Shop now Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now
2 used & new from £12.00

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • 45 [7" VINYL]
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

45 [7" VINYL] Single, Limited Edition

1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
1 new from £14.99 1 collectible from £12.00

Amazon's Elvis Costello Store


Image of album by Elvis Costello


Image of Elvis Costello


“My friend and brother, T Bone Burnett, produced Secret, Profane and Sugarcane. He and I also wrote two of the songs together.

“Sulphur To Sugarcane” takes its title from two Louisiana towns and is written in the voice of a charming but disreputable political campaigner. He is the kind of reprehensible fellow who glad-hands the women and gooses all the men.

While ... Read more in Amazon's Elvis Costello Store

Visit Amazon's Elvis Costello Store
for 205 albums, 9 photos, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Product details

  • Vinyl (16 Sept. 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Single, Limited Edition
  • Label: Mercury
  • ASIN: B00006L41Y
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,716,957 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By A Customer on 6 Sept. 2002
Format: Audio CD
Elvis finally releases on CD and 45 vinyl single format, the semi autobiographical song '45' that he wrote to celebrate his 45th birthday. This really should have been the lead off single from 'When I Was Cruel', rather than 'Doll Revolution'; it was familiar after being extensively performed during the 1999 Costello & Neive Lonely World Tour. It was also performed live on TV and radio during that year. The 90's retro theme is continued on the b-side with "The Mood Swing" which was featured in the Coen Brothers film "The Big Lebowski". It unlikely that this single will make a big impact on the "Top Forty" or convert many Darius or Atomic Kitten fans to Elvis, but it may get some airplay on Radio 2 and re-kindle interest in the album.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category