Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars16
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Monster Magnet's 2007 4-Way Diablo album has something of a bad reputation among a large section of the band's fans. Its often a toss up as to whether this, or the album which preceded it, is considered the band's worst ever album.

At the same time however, it was considered by a few fans and critics as more of a return to their early sound. That's not exactly 100% accurate in my opinion, there are certainly a few songs on here like `Cyclone' and their cover of The Rolling Stone's `2000 Lightyears From Home' that have a psychedelic touch to them, but the majority of the album is smooth, perfectly formed hard rock music just as it was on the equally disliked Monolithic Baby album.

At the end of the day, music is all about personal opinion, but I feel that maybe some people may dislike this album more out of its musical direction than the actual quality of the music on the disc. If you are the sort of fan who thinks that the band sold out after Spine Of God, or think the band have been going downhill generally, then this probably isn't going to blow your mind.

In my personal opinion however, I think this is a marvelous record. I like all the different eras of Monster Magnet, and don't think they've ever made a dull record. I've listened to this album dozens and dozens of times, and it has added a few songs to my list of all time Monster Magnet favourites.

The absolutely catchy and exciting `Wall Of Fire,' the dour and moody `Little Bag Of Gloom' and the aforementioned `Cyclone' are all fantastic songs, that display Dave Wyndorf's brilliant voice, lyrics and general personality. Even if you skip the record, you should probably check those songs out on their own.

As a whole album though, there's not much in the way of filler or out-of-place material. Everything is finely crafted, catchy rock with a memorable chorus and a clear production. I suppose for the nay-sayers that's very much the problem; some people only want Monster Magnet to be one thing, and this album sees them doing another one. For me, they do this other direction so well that I can listen to this, then listen to the classic material, and simply enjoy them both.

Overall; I really like 4-Way Diablo and listen to it fairly often, it works as a whole and has a few absolute stand out tracks too. It even features some of Dave's best melodic clean vocals to date. Don't be too put off by the negative reputation that the album has unless you are normally the kind of person to only like a band's earliest work. If you've got a fairly open mind regarding band's changing styles, and want some fun, well produced, personality filled, slightly commercialized Stoner Rock then this is a nice addition to your collection.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2007
What can be said, there is only one word for this GOLD. Having been a fan since Dopes to Infinity this is another great album. So we had to wait a year, who cares when its an album this good. For me 'Cyclone' is the stand out track from a album that shows there is alot of life left in this band. A must have for any fan of this style of music. Long live the stoner kings.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
This is Monster Magnet, so you can expect that each song has been carefully crafted, well played and well thought through before recording began. And indeed: each song has it's own power and rhythm. But the production of this album ruins it all. Some songs even sounds as if the guitars are played a few leagues under water (okay, I am exaggerating a bit). But honestly, the drums and the guitars miss a certain `crispyness', a quality that allows them to really burst from your speakers. What you have left is an album with potentially great songs, but that just don't deliver 100%. Also, but this is not a real flaw, the songs lack a certain cohesiveness, which I will explain below.

The opener 4-Way Diablo is a hauntingly easy, but also nasty, dirty Rock & Roll anthem this will do wonders in live shows.
Wall of Fire could have been taken form Monolithic Baby!, energetic powerful, again an instant classic.
You're Alive is a song that may need a few listens to get into, and seems like an odd break from the previous two songs on the album.
Blow your Mind is a space rock / stoner song in the traditional sense of the word. Great vocals, great drive.
Cyclone is a slow building song that keeps building tension, with great lyrics.
2000 Light years form Home, is a Rolling Stones cover, but done in a superb way.
No Vacation is in league with Wall of Fire, and has a strong rhythm .
Calling You again seems like an odd break on the album, especially set beside Solid Gold, which seems like a traditional Rock & Roll song.
Freeze and Pixelate is the instrumental piece of the album.
A Thousand Stars, virtually, can be named as the album's ballad (without the true romance of course, it is Monster Magnet after all)
Slap in the Face can shake hands with You're Alive.
And, concluding, Little Bag of Gloom, is a slow stoner rock song.

All in all, the songs may be great, but the general production of the album just saps away intensity and `mellows' the sound.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2007
MONSTER MAGNET are back after a three year hiatus from song writing with their latest album '4-Way Diablo'. Their last release 'Monolithic Baby!' was below par and crossed the thin line between psychedelic groove and something to put you to sleep. On another note, kudos to whoever thought up the cover art, as it's an original and inspired design.

Ten years have passed since the run away success of 'Space Lord' from the 'Powertrip' album and you could not be blamed from thinking this is a band on the way out. Thankfully there are still signs of life and '4-Way Diablo' is the proof of it. The album kicks off with the title track '4-Way Diablo' which draws you straight in with a catchy guitar riff courtesy of Ed Mundell, an upbeat chorus and a sweet little guitar solo towards the end. The next track 'Wall Of Fire' keeps the momentum going well as does 'You're Alive', although you do have to get past wondering what the hell Dave Wyndorf (guitars/vocals) is on about (I guess what's stoner rock for you) and an irritating chorus that grates after awhile. Yet this track is still annoyingly likable.

Before you are left thinking where has the stoner rock gone? We get a taste of some old school MONSTER MAGNET with tracks like 'Blow Your Mind' and 'Cyclone' which have a spaced out feel to them. The band has made the cover of the ROLLING STONES song '2000 Light Years From Home' their own giving the track a moody edge whilst the reverb Wyndorf uses gives the track a very mellow feel. Is this a return to the 'Dopes To Infinity' days? Well, maybe not quite but not a bad stab at it.

Unfortunately from here on the album does start to waiver with only a small reprieve in the form of the ninth track 'Solid Gold'. 'Freeze and Pixelate' is note worthy, an unexpected instrumental which upon first listen the superb build-up makes you believe it's the intro to a song that never materialises. To a stoner this track would be the musical equivalent of a lava lamp, ultimately though this track is little more than filler. Finally, the album tails off completely ending with the unremarkable 'Little Bag Of Gloom'.

'4-Way Diablo' doesn't contain an overtly commercial single which should get a small nod of approval from old fans. The album starts well and for the most part delivers with only a few weaker tracks, overall MONSTER MAGNET have created a solid album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
In my humble opinion, this latest effort from Dave Wyndorf and crew is every bit as potent as their 'Monolithic Baby' and 'Powertrip' titles. Just shows how much we can depend on Monster Magnet to pen out such killer 'heavy space' rock. Tunes here that had me giving this CD many spins were the in-your-face "Wall Of Fire", "You're Alive", "Cyclops", they good Stones cover "2000 Light Years From Home", the (almost) ballad {?} "I'm Calling You" and the total *ss-kicking "A Thousand Years". Line-up: Dave Wyndorf-guitar & vocals, Ed Mundell-guitar, Jim Baglino-bass and Bob Pantella-drums. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2007
Originally due for release over a year ago until Dave Wyndorf swallowed a bottle of elephant tranquilizers during a plane trip!!

Fortunately he recovered in hospital and at last here is the fruit of his labours another gold plated high octane stoner rock n roll release from the band that invented the genre 'stoner rock'.

Standout numbers include the title track, a garage punk rock sixties influenced song, followed by the foot stomping Wall of Fire leading into the best song on the album You're Alive which has Hit Single written all over it. Things slow down a tad with Blow Your Mind, the very trippy Cyclone & even trippier cover of the Rolling Stones song 2000 Light Years From Home, perfect for headphones and chilling out to.

The remainder of the album includes the obligotory stripped down number or two that you'll always find on a Monster Magnet release ever since the Superjudge album but intersperced with the upbeat rockers Solid Gold and Slap In The Face.

Some say it's the best release since Powertrip, while others say it's the best release since the last album!!!

One things for sure if your a Magnet fan this is a must buy!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
I heard this album only recently, I've been a big fan of the early albums and also greatly enjoyed the latest Last Patrol album. I was surprised to see some negative reviews. There are a lot of good songs on this album, actually most of them are damn good. Maybe it does not feel as cohesive as an album because there are different styles of songs and the production is not the best. But I think a real Monster Magnet fan will enjoy this album. You've got your classic stoner/space rock songs, hard rock songs, and trippy ballads that Monster Magnet does really well. So buy the CD, especially if you can get it for cheap as I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
I REALLY love this album. It opens with the great one-two combination of the title track and Wall of Fire and keeps up the momentum through songs like Blow Your Mind, Cyclone, Solid Gold and A Thousand Stars making this easily the best album the Magnet have made since Dopes to Infinity and the best rock 'n' roll album of this millenium. With Dave and co's recent live shows focusing on the more psychedlic songs it should be interesting to see where they take us on their next trip and I will definitely be along for the ride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I love Monster Magnet and have all of their albums but this is definitely a low point for the band. It's not awful but just very average, there are no classics in the style of Space Lord, Monolithic Baby, Powertrippin', Teenage blah blah etc. Worth getting to keep my collection in tact but probably their worst release.
Delivery and sales side was faultless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I got in to Monster Magnet a few years back, started off by listening to the greatest hits CD and have been buying the studio albums over time. If you already like Monster Magnet you'll like this. If you've never listened to Monster Magnet you'll like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£12.24

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)