Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now
Black Friday Refreshed

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.74

Save £2.25 (38%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

A Kiss in Time Kindle Edition

17 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"

Length: 388 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Kindle Books Biggest Ever Deals
Kindle Books: Black Friday Deals
Get involved with Amazon's Biggest Ever Deals Event and shop over 200 titles from 99p this week. Offer ends 29 November. >Shop now

Product Description


Fans of Meg Cabot’s Princess Diaries and Gail Carson Levine’s EllaEnchanted (1997) will embrace this charming, lightweight fantasy. (ALA Booklist)

“Flinn . . . injects a little magic and chivalry into the modern world . . . all on the road to a satisfying “happily ever after.” (The Horn Book)

“Those fans of Flinn’s widely popular Beastly will thoroughly enjoy this fractured fairy tale as well.” (Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA))

“clever and humorous . . . Fans of happily-ever-after endings will delight in the upbeat resolution, which confirms the notion that ‘love conquers all.” (Publishers Weekly)

About the Author

Alex Flinn loves fairy tales and is also the author of a modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast titled Beastly, which was named a VOYA Editor's Choice for 2007, a New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age for 2008, and a 2008 ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers. Her other books include Breathing Underwater, an ALA Top 10 Best Book for Young Adults, Breaking Point, Nothing to Lose, Fade to Black, and Diva. She lives in Miami with her husband, two kids, a cat, and a dog.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1926 KB
  • Print Length: 388 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen; 1 Reprint edition (17 April 2009)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0026SCNEK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #316,692 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Sally on 31 May 2011
Format: Paperback
Imagine the old fairy story Sleeping Beauty in all it's old fashioned glory- a spoiled princess, a witch's curse, the spindle, an enchanted sleep. Now imagine that instead of waking after 100 years from the kiss of a prince (the good old happily-ever-after) this princess sleeps on- to modern day Europe, to be awakened by Jack- arrogant teenage party animal on a "boring" museum tour. This story is the hilarious result of a clashing of two worlds- the mediaeval princess thrust into the confusing modern world of mobile phones, televisions, pool parties and aeroplanes. (And of a cynical slacker teenager forced into accepting a world of faeries, evil witches and magical curses).

When Talia and Jack first meet each other they really don't like each other. They have absolutely nothing in common, and you cannot possibly imagine any scenario that could bring them together- they are just too different. Jack is the furthest possible extreme from the gentleman that she was expecting, and Talia is so much more delicate and moralistic than the girls that Jack is used to. Yet, throughout their adventures together there is something- a protectiveness of each other- that gradually blossoms into affection. The characters are so relatable that you can't help but root for them, and cheer them on right up until the fast-paced ending. Talia views the world she wakes up in with an excited curiosity, and questions everything with an innocent purity. This in turn makes Jack take a step back to appreciate everything that he had previously taken for granted.

The story is told between alternating points of view, switching between Jack and Talia, which I love as their voices and whole attitudes are so different at the beginning.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Yiota G. on 24 Oct. 2010
Format: Paperback
To let you know something more about the plot we basically follow the story of Sleeping Beauty when she wakes up. Talia happened to be the Sleeping Beauty 300 years ago, and at the start of the book we see a little of how she found the spindle. Then, we are coming in our time and see how Jack found her and kissed her. That's only the first part of the book. The story continues with Talia following Jack cause she thinks he is her destiny and try to make him fall in love with her while Jack feels kinda responsible for her and of course to bring a girl home will freak out his parents(something which find really important). As the story goes on with those two, the evil witch appears again and believes the curse broke my mistake and tries to get Talia back.

I will admit i was a little afraid with a story who changes a classic fairytale but it was ok. Actually it was amazing! One of the best books i have read. Alex Flinn doesn't change the story of Sleeping Beauty, she just put the prince in our time. The writing is fast and simple (not in a bad way). I didn't get bored in not even one part of the book. It was interesting from the very first page and kept me entertained.

As for our main characters. Talia at first is really annoying. Well, she was a princess who had everything in her life and to have her live in our world where we don't have servants it's a big change. But as the story goes, you get to know her better. She is a really sweet,kind,clever,naive..she is indeed a fairytale princess. Her character is simple.
Jack is a normal guy. And when i say normal i mean it. Not bad or good like other love stories. Normal. I could see my best friends in him so it was easy for me to like him. He cares about what he did but at the same time he was thinking about himself as well.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful By TeensReadToo TOP 500 REVIEWER on 28 April 2009
Format: Hardcover
When Jack escaped for the summer on a trip around Europe, he never dreamed he would be pulled into a real-life fairy tale.

His main goal in agreeing to the numbingly dull tour of European museums was to avoid an even more boring summer working in his father's company. Both his father and mother think he is a lazy slacker without any real interests. What they don't know is that Jack has an interest, but he knows that as the son of a successful business family, they will not approve of his future plans.

After weeks of museum tours, Jack and his friend, Travis, decide to skip out on the tour group and head for the beach. They take a wrong turn and end up sneaking through a thick hedge hoping to find the illusive beach, but instead they end up in a strange place that seems lost in time. As they explore, they stumble across some of the residents of the area, only to find them fast asleep.

When they arrive at the main gates to a huge castle, they begin to wonder exactly what is going on. Inside the castle they find the same situation - everyone is fast asleep. Life seems to have suddenly halted for these people, leaving them in the middle of whatever activity or task that had kept them busy before their sudden slumber.

Jack and Travis find their way to an isolated area of the castle and are surprised to discover a beautiful young girl sleeping peacefully. Travis is more interested in returning to the throne room and snatching the crown jewels, and Jack gladly sends him off. Jack is fascinated by the sleeping girl whose beauty is astonishing. He can't help himself. He bends and gently kisses her soft lips. Suddenly, she's awake!
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions