Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars30
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2011
If you need a sociology book i would say get this because it got me my A, it actually teaches better than the teacher...so if you are a sociology student then i would highly recommend this
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
It covers 7 topics: Beliefs in society, global development, the mass media, power and politics, crime and deviance, stratification and differentiation, sociological theory and methods. It expands upon many theories, it's also highlighted the main parts so it's easy to make notes. You get a couple of exam answers at the back as well.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
This is a good easy to understand book. It is nicly laid out on the page, which makes it less boring and more readable. However, it does miss out some important information and theories for the aqa exam board, but covers most of the information, in easy to understand language. Would advice this book to anyone, but would not advise anyone to use this as the main source of revision, maybe just a back-up incase you don't understand a certain theory.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2010
very useful for A level revision, it gives the basic information needed to answer exam questions, with tests at the end of each section, and some suggestions for extended answers. A great help.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
I would not recommend this book. Stick to the textbook and if you desperately need a revision guide I suggest you buy 'Succeed at A2 Sociology: The Complete Revision Guide for the AQA Specification' that can also be found on Amazon. This book does not cover the majority course content and the parts that it does, is ridiculously brief.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I had previously bought the AS version of this book which was really useful and thorough, however this book is very brief in its explanation of some quite complex theories and really isn't worth the money. It was really unhelpful for my recent exam and I definitely wouldn't recommend it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
This is a good revision guide, my only problem is that although it says it is for the new specification of AQA it doesn't include all of the content needed such as Foucault which is a hard theory to get your head around anyway. So although useful, hasn't got everything you need for your revision...but this is the best one I've seen so far.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
this is a great book to use to revise sociology. It makes it so much easier to learn and lays it out much simpler than the textbooks at school. A must buy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Its very good for understanding and short term revision and it very easy to understand and grasp, however make sure this is not your only source of revision as it does not cover eveything thoroughly. Class notes and resources are essential, our class recieved an AQA revion textbook, not sure if you can purchase it but ask your teachers, that I would say was extremely useful along with this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
No longer relevant to modem specification in 2015. Good for an outlook before starting the unit, but rubbish for revision.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)