A Nurse in Action and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.98

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading A Nurse in Action on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

A Nurse in Action [Paperback]

Evelyn Prentis
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
RRP: 6.99
Price: 5.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 1.00 (14%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 25 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 3.59  
Paperback 5.99  
Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

4 Aug 2011

'We were quickly learning to live with war. We became very proficient at moving the patients who could walk quickly to the shelters when the sirens went. We were equally proficient at talking those who couldn't walk into believing that they would be safe where they were. Some believed us, others didn't.'

Surprising Matron as well as herself, Evelyn Prentis managed to pass her Finals and become a staff-nurse. Encouraged, she took the brave leap of moving from Nottingham to London - brave not least because war was about to break.

Not only did the nurses have to cope with stray bombs and influxes of patients from as far away Dunkirk, but there were also RAF men stationed nearby - which caused considerable entertainment and disappointment, and a good number of marriages ...

But despite all the disruption to the hospital routine, Evelyn's warm and compelling account of a nurse in action, shows a nurse's life would always revolve around the comforting discomfort of porridge and rissoles, bandages and bedpans.


Frequently Bought Together

A Nurse in Action + A Nurse and Mother + A Nurse in Time
Price For All Three: 14.52

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Ebury Press; Reprint edition (4 Aug 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0091941377
  • ISBN-13: 978-0091941376
  • Product Dimensions: 19.3 x 12.4 x 2.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 207,767 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"Perceptive, warm and very funny" (Sunday Telegraph)

"Highly amusing and entertaining" (Derby Evening Telegraph)

Book Description

A nostalgic nurse's memoir for fans of Nurse and Call and Yes Sister, No Sister, sequel to A Nurse in Time (March 2011)

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic 19 Oct 2011
By T.J.
Format:Paperback
Just couldnt put this book down, from the very first chapter I was completely hooked. being a nurse myself, training in the good old days of Matron and standing to attention when Sister walked on the ward, it brought it all back to me and at times it was myself stood there in front of Matron experiencing those gut wrenching feelings!
Completely funny and entertaining, so descriptive, I was wafted onto those wards.
I cant wait for the follow up "Nurse and Mother" and have already pre-ordered, 1 of the best books I have read for a v v long time.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry I was disappointed 11 Sep 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I generally love all books of this genre being a nurse myself and an old school one to boot so this should have been just the ticket. I nearly always finish a book once I've started it, although as I get older, I think life's too short to stick with bad writing. Not that this was bad, it just wasn't so good.
I'm sure Evelyn Prentis was a better nurse than she was author which was good for her patients but she must have had some great stories to tell and she tried to in the book, but it just didn't really come across. I kept getting bored, sorry. Then there were moments of great pathos, well written chapters with characters you could relate to, when I'd feel almost guilty for nearly giving up on the book. Fortunately, I took it on holiday with me, so being stuck in an airport I saw it through to the end. Now I realise I've also got her other book, I don't feel in a rush to read it.
When I read through this review again, it sounds terribly negative and I thought I should at least try and say something positive. The book did give a good reflection of how very difficult it must have been to nurse in the months leading up to and at the start of the Second World War.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read 7 Mar 2014
By Jan
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Really enjoyed reading this love reading about nursing from years ago as a nurse myself found this book fascinating x
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story. 13 Oct 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was looking forward to reading this after her first book about her training, but this got away from the hospital scene and more to do with there private life outside the wards towards the end, which i did not mind but would have liked a bit more on the wards, but an interesting story.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Nurse in Action. 27 April 2013
By Mo
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Another great read especially to those who trained as nurses. Life was hard & so was the training but there was rewards, Filled with humour too
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading. 20 April 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
After reading the first book was hooked to see how things worked out. Very easy to read and most enjoyable.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to her usual standard. 18 Feb 2013
By Elsie
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have ready Evelyn Prentis's previous books and thoroughly enjoyed them. This was no disappointment. I would recommend all Evelyns books be read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xafa429a8)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback