Start reading A Summer to Remember on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
A Summer to Remember
 
 

A Summer to Remember [Kindle Edition]

Victoria Connelly
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (105 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £0.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.00 (86%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £0.99  
Paperback £5.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

Praise for Victoria Connelly:

'Sunshine on a rainy day.' Lisa Jewell

‘Witty and original.” The Romantic Novelists' Association

'Victoria writes with a deliciously light touch and joyous enthusiasm.' Fiona Walker

Product Description

Escape deep into the English countryside in this perfect summer’s day read. Fans of Alexandra Potter and Katie Fforde won’t be able to resist.

Nina Elliot is tired of her life. She’s not sure how it happened but, somewhere along the way, she lost track of where it was all going.

So one fateful day, she makes a brave decision: she’s going to leave it all behind. Taking a job deep in the English countryside, Nina does just that. Ensconced at the Old Mill, she settles into daily life with the Milton family, where she works as a researcher for author Dudley.

With endless summer days stretching out ahead of her, Nina couldn’t be happier. But her quiet life is soon interrupted when the handsome Milton boys return home – for they plan to make sure this really is a summer to remember…

Relax and enjoy a breath of warm summer air with every turn of the page in the delightful new novel from Victoria Connelly - bestselling author of ‘Wish You Were Here’. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Alexandra Potter.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1085 KB
  • Print Length: 353 pages
  • Publisher: Avon (5 Jun 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00H6WQJVE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (105 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #248 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Victoria Connelly is the bestselling author of the Austen Addicts series about fans of Jane Austen: A Weekend with Mr Darcy, The Perfect Hero ('Dreaming of Mr Darcy' in the US), Mr Darcy Forever, Christmas with Mr Darcy and Happy Birthday Mr Darcy.

Her books have been translated into many languages including three magical romances published in Germany. The first, Flights of Angels, was made into a film. Victoria and her husband flew out to Berlin to see it being filmed and got to be extras in it.

She is also the author of several romantic comedies including The Runaway Actress which was nominated for the Romantic Novelists' Association's Best Romantic Comedy of the Year.

Victoria was brought up in Norfolk before moving to Yorkshire where she got married in a medieval castle. After 11 years in London, she moved to rural Suffolk where she lives in a Georgian cottage with her artist husband, a Springer spaniel and her ex-battery hens. She's written about her experience of country life in two volumes of autobiography, Escape to Mulberry Cottage and A Year at Mulberry Cottage.







What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really easy to read, happy, summery novel 8 Jun 2014
By Lincs Reader TOP 100 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
A Summer to Remember is a perfect Summer read. Full of glorious sunshine, beautiful countryside, a rogue or two, and a couple of heroes - it was made for reading by the pool, or in the garden in the sunshine.

Nina has taken the plunge at last. Sick to death of being reduced to a hiccuping wreck by her boss and feeling totally unloved by her long term partner, she's given both of them the boot. She's not sure what she will do next, but whatever it is, it will be on her terms. She's going to leave the damp, dark flat she's currently renting too.

When Nina bumps into Olivia Milton at the local supermarket, it seems that her luck may be changing. Ten years ago Nina babysat Olivia's two youngest sons. Dudley; Olivia's husband is writing a novel and is in dire need of a secretary. Nina always loved the Miltons, and their warm and welcoming home at the Old Mill. This really could be the answer to her prayers.

The long hot summer is ahead of Nina, she buckles down and starts trying to organise the chaos that is Dudley's study. She's also given the task of walking Ziggy; the Milton's untrained, totally bonkers Labradoodle - dealing with Dudley's fierce temper is easy compared to trying to keep Ziggy under control.

And then there are the two Milton boys. Now grown into handsome men; Dominic and Alex compete for Nina's attention, confusing her and making her wonder whether she ought to leave.

There are some great characters in A Summer to Remember. I love Dudley and his tentative experiments with the world wide web. There's Freya, the gardener, who yearns for a glance or a kind word from Dominic. Arrogant Alex, and dreamy Dominic, and Nina herself - wonderfully formed, realistic, but a little bit daft now and again.

Oh, and Justin ...........
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
It has taken her some time, but Nina has finally found the courage to change her boring and unhappy life. She has ended her relationship, quit her job, and is looking for a new place to live. Nina isn’t sure what she wants to do with her life, but she’s already looking forward to that next step towards something new. While she’s at the supermarket, she unexpectedly bumps into her old boss, Olivia Milton. When she was a teenager, Nina used to babysit Olivia’s two sons Dominic and Alex, and now, after all these years, it appears Olivia would like to make use of Nina’s services again. Her husband Dudley is writing his first novel and could use a secretary to help him. Nina can’t say ‘yes’ fast enough and soon she is welcomed back the Old Mill, the amazing Milton family home. To Nina, this is the start of an exciting summer which includes her new job, the untrained family dog, and the handsome Milton boys...

Victoria Connelly has done it again; what a thoroughly enjoyable summer read! ‘A Summer to Remember’ has everything a romantic comedy should have: a fascinating cast, a beautiful scene setting, handsome men, and an entertaining storyline. I absolutely adored the setting of this novel. The Norfolk countryside is described in beautiful detail, just like The Old Mill, the Milton family home, and I just wanted to jump into the novel and join Nina on her afternoons spent in the fabulous garden. The book includes a great cast of main and secondary characters. I liked Nina and how she decides to turn everything in her life around and start doing what she wants instead of what she feels she is expected to do. Next to that, the Milton family is a collection of eccentric but easily loveable and individual characters, which definitely made the book even more enjoyable.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very easy read 23 Jun 2014
By exile71
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Nice setting, country house in rural England in mid-summer, however the characters were somewhat flat. An easy summer read but in no way challenging...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember to read this! 25 July 2014
By Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition
Nina is fed up. Her job doesn't seem to be going to plan, she works for the boss from hell and quite frankly, she's had enough. Nina finally hands in her notice then finds herself without a job, and wondering how exactly she's going to make ends meet. When she, by chance, bumps into her old employer Mrs Milton, she finds herself being offered a job opportunity she can't afford to turn down. She ends up working as Mr Milton's secretary while he writes his secret new book, a job the other Milton's think she is mad to take! What will Nina make of her new job, and what is going to make it a summer to remember?

What I really loved about this story was it's simplicity. There wasn't anything mad going on, any craziness but it just plodded along nicely, and I thoroughly enjoyed the read from start to finish. I really liked the character of Nina. You could understand why she hated her job so much, and I was pleased she found the job at the Milton house. It turned out she had worked there when she was younger, so it was nice that the characters already had a rapport with each other. I did however like the change in the relationship between Nina and the Milton boys, whom she used to babysit for. They clearly see Nina in a new light now they are grown men, but she still sees them as the boys she cared for in Batman pyjamas, which led to a few funny moments! Nina was thoroughly likeable though, and I loved following her in the story.

The Milton family were plenty to make up the rest of the characters for the book. Mrs Milton, bless her, enjoys a rather easy life, caring for her house and husband, and wanting everything to be just perfect. She despairs at husband Dudley's disorganisation, which is where Nina came in.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category