Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2004
Having this book in your pocket is like taking the author with you on site visits. Don't worry about a thing, Wilson is as adept at finding all the vantage points in a walk round York (including the display in the locked room under the toilets) as he is at finding the few stones in the field you were looking for at Catterick.
If you want to get the best out of a visit to visible Roman remains anywhere in Britain and have only room in your rucksack for one book, then this is the one to take.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2000
One only has to look at a list of English Heritage sites to appreciate the rich array of Roman ruins still visible in Britain. There is no better introduction to them than Roger J. A. Wilson's "A Guide to the Roman Remains in Britain," which, having been out of print for almost a decade, is available again. Satisfyingly compact in the hand, the illustrated guide provides directions, descriptions, and the historical importance of more than 240 sites. There is, as well, a long introduction, glossary of terms, and timeline. Together with the Ordnance Survey map of "Roman Britain," one cannot do better exploring the countryside. Would that Professor Wilson have the time to provide a fourth edition!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2002
This is the fourth edition of what has been for a number of years THE standard guide to visiting Roman sites in the UK. Much larger and with more detail than earlier editions it is full of essential information for the visitor - both professional and amateur. The book is divided up geographical lines with the best sites in each chapter being rated with a star when compared with other sites within that chapter. Hadrian's Wall is, deservedly, given its own separate chapter. Clear diagrams of the sites are, where appropriate, given.
The clarity of the information is excellent with an initial outline chapter giving the background to Roman Britain.
One minor complaint is about quality of the back-and-white photographs: some (most?) of these were present in the first edition which was published over 20 years ago and are looking very dated. I have thought that a modern guide book such as this would have had at least some in colour.
Having said that, this is a must-buy for anyone with an interest in one of the most important periods in British history.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Its a reasonable book, but you cant just jump in. Its really hard to figure out where you are. Its like he starts at one end of the country and in a single paragraph, without headers, breaks, titles or other navigation devises talks through 700 pages of walking arounf Britain. In short you absolutly cant just flick through it. Its just rock sold almost unformatted text. I wanted something that I could browse through and say look at a section maybe on Dover, and read all about Dover. Its not really possible. You have to look dover up in the index and Dover is referenced about 10 times. The bold entry takes you to a new paragraph on page 48-52. Thats it, its a new paragraph, or at least there are no titles, just the word Dover in bold. I have only given it two because im sure there is a context in which this this would be great as its clearly very detailed and informative. I just think you have to be there in Dover to really appreciate it as it has directions and opening times both daily and seasonal. For example, it says 'After passing the ticket office, you look down on the Saxon Shore fort defences, well preserved to your left.' Well, to my left is my kitchen. So you really nee to be there. As such, unless you really intend to vist many Roman sites I cant really see this as being of much use to anyone. However, it is nice and solid and you can use it to prop up phones and tablets on your desk or through it at your partner during a row. Hence two stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
An excellent book, with clear descriptions of the visible remains and importantly the exact locations are given using OS grid references. Regarding how to get to some of the sites, modernisation to roads and housing developments may make some of the authors descriptions irrelevant (but use of a current OS map will allow anyone interested to find the site they are looking for).

As someone interested in visiting Roman sites in Britain I would definitely recommend this book to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Somewhat dry and dated in style. But the information is brilliant. An updated version with better photography would be invaluable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
Tells you all you need to know about seeing our Roman heritage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Excellent book and pleased with servicje
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2011
AN EXCELLENT SERVICE FROM midnightbluemusic. THE BOOK ARRIVED FROM midnightbluemusic VERY SECURELY PACKAGED WITHIN 2 DAYS OF ORDERING. THE BOOK'S CONDITION WAS EVEN BETTER THAN WE EXPECTED. IT WILL FORM PART OF OUR TRIP ACROSS BRITAIN BY CAR. MANY THANKS TO midnightbluemusic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)