Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2007
This book is truly the bible if you are studying Spanish. Not just verbs, great exercises and tips at the back. An absolute must for students of Spanish!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
I am currently studying for my A-levels and have always struggled to get to grips with grammar. This book is a really comprehensive guide for intermediate/advanced learners, but I wouldn't recommend it for beginners as the detailed explanations of tenses can be daunting and a little hard to keep up with. It is also only includes 501 verbs out of thousands so make sure to invest in a good bilingual dictionary. However it is really useful to have and im sure it will serve me well next year in university. There are some really nice touches, such as common phrases as footnotes at the end of many of the pages. excellent value for money and the CD is a welcome break from staring at the pages for too longg.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
In all its various incantations, 501 Spanish Verbs has represented a shining light for anyone looking to learn the Spanish language. The book is intuitive, easy to reference and easy to chuck in a bag.

However, as of quite recently in fact, Kendris and Kendris have put out a sixth edition of the book with some key additions, so this review refers explicitly to that edition. In short: 501 Spanish Verbs is now a much more comprehensive guide to spanish verbs, and whilst retaining the same page-by-page approach to the verbs, there's lots more packed into the book to take your learning experience further.

What I found in this edition was an added emphasis on all-round spanish and expanding the parameters of study beyond the repetitive learning of verb forms. Related words are given at the foot of each page, and a verb drill section with something close to fifty pages is included near the front of the book. With the latter, presentation is a slight issue as everything is all a little bunched up, but there's no denying the usefulness of the content. The presence of the exercises gives you flexibility of study and a chance to see how your learning of the verbs is coming along.

However, the big highlight for me was the English spanish verb index at the back of the book. This includes a further 2,100 verbs that you can easily conjugate yourself by straightforward cross-referencing. Pointing you in the right direction, the index provides you with the reference to a verb in the earlier part of the book. This really helps you to pick up patterns in spanish verbs and gets you involved in the process of conjugating an infinitive yourself.

The main part of the book, the 501 verbs, is also slightly different. Certain verbs are given extra page of attention and denoted as an 'Essential 55 Verb'. This includes super common verbs like 'Hacer', 'Salir', Estar', etc, as well as the common reflexives. Alongside the basic conjugation, extra detail is given on the usages of the verb, particularly on the everyday, colloquial expressions. Again, the authors are trying to feed things back to all-round spanish learning and how you are going to apply your knowledge to speaking in an everyday environment.

The other main addition to the sixth edition is the CD Rom - slightly disappointing. This has some fun exercises, but the actual depth of the challenges is fairly superficial. It could be a lot more expansive and generate more challenges but instead it's actually quite static: once you've done the exercises, that's it. There's no randomizing element. Surprisingly the presentation is quite slick and its definitely something that could be rolled out further in the future.

So all in all, the sixth edition has essential differences that make it a major improvement. The key thing for me is the verb index at the back of the book, but the exercises and grammar emphasis have made this book even more comprehensive.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`501 Spanish Verbs' was recommended to me by my uncle and it is a comprehensive and thorough book teaching the various aspects of Spanish verbs. The tables are clear to read from and it gives plenty of information about verb use. The CD-ROM is a welcome addition and provides another format and media to work from that may assist in your studies. It is worth noting that the depth of information provided and the pages of tables can be a little intimidating to beginners and although this is immensely useful, I'd suggest you come to it after some rudimentary study so you know what you're looking at and how to get the best from the information on offer. I know this is one of those books I will be referring back to for years to come and that alone makes for an excellent study book. Well worth considering in your Spanish studies.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2008
Can't recommend this enough, if you can learn the verbs you can master the language. Easy to find verbs in all the tenses, handy little tips and explanations. Wish I'd had this when I did my GCSE, would have made studying easier. It comes with a CD that has drills and tests. If you are learning the language, this is a good start.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2008
I'm studying Spanish and trying to get to grips with the tenses. This book is simple, well organised and has an extensive content. With all the knowledge crammed in, it's quite a thick, heavy book and can be quite a pain to hulk around. But in my view if you want a comprehensive book, it won't ever be light weight. Fabulous buy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2010
I bought this book, together with Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Spanish Grammar to augment a beginners night school course. As a beginner all I needed was in the Complete Spanish Grammar, however 501 Spanish Verbs is an excellent reference book and I prefer to use it to get the correct form of the verb. Every verb in the book is laid out logically with all tenses conjugated. For 'Essential' verbs, examples of their use is also given. At the beginning of the book is a short grammar section describing the uses of each tense.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2010
I finally decided to take Spanish lessons, there are so many verbs and their tenses you have to learn in the Spanish language that this book is invaluable. It was recommended to me by another lady in the class and I'm glad she did, it has become a very useful tool in helping me to learn Spanish.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
A very comprehensive book of, er, Spanish verbs with a useful CD-ROM. One issue with the CD-ROM is that it gives all tenses 'at once'. It would be better to have a facility to filter only the tense (or tenses) being learned.
For the book alone it is worth four and a half stars!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
All the work on verbs connected with a level 2 Spanish evening class was beginning to make my head spin! A fellow student recommended this book and after receiving it and using it to help me complete a homework task using past tense verbs I feel more in command of what I am doing. It is far easier to use than the set text for the course and I have found the exercises at the beginning of the book and the expressions section at the bottom of each verb page very useful.501 Spanish Verbs (501 Verbs) (6th Edition)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)