage you see of them is real life. (although Tom Oliver - Lou from neighbours - does play their security guard for plot purposes ) It features a great number of live performances, many of which appear on the LIVE album.
Having said this, there is a plot woven in, that was apparently thought of on the plane to australia. It involves a luckless DJ making a radio documentary on the group, and his continually thwarted attempts to interview them. It's not exactly hard to follow, but it does provide some laughs, and there are some really cute moments when he interviews children. ( no actors! )
All in all this is great for the serious fan, but people that are not so interested may not find enough here to keep them watching. But if you are mad about the group like me, then it is well worth trying to get hold of it. The performances of I'm a Marionette and Get off the Carousel are unique, in that in the former case it is completely different to the original version on The Album, and in the latter case i have never found this song anywhere else, and they are two brilliant tracks on this movie! So it's worth owning them. The version of dancing queen is very different too, but the exact same performance can be found on the LIVE album.
Basically it's a good singalong feel-good easy to watch candid film, and if you can find it then its well worth it!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
Although ABBA didn't care much for touring they loved performing on stage especially Frida, the 'Movie' has all the hits and some surprises with stunning live HD footage and truely brillant remasterd audio. Although the plot is week, it does add humour and presents ABBA in some unusual situations (the lift scene is fun and shots of them on the road are revealing). Highlights are Tiger as they hit the stage, Frida in Why did it have to be, the rarely seen Carousel and Eagle.

Its a great time capsule of a live performance in the 1970's with real singing and an energetic stage presence compared to todays over produced, auto tuned 'live' performances.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2005
It just seems too good to be true. Abba -The Movie is finally released on DVD for the first time.
I remember going to see this movie when it was released in 1978. I especially remember the queues of people waiting in anticipation outside the cinema.
I purchased the video in december 1983 and must have played it a thousand times over.
The critics at the time did'nt seem to rate the movie that much, most of them criticising the plot within the film which is based around a young country and western dj who is assigned by his boss to obtain an exclusive interview with ABBA for airing on Radio 2TW a week later.
The concert footage of Abba is still as good as it was back then and with the dj storyline it all comes together quite well.
I have given this DVD 4 stars. I've deducted a star due to the lack of any extra footage. It would have been great to have seen something from the film that had'nt been shown before. The interview with director Lasse,Bjorn and Benny on the 2 disc special edition is not bad and the commercials to advertise Abba - The Album really take you back to the 70's.
All in all, i'd definitely recommend this DVD, even if you're not an abba fan. It certainly brought all the memories flooding back.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2005
This is the most amazing Abba documentary on Abba you will ever find!! Interviews and live performances - it's a story about a journalist who tries to get an interview with Abba and all the obstacles he goes through, trying to get one!!
Fabulous rare songs like I've Been Waiting For You, Tiger, Carrousel and I'm a Marionette, performed live!! Gorgeous Frida and Agnetha like you've enver seen before!! As i'm a Frida fan, i was over the moon when i watched this - live performances of Fernando, Money, Money, Money and a fantastic performance of Frida and Bjorn singing Why Did It Have To Be Me - energetic and crazy!
Really fab - if you're a fan then you MUST buy this film!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2008
I am a massive ABBA fan and I was shocked to learn that they made a movie a few months ago. This movie was not the critics "film of the year" in no way, shape or form. This was due to the loose "plot". The storyline is basic for a few reasons, all Benny (Andersson) wanted was a film that would remind the band of their time in Australia, then a film was born.

For 80% they (the band) wasn't even acting.

The film is amazing. The picture quality is stunning. Looks like it could have been recorded yesterday.

The bonus features disk also gives a lovely little insight to the days gone-by and there is a 40 minute interview with Bjórn, Benny and Lasse (The director) about the movie. Unless you speak Swedish though you'll find the range of subtitles useful.

It was a great buy! Totally an insight. Just tremendous picture quality and loads of exclusive songs that there aren't "music-videos" for.

Totally a MUST have for any fan!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
It was great pleasure to go back 30+ years when I first watch this movie. My daughters (9 and 12) are mad about ABBA, they knew CDs and videos only. This movie brought joy and dances at home.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2007
What I like about this film is that it shows Abba as they were conquering the world of pop, before the break-ups that would eventualy lead to their demise. They never looked better than during this period and here we see the two happy couples in love with each other with a world that was in love with them...
They don't act like superstars, they come across as very ordinary individuals with a genuine talent for music, but, with an added charisma during their live shows, which is clearly apparent here - the concert footage is fabulous - yet at the same time they reveal a great modesty & cool attitude toward their success so rarely witnessed these days.

A very charming movie that shows what it was like when Abba toured Australia in the mid-70s. Thank goodness they captured these moments on film. Sheer magic!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)