Start reading A Sea of Stars on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
A Sea of Stars
 
 

A Sea of Stars [Kindle Edition]

Kate Maryon
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £3.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.00 (43%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.99  
Paperback £5.24  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

Praise for ‘Invisible Girl’:
“Kate Maryon’s characters stay with you long after the book is finished.” Jenny Valentine

Praise for ‘A Sea of Stars’:
"An atmospheric and affecting story, with your sympathies shifting from sister to sister." KAREN MCCOMBIE

"A thought-provoking read, Kate Maryon writes in the tradition of Judy Blume and Jacqueline Wilson about real-life issues that can face children…a moving story of friendship and family" Aldershot News & Mail

PRAISE FOR A MILLION ANGELS:
“Heart-warming, thought-provoking and full of feeling – a wise, wonderful read.” CATHY CASSIDY

PRAISE FOR SHINE:
“[Kate Maryon] understands a child's deepest feelings, including the negative ones, and she allows Tiff to run through the gamut of them as she slowly works her way through feelings of abandonment, loneliness, fear and anger, until eventually happiness and love can resurface. Readers will recognise all her thoughts. It's an uplifting story which begins with a huge disaster and ends with a new start for everyone. It will reassure and comfort its readers and it exactly inhabits their emotional landscape… I think tween girls are going to love it.” [Four stars] TheBookBag.co.uk

PRAISE FOR GLITTER:
“Heart-warming and a cut above the rest.” The Daily Express

Product Description

Two girls with two very different lives come together in this beautiful and moving story of friendship and family, by a major new voice in girls’ fiction.

Meet Maya. She has a cosy, comfy life with her slightly hippy mum and dad by the sea in Cornwall. But as an only child, Maya feels smothered by her parents’ love and longs to be a given more freedom and independence; but what Maya wants more than anything is a sister.

Meet Cat. She’s never known her dad and her mum’s an alcoholic and is not capable of looking after herself, let alone her 11 year old daughter. Cat’s spent her life protecting her mum and keeping some dark secrets; all she wants is to be left alone.

But Cat and Maya’s worlds collide when Cat is taken into care and Maya’s parents make the life-changing decision to adopt her. Maya can’t wait to welcome Cat into the family and hopes that by having a sister, her parents might learn to ‘chill out’ and give Maya a bit more freedom. But Cat is angry and resentful and resists Maya’s attempts at friendship and soon Maya’s idea of a perfect family is blown out of the water.

As tensions rise and secrets come out, will the girls ever become friends, let alone sisters?


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 868 KB
  • Print Length: 272 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks (7 Jun 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006KWAIHM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #30,081 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 8 Aug 2012
Format:Paperback
My daughter (aged 13) read this book from cover to cover when she first was given it. She's read it again several times since - she loves it and talks about the characters as though they are real people. Kate writes with real affection for her characters as well as a ring of truth.

Looking forward to the next one ....
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!! 6 Aug 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is very, very touching and sweet, it is a novel about friendship/ sisters and drama. Cat is extremely wild as her mum was drunk and she had to look after her younger brother. Maya is mature and good and has always wanted a sister. Both different girls come together and have to try and get on however it doesn't quite work at first.
I would recommend this book for 9+ as some humorous and sad parts aren't appropriate for 9-.I like this book because it is really sweet and will make you see how you can become best friends although being so different. read this if you like Jacqueline Wilson.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars wow wow wow 19 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
heat warming like the rest of her amazing books always with a new and brilliant plot each time!!!!!
this is a must read!!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 7 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
it was amazing . no one knows about cats past and why she screams so much .Also no one knows why she is so afraid of the sea. you wonder if Maya and cat will ever be friends or even sisters... an epic book must buy.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting 10 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I knew from the minute it mentioned surfing that something bad was going to happen in this book but I also in knew there was going to be a happy ending it is a wondrous book about the relationship of two new sisters.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book 8 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Good book kept me in the edge of my seat!! Definitely recommend it to a friend!! Love all her books anyway!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 5 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is my daughter's and she couldn't put it down!!! She kept on talking about it and how.much she's read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea of stars by Kate Maryon 26 Feb 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really liked this book! After reading Shine and Glitter, I knew I would love it, and I read it in about for hours because I was enjoying it so much! It even made me cry a bit in the middle because the author is so good at describing a person's feelings during an argument. I read this and I am ten years old so I would recommend it to about nine to thirteen year old girls.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category