A Shimmer of Angels (Angel Sight Book 1) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£6.87
  • RRP: £7.02
  • You Save: £0.15 (2%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

A Shimmer of Angels (Angel Sight) Paperback – 29 Jan 2013


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.87
£3.81 £11.27


Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 302 pages
  • Publisher: Month9books (29 Jan 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0985029439
  • ISBN-13: 978-0985029432
  • Product Dimensions: 1.9 x 14 x 21.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,013,102 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By MrMonopoly on 19 Feb 2013
Format: Paperback
My Star Rating; 4*s/5

Would I read anything else by this author? Yes, I would. I would like to continue with the series.

Would I recommend this book? Yes

Who would I recommend it to? Fans of Paranormal Romance, YA, and Angels.
Fans of Fallen and Hush, Hush (though even if you didn't like those books you should give this one a try anyway.)

Review; This book started really well for me, I was quite into it from the get go...but then it began to feel like it was dragging on. Then, when we get closer to the end I began to like it again.
This might be because of my tiredness, but I kind of felt the book was repetitive in places, especially with some of Rayna's "issues."

Now, don't get me wrong, because I really did enjoy reading this book, and I would like to continue with the rest of the series, I just feel like I can't love the series, and so am instead in like with this first book.

The Characters;
I felt sorry for Ray, but I couldn't quite connect with her.
I loved Lee, I think there should have been more of him in the book.
There was only one Sally scene, but I quite liked her character because of the eccentric-ness.
Kade. Ah, Kade, I quite liked his character, even if I feel there isn't much to say about him, I just feel like he could become my favourite character.
Cam, I feel there's something more to him, something we don't know yet, and I want to find out what it is, if anything.

The beginning of this book, for me it was good because it started somewhat differently than the other books involving angels that I have read. I was excited for something different in an angel book, and I certainly got that something different.
I also quite liked the writing.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
There are so many things I want to say about this book but they mainly just revolve around what a genius I think Lisa M Basso is!!!
Pushing all other words out of my head ( . . .Kade!) I found the author's commentary on mental illness in young people interesting and inspiring. Ray has been institutionalized for three years before the start of A Shimmer for Angels and diagnosed with Schizophrenia Spectrum Disorder - because she sees angels. Ray no longer has a proper relationship with her sister, Layla, is resentful towards her dad for keeping her in hospital, and is scared that he will have her sent away again. The reader witnesses Ray putting pressure on herself to be 'normal' and becoming secretive about the angels because she has no-one to turn to, despite the fact that she is already juggling school, work and discovering her friend's dead body. However, we see Ray reach an epiphany when she realises that in fact Cam is not just a figment of her imagination; she will not let anyone else control her or bully her into a certain belief system. Later in the book this new found confidence of Ray's is important as she finds her family support system destroyed once again, and she has to rely on her own convictions.
As I have already hinted at I love Lisa M Basso's representations of the Fallen and Good angels in the characters of Kade and Cam. Though I am fully on the side of Team Kade I was glad that the author did not make more of the love triangle, and I look forward to seeing how Ray's relationship with the angels develops!
I appreciated that although Cam referred to 'He' with reverence and Lucifer was mentioned a Shimmer for Angels was not written with any religious agenda.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Amazon Customer VINE VOICE on 27 Mar 2013
Format: Paperback
A Shimmer of Angels is the first release from Month 9 Books and a book I've been meaning to read for a while now. I love angel books, I really do but if you're going to write one, you HAVE to make it fresh/different and so I found myself asking what's different about this story? The answer is the heavy mental health aspect and the fact that this book is perhaps a bit darker than other angel books I've read (on a par with Leah Clifford's A Touch Mortal series perhaps on the darkness scales). I also enjoyed the fact that the angels didn't know Rayna could see them.

Speaking of which, let's talk about two angels in particular that feature heavily in the book - prepare to fall for Cam and Kade. Cam is the quintessential good guy and Kade is the fallen angel bad boy but thankfully it's not that black and white. I liked the fact that the good guy could be tempted and the bad boy isn't really that bad, he's just a loner with a snarky attitude who lives by his own rules. The question is, why can Rayna see the angels? And why are her school friends dying? Rayna just might be the key to everything and let me tell you that the ending? Is a HUGE surprise.

A Shimmer of Angels is well written on the whole but the book throws up more questions than it answers and I'm hoping book two will address those. It was a little slow to start but once the scene was set and it got going, I really enjoyed it and I'm definitely looking forward to the sequel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback