Shop now Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now
Buy Used
£0.02
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by goldstone_books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. All orders are dispatched within 1 working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we are dedicated to recycling unwanted books on behalf of a number of UK charities who benefit from added revenue through the sale of their books plus huge savings in waste disposal. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

A Fairy Find Paperback – 12 Oct 2006

4 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£8.49
Paperback
"Please retry"
£4.25 £0.02

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on Amazon.co.uk with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.



Product details

  • Paperback: 244 pages
  • Publisher: Portobello Books Ltd; 1st. Edition edition (12 Oct. 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1846270618
  • ISBN-13: 978-1846270611
  • Product Dimensions: 20.9 x 15.6 x 2.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,327,764 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

'These deadpan images, mostly anonymous and very skilled, carry an
extraordinary freight of association and resonance.' -- Ian Beck, The Times

A delightfully absurd book...Buy it, pile it high and sell it – or the fairies will get you. -- Publishing News

Humour in the tradition of Carroll, Lear and Gorey. -- Christopher Logue

Ingenious and funny. -- George Melly

About the Author

Andrew Lanyon is a painter, publisher, author, and film-maker. His work has been acquired by public and private collections including the V&A in London and MOMA in New York.

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 28 Dec. 2010
Format: Paperback
I was a bit disappointed with this book, having been bought it as a Christmas present I settled down to read it thinking it was a story. It isn't, it's a collection of images which the author has shoe-horned in to fit his fairy related interpretations. Some of these are amusing, but after a few pages I began to wish the original footnotes to the illustrations and photos were available, as some were quite interesting images. The concept is interesting, and I did stick with it, but it's not a keeper.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Jaybird on 22 Mar. 2007
Format: Paperback
A Fairy Find is an absolutely beautiful book by Cornish artist Andrew Lanyon. His bizarre, witty collages are amusing and wry, but always brilliantly constructed.

A book for grown-up children and children alike, when you want something to make you smile.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By qpgold on 14 Jan. 2012
Format: Paperback
I accidentally found this book in a bookshop and bought one some years ago. It's a gem filled with funny and true insights and ideas. I treasure this book and recommend for the people who are also interested in world mystery & extraterrestrial intelligence as well as art and poetry in general.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
This book is lovely. You can read in it a few hours, and its a funny, entertaining look at how you can interpret old pictures and drawings in completely different ways if you don't know the source. Very lighthearted and a very pretty hardback book full of pictures.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback