Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
13
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2011
Tillbrook impressively manages to cover the entire reigns of Edward VI, Mary I and Elizabeth I in less than 200 pages. The amount of detail is just right - despite being concise, there is enough information included in order to be able to pick and choose material to support one's own line of argument in an examination.

A short introduction to the textbook provides contextual information in order to familiarise readers with Tudor England; this is invaluable as it means students can gain a full understanding of the time period in order to be in the best position to answer examination questions. Historiography is excellently covered throughout the textbook and historians' quotes mean that students do not have to read dozens of other books! The conclusion is useful for considering the synoptic questions, as it provides broad summaries of the different areas of Elizabeth's reign, and evaluates her success generally as a monarch.

The chapters are based on the bullet-point lists of topics on the AQA syllabus, meaning that the textbook is very easy to follow in terms of examination purposes. Stylistically, the material is also very accessible, and each chapter contains side-notes providing context, interesting extra points and activities. Essay questions are also suggested throughout, and are very useful for exam preparation. Within each chapter the information is arranged thematically, reflecting areas examined, and timelines both at the beginning of and throughout the textbook help to organise this information chronologically.

Having read other textbooks which cover this time period, I can say that this one was definitely the best, and I would highly recommend it to other students.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
5 stars for condition and delivery.
4 stars because I didn't find it all that useful for my A2. It's by the examiner but wow did he make it difficult to study off the book.
Useful for reference I guess.

Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Have only read part of this book as I am covering most of Elizabeth's reign in my A-Level Historical Enquiry (not studying the full topic area of the book), however what I have read so far is outstanding.
Only downside is the cost for me, as it is an expensive book and I will probably only end up using it a few times - however it is a great reference to quotes from various historians, and give a full, comprehensive understanding to the reader.
Very impressed - would recommend to any student, young or old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
As someone already familiar with for example, the reign of Elizabeth, I found this book confusing as it leaps around with topics eg religious policies, relations with parliament, featuring in a number of different chapters rather than following them through the whole period. I think it would be better to focus on themes throughout the whole reign, dealt with in whole chapters, not do a mixture of a chronological and also thematic approach. I think students would prefer a more chronological approach.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
Choosen by my daughter for her school history course she has found it helpful in her studies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
This was a very thorough and helpful textbook. My son needed it for his A Levels, thank you very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Pricey item! But had to have for A levels. Well packaged tho and great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
Condensing someone as fascinating as Queen Elizabeth down into such a little book was always going to be a tough job, and this book has achieved it - albeit in quite a dry, inaccesible style. It emulates the style of the Geography text books AQA have done for a few years now, although not quite as stimulating. It does, however, provide you with all the stuff you'll need for the exam and providing you absorb it all you're bound to get a top grade.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
Top quality and some good notes inside aswell!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
good for my exams
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)