FREE Delivery in the UK.
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
64 Clarke has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by reusabook
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Product dispatched in UK within 48 hours. Thanks.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

64 Clarke Paperback – 25 Apr 2005


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£10.99
£10.99 £0.01
£10.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.


Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Sceptre (25 April 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0340832983
  • ISBN-13: 978-0340832981
  • Product Dimensions: 15.4 x 23.2 x 2.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,464,737 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Evoking the grubby desperation of trying to live on your wits in London in a way not done since Martin Amis' astonishing London Fields, 64 CLARKE manages to be unsettling and wry at the same time . . . One of the best urban novels in the last few years. Holmes has really announced himself as someone to watch. (Irish Independent)

Beautifully capturing the mean streets of our capital and filled with some vicious black humour, this is an unusual thriller with some great twists. (Nottingham Evening Post)

'Full of dry humour and precise observation . . . the end offers an unexpected and highly disturbing twist. Bleak, funny [and] moving' (Natasha Cooper, The Times Literary Supplement)

Holmes makes wonderfully precise and witty observations (Time Out)

Holmes has a gift for dissecting the lives of small crooks with big dreams and bigger problems. (Scotland on Sunday)

Holmes builds an effortlessly exciting story, with characters who will take up long-term lodgings in the reader's imagination. (Morning Star)

Holmes has a cheeky, sarcastic and distinctive prose style . . . There are times, reading 64 CLARKE, when you think "if Martin Amis was less concerned with style and more interested in fashioning a story - like he was circa London Fields - he would write like this" . . . 64 CLARKE is a corker. (Bookmunch)

Holmes draws vivid characters (Herald)

Spot-on dialogue . . . a satisfying, intensely readable story that will have readers biting their fingernails. (Yvonne Crittenden, Toronto Sun)

Book Description

A gripping, sharply funny tale of guilt and atonement for fans of Toby Litt, Martin Amis and Douglas Coupland.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Kansas Spring on 22 May 2005
Format: Paperback
Ben Snape is a six-year-old boy who has gone missing, his last known movements captured on CCTV. Dash is a dodgy speaker salesman who isn't selling many speakers any more. Max is out of prison for charges of paedophilia which were later dropped. Chick makes his money by making everyone else's life a misery. DI Merle is on holiday and wishing he were anywhere else but.
What connects these seemingly disparate characters? Nothing, it seems.
But as this expertly plotted novel progresses, their wrong-turns, petty crimes and bad ideas draw them closer and closer in a story which keeps the reader guessing right until the end.
The writing itself is sharp, moving deftly between hilarious and heartbreaking, while Holmes shows a keen eye for detail throughout - at times you'll feel like you 're in the van with Dash and his crackhead partner, Lightweight, or reliving Max's prison nightmares.
An engrossing and rewarding read, if nothing else 64 Clarke will make you think twice the next time a van pulls over to ask you for directions...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By P McGoohan on 6 Mar. 2007
Format: Paperback
Well, where do I begin? I mean, this novel has it all. Brilliant characters, superb dialogue, gut-wrenching twists. I would describe it as a thriller that has some comedic moments, but rest assured this is one story that will stay in your memory for a long, long time to come. Andrew Holmes writes (I must admit I don't really know anything about this fella, but I reckon he's ONE TO WATCH) like a cross between Martin Amis and one of the New Urban Breed, but there are several very original ideas in here that I wouldn't have expected Amis to think of. Mainly to do with van drivers and drug addicts. I started reading this book on a Wednesday afternoon and I stayed up all night to finish it, it was that rivetting. The next day, I felt like I was in a film of this book. Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By phil on 19 April 2011
Format: Paperback
This book is brilliant. Excellent characters and superbly written. You feel like you know someone in real life just like each character. It is totally real and believeable. His style of writing is excellent too, entertaining, tragic, witty all at the same time.
I went on to read another of his books (criminal records) which was also excellent.
Brilliant story, well written.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback